Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th November 2009, 14:11   #16
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 185
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

wow dude - you dont have to cut your wires, you can simply do this here

Name:  PioneerFix.jpg
Views: 239
Size:  36.9 KB

to the opening poster after you check the ground then the only bits of troubleshooting advice i can offer you is to try out a friends headunit in place of yours and see if the noise remains. If it does then you need to replace your headunit and then try another different amp.

another thing that could be causing this problem is also faulty RCA cables, i once had some really hectic alternator whine as well as hissing and it was caused by the really expensive audioquest RCA cable that i was using. Those use a single thick strand of wire for ground instead of multiple thinner strands and this had snapped. I replaced those with some equally as expensive streetwires cables and not only did all the noises stop the sound quality became even better as well

to check the cable you can use any cable thats long enough without tracing it down under the carpet of the vehicle, you can just throw it over the seats to the back of the car just to test and rerun it if it is the cable thats faulty

this is the order in which id continue the troubleshooting

1) double check the ground wires ie are they as thick as the power wires and is the point that they are attached to the chassis "proper" ground, make sure that area where its attached is sanded and more or less bare (the reason for thick ground wire as thick as the power wire is that all that wiring forms one circuit)
2) if that fails then try another set of known good RCA cables
3) if that fails try another headunit
4) if that fails then try another amp

only problem is that items 3 and 4 require that you have spare equipment

Last edited by naughty001 : 14th November 2009 at 14:15.
naughty001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 17:59   #17
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 393
Thanked: 169 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

makanaka,

Finally the sound in my car was traced, and the root cause of the issue is, earthing problem where your Amp's are made to Sit,

if they are in the back seat, ensure that you fix the PLYWOOD under all the Amp's and the sound will be lost. since it was traced the same way.
SPEEDY_RACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 22:48   #18
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naughty001 View Post
wow dude - you dont have to cut your wires, you can simply do this here
Attachment 227387
Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
You got a Pio HU. Try grounding the 4 RCA out from the Pio HU. There is a pic of that on this forum somewhere. One of the google masters will be able to help you with that.
Exactly what I meant in my post above but a picture speaks a 1000 words!
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 22:52   #19
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dehra Dun
Posts: 153
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

hey friends,
first let me thank you all for ur inputs, i really appreciate it, now coming back to the problem in hand:-
1. i have tried the grounding of rca's all 4 of them, that didnt worked!
2. i have used another pair of rca's in place of 4 channel and the problem is still there, so i know that my rca's arnt the culprit!
3. My negative wires are all 8 gauge and so is my mains, i.e. +ive and -tive connections of my battery to my amp, my lights do not dim even at very high volumes and while the base notes are tearing my car apart so i guess the gauge of wires is sufficient, moreover the jbl corp recommend 8 gauge supply and in this case the amps are entry level so i dont think that can be the problem.
4. Deralte, can u tell me how to ground an amp????
makanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 09:48   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by makanaka View Post
4. Deralte, can u tell me how to ground an amp????
grounding an amp means connecting -ve terminal of the amp to the chasis of the car.. what probably deralte meant wa to reground it.. i.e. change the position of the ground wire from original point of the chasis to another.
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 10:52   #21
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

Turn the gains down amigo. To roughly about 20 to 25%. Your problem will be solved/greatly reduced.

Most people think of the gain control like a volume control. It is not. It depends on the output voltage of your head unit.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 12:17   #22
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 393
Thanked: 169 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by makanaka View Post
hey friends,
first let me thank you all for ur inputs, i really appreciate it, now coming back to the problem in hand:-
1. i have tried the grounding of rca's all 4 of them, that didnt worked!
2. i have used another pair of rca's in place of 4 channel and the problem is still there, so i know that my rca's arnt the culprit!
3. My negative wires are all 8 gauge and so is my mains, i.e. +ive and -tive connections of my battery to my amp, my lights do not dim even at very high volumes and while the base notes are tearing my car apart so i guess the gauge of wires is sufficient, moreover the jbl corp recommend 8 gauge supply and in this case the amps are entry level so i dont think that can be the problem.
4. Deralte, can u tell me how to ground an amp????

HI makanaka,

try placing a PLYWOOD under all the AMP's this will solve the problem, since in Car the sound was rectified the same way, its more to do with earthing problem. fix the amp on a PLYWOOD and then fix the plywood to the seat.
this will solve the problem.
SPEEDY_RACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 14:33   #23
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPEEDY_RACER View Post
fix the amp on a PLYWOOD and then fix the plywood to the seat.
this will solve the problem.
Sorry, I do not agree with what you say.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 14:49   #24
BHPian
 
Dhams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oil city-Jamnagar
Posts: 94
Thanked: Once
Default

Hi makanaka,
check spk wire connection, balance setting in hu & gain with close look at spkr diapharm.
If nothing work, disconnect amp. & run spkr directly by hu.
Dhams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 22:24   #25
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dehra Dun
Posts: 153
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

hi friends,
il post the pics of my install tomorrow, i guess that will give u guys a better idea about the fitment and install of my hardware, my amplifier is installed on a piece of waterproof plyboard and that plyboard is attached to the rear seat and currently my gains are around 22- 25 percent, moreover iv decided to check the hu first with another hu and then the amp as the people in here have suggested

Last edited by makanaka : 15th November 2009 at 22:25.
makanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 22:28   #26
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by makanaka View Post
1. i have tried the grounding of rca's all 4 of them, that didnt worked!
2. i have used another pair of rca's in place of 4 channel and the problem is still there, so i know that my rca's arnt the culprit!
3. My negative wires are all 8 gauge and so is my mains
4. Deralte, can u tell me how to ground an amp????
Quote:
Originally Posted by makanaka View Post
hi friends,
il post the pics of my install tomorrow
Do you have spare HU that you can use? Switch the HU and see if the shhhh sound is not being generated within the HU.
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2009, 17:12   #27
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dehra Dun
Posts: 153
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

hi friends,
i hope these pics can give u a better idea, ya and one more thing right now all the wires are lying scattered around but they were not earlier when this problem was first detected, they were tucked away neately from each other earlier.
Attached Thumbnails
What is this Shhhhhh... sound ?-dsc00186.jpg  

What is this Shhhhhh... sound ?-dsc00187.jpg  

What is this Shhhhhh... sound ?-dsc00188.jpg  

makanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2009, 18:41   #28
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 393
Thanked: 169 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

HI makanaka,

as updated earlier, if you can try placing a PLYWOOD under the AMP's this will solve the problem,


since in my Car the sound was rectified the same way, its more to do with earthing problem. fix the amp on a PLYWOOD and then fix the plywood to the seat.

this will solve the problem.

just try this one.

one more question?

if you can tell me whether this sound arises when you start the engine?

where is the earthing given in your car.

in my car, the problem was solved, by fitting the PLYWOOD.

they also installed the thicker(3mm) i knew RC cables.
SPEEDY_RACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2009, 21:21   #29
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dehra Dun
Posts: 153
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

hey speedy racer, dude both of my amps are placed upon a waterproof peice of plyboard, i mentioned that earlier, i guess u didnt saw it , no this sound does not arise when i start the engine, it starts when i turn on the music system and its proportional to the sound level i.e. volume, please read my original post carefully as it seems u havent read it and the gauge used for wire both the mains and grounds are 8 gauge so they are adequate
makanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2009, 15:27   #30
BHPian
 
Dhams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oil city-Jamnagar
Posts: 94
Thanked: Once
Default

Disengage spekers from amp for a while & then connect directly to hu and check.
Dhams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audi's Sound Concept cabin defines auditory excess: 62 speaker surround-sound ! dar3dev|l In-Car Entertainment 10 22nd June 2010 15:23
Sound from Engine Bay of Swift VDI (DDIS) - what would be the cause of this sound? DieselFan Technical Stuff 4 25th January 2008 18:31
Cant afford a Turbo? Buy JUST the sound GTO Modifications & Accessories 15 7th January 2006 17:03
My Vtec's Sound system! GTO In-Car Entertainment 55 12th February 2005 22:36
wanna know how the ENZO, F50, F40, 280 sound _Crazi4Speed_ The International Automotive Scene 0 6th July 2004 12:56


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:47.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks