Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th November 2009, 19:49   #1
BHPian
 
vigneshram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: chennai
Posts: 347
Thanked: 15 Times
Default Dual DIN on Linea and Punto possible?

Guys
i always wanted a touchscreen DVD player on my Punto.But i thought of a single din with a motorised screen.but the main issue it would block both the ac vents.So next alternate,dual din..But FIAT people had no concern for this poor Punto enthusiast.So i call Technokrat.They say conversion can be done and would cost something around 4k.i was like wow..Then i got to know they already have done for one Linea and the customer was Mr.Paul Raymond.Got the contact info on Mr.Paul.Went and saw his car..I was shocked to see the quality of work.4k is just about good for the work.See the pics to understand more.BTW Mr.Paul also has a MOMO 16 incher wheel on a LINEA Dynamic.
Attached Thumbnails
Dual DIN on Linea and Punto possible?-img00529200911261941.jpg  

vigneshram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 14:22   #2
BHPian
 
S.I.N.G.H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: new delhi
Posts: 365
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

its a neat install. but wont the electrical warrenty get void with all these mods? please post some more pics!
S.I.N.G.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 14:33   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
nairrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Payyannur-Kannur district
Posts: 2,106
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

No doubt its a nice fitting.

Linea has got space for 2din, so the sytem fit properly.
But do punto has got space for 2din audio?
nairrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 15:03   #4
BHPian
 
vigneshram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: chennai
Posts: 347
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nairrk View Post
No doubt its a nice fitting.

Linea has got space for 2din, so the sytem fit properly.
But do punto has got space for 2din audio?
Punto and Linea have the same dash.
vigneshram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 16:57   #5
BHPian
 
wildchild4lyfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mumbai
Posts: 405
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

yes it is very much possible avec slight alterations though..

Last edited by wildchild4lyfe : 1st December 2009 at 17:08.
wildchild4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 17:04   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,598
Thanked: 401 Times
Default

Looks good. Has he changed the dash colors from the boring silver to some beige color?
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 19:54   #7
BHPian
 
vigneshram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: chennai
Posts: 347
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
Looks good. Has he changed the dash colors from the boring silver to some beige color?
No Linea comes with this colour of gold
vigneshram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 23:30   #8
BHPian
 
Ravi Nandrajog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 38
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Nice install , yes it can be done .
Ravi Nandrajog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 11:21   #9
BHPian
 
vigneshram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: chennai
Posts: 347
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

i am also attaching an exterior pic of the car which has the dual din setup.Its got MOMO 16 inch wheels.Take a look.also one interior pic showing the Dual din setup
Attached Thumbnails
Dual DIN on Linea and Punto possible?-img00545200912021020.jpg  

Dual DIN on Linea and Punto possible?-img00542200912020959.jpg  

vigneshram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 11:33   #10
BHPian
 
wildchild4lyfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mumbai
Posts: 405
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

really neat rims!.. those are the MOMO WRS right?
wildchild4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 12:17   #11
BHPian
 
Aquarian20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore, India.
Posts: 73
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Good alloys man. The install of the music system also looks very neat. If I understand correctly the 4K is for the installation work only? Am I correct?
Aquarian20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 16:52   #12
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: chandigarh,melbourne
Posts: 598
Thanked: 235 Times
Default

Congrats.Nice Head unit. Goes well with the dash. What tyre size are you running? 195 or 205?
bigron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 17:11   #13
BHPian
 
nandishpal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 475
Thanked: 56 Times
Default

hey that linea looks like an extended volkwagen beetle
dont mistake me.its awesome.
nandishpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2010, 21:09   #14
BHPian
 
theEnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 534
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Looks very neat and nice. Would have been even better if the plastic surround was the same gray/silver colour as the surround of the A/C vents and A/V controls.
theEnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2010, 21:02   #15
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 696
Thanked: 84 Times
Default

Can you post a picture of the unmodified dash for comparison?
Live To Jive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a single-din player into a double-din slot rattimehra In-Car Entertainment 21 29th April 2016 21:09
Tested the Dieseltronic Dual Channel Box on my Linea 1.3 MJD Mindgrinder Modifications & Accessories 14 5th March 2014 01:00
Linea meters in Punto; Is it Possible? .anshuman Technical Stuff 18 1st May 2010 12:26
Info about Using 1 din slot to use a 2 din HU shalini_g In-Car Entertainment 30 10th March 2006 21:47


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:17.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks