Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment

Old 6th December 2009, 20:35   #1

Default ICEing my i10 - Need the experts opinion

Hi,

I have a i10 Magna and am planning to ICE it. I have gone through the statutory warning about the 10 Risk factors of getting into this section (posted by SoundManiac) and yet I am here.

I am a newbie in this world and whatever knowledge I possess has been gathered from the experts over here at this forum.

Ok here are the requirements.

Car : - i10 Magna

Preferred Music : Mostly Hindi and tamil film songs, English (more of the backstreet boys, George Micheal type), a little carnatic and of course the Ghazals of Jagjit and Pankaj Udhas.

I am not an audiophile but listen to music almost all the hours I am awake. Love clear, crisp and good sound without any distortions. No Loud Bass required. Emphasis on Clarity at all volumes. I wont be listening to music at high volumes. No Blaring music for me.

I don't like to cut the doors or the rear plank. The speakers will have to go into the doors or the boot.

Budget : As of now 20K (I am ready to do it in instalments)

The ICE so far I have narrowed down are :

HU : Pioneer 5190 UB (5090 UB in Grey) -- Price around 8k w/o B/W

Front : JBL 608c -- around 5k

Amps : JBL GT5 A604 4 way-- around 6k

Rear : None for now

Sub : Not yet decided. 10" or 12" (some suggest 12" for low bass).How is JBL GT5-12" with encl ? -- around 6k

Since the car will be mostly self driven and most of the times it will be yours truly alone in the car, my plan is not to go for the rear speakers. Instead I have decided to bridge the 4 way amp (two for the front compos and the two for the sub).

I am aware that I have a tight budget of 20K but as I said I can do it in instalments like first fit the HU and front compos along with the amp now and then go for the sub later OR the HU and the front comps now and the rest of the stuff later.