Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st July 2013, 16:42   #76
BHPian
 
Zahir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 371
Thanked: 27 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Should - it is just a matter of good tuning.
Great! Do you have any brand recommendations for the LOC & Splitters?
Zahir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2013, 10:23   #77
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,503
Thanked: 3,881 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zahir View Post
Great! Do you have any brand recommendations for the LOC & Splitters?
Scoche makes decent ones.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2013, 22:36   #78
BHPian
 
Zahir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 371
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Great! Thanks

Quick question, is there no way to upgrade the ice without the converter? I mean what's the next best thing?

Not too comfortable opening the dash up on a new car
Zahir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2013, 21:45   #79
BHPian
 
HimuraKenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mumbai/London
Posts: 246
Thanked: 183 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Hi guys!
My friend has acquired an i20. We are planning to ICE it over the weekend.
needed some advice regarding the equipment.

We plan on keeping the OEM H/u as he likes the looks of it.
Hence we need a Line level converter.
What are the best brands that i should at be looking at and what would be the appropriate prices?

Front speakers: Power bass L series? I have heard that they are good.
Friend mainly listens to techno, house, trance etc. jactech, Above & beyond the likes...

rear fill would be stock

Sub stage would be a powerbass thin series sub. (as we he plans to go in for CNG at a later point)

Amp would be either a powerbass 400.4 or JBL equivalent.

Wiring would be 18mm Finolex.
RCA: Connection Audison

I would mainly like to know what components would be good for his taste in music.(read: fast and punchy mid-range) And also what Line level converter to use.

HimuraKenshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2013, 13:46   #80
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,503
Thanked: 3,881 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zahir View Post
Quick question, is there no way to upgrade the ice without the converter? I mean what's the next best thing?
Not really. Somewhere down the line you need to convert speaker level signals to something an amplifier can use.

The other alternate is to just upgrade the speakers and damp the doors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HimuraKenshin View Post
We plan on keeping the OEM H/u as he likes the looks of it.
Hence we need a Line level converter.
What are the best brands that i should at be looking at and what would be the appropriate prices?
Scosche makes a decent one. What I have seen locally is something that resembles this (but a different colour).
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_142SLC4/Scosche-SLC4.html

Never heard Powerbass but then again my taste in music does not cover Techno, House etc. Just listen before you buy. I understand this is often difficult but the best option is listen to other cars.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2013, 17:12   #81
BHPian
 
Zahir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 371
Thanked: 27 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Ok so new issue...

My ICE guy tells me that I'm out of luck because of the nature of my setup ie.
1 x 2channel amp
1 x 4 channel amp
1 set of front comps
1 set of back co-axs
1 sub

He says that using the MTX Re-q5 would mean I would need to have an external switch to manually switch on the amps each time.

He says I can't use the 4 channel scosche converter because I need more RCAs

What solution do you give use for a converter that needs to support a system similar to mine.

Thanks
Zahir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2013, 22:19   #82
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zahir View Post
... What solution do you give use for a converter that needs to support a system similar to mine.
Just use RCA Y-cables on the LOC output (front channels will do) to feed the sub amp and the front channels of the 4ch amp. Or even off the rear channel output, in which case fading front will act as Sub volume control!
DerAlte is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2013, 09:11   #83
BHPian
 
HimuraKenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mumbai/London
Posts: 246
Thanked: 183 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zahir View Post
Ok so new issue...

My ICE guy tells me that I'm out of luck because of the nature of my setup ie.
1 x 2channel amp
1 x 4 channel amp
1 set of front comps
1 set of back co-axs
1 sub

He says that using the MTX Re-q5 would mean I would need to have an external switch to manually switch on the amps each time.

He says I can't use the 4 channel scosche converter because I need more RCAs

What solution do you give use for a converter that needs to support a system similar to mine.

Thanks
I see nothing wrong with your set up.
you can split the Rear RCAs to power the 2 channel amp for your sub.

This is how the wiring can go:
HEAD UNIT--> 4 channel Line level converter --> here you will get 4 RCAs. --> Add a Y cable to split the rear RCAs into 2 more RCAs.
Now you will have a total of 6 RCA leads.
2 RCAs for the front 2 channels (going into channels 1 &2 of the 4 channel amp)
2 more RCAs for the rear 2 channels (going into channels 3&4 of the 4 channel amp)

The last 2 RCAs would go into your 2 channel amp which i presume you are using for your sub along with a low pass filter.

Do feel free to ask any question!
HimuraKenshin is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2013, 19:06   #84
BHPian
 
Zahir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 371
Thanked: 27 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Just use RCA Y-cables on the LOC output (front channels will do) to feed the sub amp and the front channels of the 4ch amp. Or even off the rear channel output, in which case fading front will act as Sub volume control!
Quote:
Originally Posted by HimuraKenshin View Post
I see nothing wrong with your set up.
you can split the Rear RCAs to power the 2 channel amp for your sub.

This is how the wiring can go:
HEAD UNIT--> 4 channel Line level converter --> here you will get 4 RCAs. --> Add a Y cable to split the rear RCAs into 2 more RCAs.
Now you will have a total of 6 RCA leads.
2 RCAs for the front 2 channels (going into channels 1 &2 of the 4 channel amp)
2 more RCAs for the rear 2 channels (going into channels 3&4 of the 4 channel amp)

The last 2 RCAs would go into your 2 channel amp which i presume you are using for your sub along with a low pass filter.

Do feel free to ask any question!
Thanks for the inputs. I'm not sure why my ICE guy is so doubtful about things. He's normally one of the best in Mumbai and really confident about his stuff.

Will take this to him. I'm leaning towards Scosche rather than RE-Q5 right now because I don't want to have to manually switch on my Amps each time I want to hear music.

Thanks
Zahir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2013, 23:48   #85
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zahir View Post
... I don't want to have to manually switch on my Amps each time I want to hear music ...
That is just a simple matter of connecting the Remote Antenna Turn On output of the HU (should be there in the pinout on the sticker on the HU top surface) to the amp's Remote In input. Amp will go on whenever HU goes on.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2013, 12:08   #86
BHPian
 
Zahir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 371
Thanked: 27 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Thanks guys

Another suggestion made was to drop the converter all together and buy a 4 channel amp that accepts speaker level inputs. I have been told that these come in both class AB and D. Would installing such an amp do away with the need for a converter all together?
Zahir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2013, 19:07   #87
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hibbing, MN
Posts: 73
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zahir View Post
Thanks guys

Another suggestion made was to drop the converter all together and buy a 4 channel amp that accepts speaker level inputs. I have been told that these come in both class AB and D. Would installing such an amp do away with the need for a converter all together?
Yup, you can just hook the AMP directly, a lil cleaner then the converter itself
Diamond_dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2013, 20:49   #88
BHPian
 
Zahir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 371
Thanked: 27 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamond_dawg View Post
Yup, you can just hook the AMP directly, a lil cleaner then the converter itself
Would this give the same output as hooking up a converter would?

ie

Does HU > Converter > Amp vs HU > Amp with speaker level input give you the same output? I was told a direct hookup to the amp from the HU would mean screaming audio(in a bad way) because of the high level input.
Zahir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2013, 20:52   #89
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hibbing, MN
Posts: 73
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Re: Upgrading ICE on i20 - lot of doubts !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zahir View Post
Would this give the same output as hooking up a converter would?

ie

Does HU > Converter > Amp vs HU > Amp with speaker level input give you the same output? I was told a direct hookup to the amp from the HU would mean screaming audio(in a bad way) because of the high level input.
I ran a afterhead HU with High level input and didnt find any problem, other then the stupid whine, but i dont think it should make much difference, i think sound quality would be better( Other members can Chime in)
Diamond_dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2013, 21:58   #90
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,503
Thanked: 3,881 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zahir View Post
Does HU > Converter > Amp vs HU > Amp with speaker level input give you the same output? I was told a direct hookup to the amp from the HU would mean screaming audio(in a bad way) because of the high level input.
RCA cable has a shield. Speaker cable does not. A good Line Output Converter is the better option.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICE -- Some Colourful Doubts! GoldenParadox In-Car Entertainment 8 20th April 2010 18:44
HMIL i20 Diesel Plan,Compact Car and lot more wildon The Indian Car Scene 16 29th May 2009 20:29
About to ICE (DVD) i10 - Some Doubts! mhafeez_13666 In-Car Entertainment 20 18th May 2008 10:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:41.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks