Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th December 2009, 00:07   #16
BHPian
 
kumar7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 302
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Can I do this adjustment of gain or is it something needs to be done on Amp? Sorry it might be sounding silly question but dealer suggested me not to play with Amp as its very strong Amp and it can short the speakers!
kumar7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2009, 10:33   #17
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kumar7 View Post
Sorry it might be sounding silly question but dealer suggested me not to play with Amp as its very strong Amp and it can short the speakers!


An amp will not short a speaker - if a speaker is given too much power it will open circuit not short. I suggest get a more knowledgeable dealer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kumar7 View Post
Sometimes when there is a series of bass effect in a song then whole compartment of the car does bhroon..bhroon (sorry its sounding ) but just want you to understand In this series of bhroon sometimes I miss the music or is it the way it works? Other than this its amazing experience!
try this
1. damp door and trunk panels and anything else you see vibrating
2. use a sealed box sub - they usually create less boom
3. upgtrade power cable to amplifier.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2009, 19:56   #18
BHPian
 
kumar7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 302
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Am planning to meet dealer on weekend so by that time I can have couple of inputs from all of you.

On youtube I checked how the Amp & Sub tunning is done. For 1100W they suggesting that it should give 66V on DMM. If I ask dealer to follow this process then the problem is that stock HU does not have option to set frequency/EQ. Is that ok to do this?

Am still not getting answer about whether should I keep 1204 or go for GTO1214 Sub? If I go for GTO1214 then I need to do all calculation what length/breadth/depth of box etc.
kumar7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2009, 20:13   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
Gilead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 2,140
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kumar7 View Post
Am still not getting answer about whether should I keep 1204 or go for GTO1214 Sub? If I go for GTO1214 then I need to do all calculation what length/breadth/depth of box etc.
I think irrespective of how much damping you do, the 1204 will sound more boomy as it's not in a sealed box. The 1214 in a sealed box may sound tighter. A competent installer will know the box dimensions and it will be available in the manual as well. You don't have to calculate anything.
Gilead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2010, 14:53   #20
BHPian
 
kumar7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 302
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I checked with JBL dealer and he straight forwardly saying GTO 1214 is not in stock and will not get. Even though I am ready to wait but no +ve response coming for this series.

As suggested I am planning to go for enclosed Sub rather than keeping GT5 1204BR as the air slot in it creating lot of Bhroom...and am over budget so want to try enclosed enclosure before giving thought of damping.

In worst case what is substitute of GTO 1214?

Last edited by kumar7 : 1st January 2010 at 15:03.
kumar7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2010, 15:02   #21
BHPian
 
kumar7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 302
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sathee46 View Post
The 1004 is a very good amp, but afaik it does not have speaker level inputs. You might have to use something called a line out convertor. Have you installed it already?
Below two thing they fitted -

1) Fixed Line Output Converter - 2 channel - Fixed - 12 Watts per ch
2) 2ch adjustable Line Output Converter with Auto Remote Amp Turn-on
Attached Images
  
kumar7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2010, 23:13   #22
BHPian
 
kumar7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 302
Thanked: 0 Times
Thumbs up Gto 1214

Finally I got GTO 1214

Now looking for the best enclosure I can go for. I checked with dealer and found that he can arrange ready square enclosure (BaassFX manufacturer) of 1.45 cu. ft (sealed).

As I want SQ type setup so going for sealed enclosure. My dealer said if you want he can place order and arrange box of required size however for that he need exact dimensions.

Below is specs of GTO 1214 subwoofer:
Attached Images
 
kumar7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2010, 23:20   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Use dimensions specified in the user manual.
Stick to sealed.
I think 1.45 cu.ft. is too large.
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2010, 23:57   #24
BHPian
 
kumar7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 302
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Thanks nitrous!

In manual they just provided specs and in technical data they mention 1.00 ft3 should be the Volume. Now in lay man term if I have to give dimension then before hand I need to do calculation of adding/subtracting cone dimension/movement etc.

Below is the details they provided for sealed enclosure -
Attached Images
 
kumar7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2010, 00:16   #25
BHPian
 
sathee46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 465
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

This should help

Speaker Enclosure Volume Calculator
sathee46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2010, 00:26   #26
BHPian
 
kumar7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 302
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

This seems to be useful site. Thanks Sathee!

My dealer showed Overdrive magazine and showed me advertisement of "Venom" company who prepare these enclosure very professionally and he said he can arrange that for me however I need to provide all details. Some how I not able to locate anything about 'Venom' (I think this is correct) or 'Venon' on internet.
As the advt was given in Overdrive magazine so I assume they are known for doing this task perfectly.

Below two website I got but non of them are working -
baassfx.com
venom.co.in
kumar7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2010, 02:22   #27
BHPian
 
kumar7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 302
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I downloaded 'ajsealed' software and with that got below dimensions & values -

Vb - 47.77
Fb - 41.70Hz
F3 - 42.12Hz

Enclosure dimensions:
14.3"L x 23.1"H x 8.8"D
37.5"L x 23.1"H x 3.4"D (With height constraint)

Last edited by kumar7 : 8th January 2010 at 02:23.
kumar7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2010, 10:15   #28
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kumar7 View Post
Vb - 47.77
Fb - 41.70Hz
F3 - 42.12Hz

Enclosure dimensions:
14.3"L x 23.1"H x 8.8"D
37.5"L x 23.1"H x 3.4"D (With height constraint)
I'd go with the box that is 8.8" deep. 3.4" might not be enough to disappate the backwave.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2010, 10:18   #29
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kumar7 View Post
Thanks nitrous!
In manual they just provided specs and in technical data they mention 1.00 ft3 should be the Volume.
1 cu. ft is net volume you have to allow for the volume the woofer will occupy too.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2010, 21:28   #30
BHPian
 
kumar7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 302
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
I'd go with the box that is 8.8" deep. 3.4" might not be enough to disappate the backwave.
With 8.8" deep I am getting 1.68 cu ft (Link). However on above JBL spec it says 1F3! Should I stick to 'ajsealed' recommended value or need to try another software to get dimensions?

Does anyone knows from where I can get customized enclosure in Pune?

Last edited by kumar7 : 11th January 2010 at 21:29.
kumar7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding A Sub woofer on the Pioneer DEH-P5950 without amp? vikram31 In-Car Entertainment 17 9th September 2010 18:31
BMW 635d - Sound deadening ( Dyna-matting ) and new sub-woofer and amp. g8128 In-Car Entertainment 8 18th July 2010 18:08
ARC audio KS300.4 and Kicker 750.1 recommendation for Sub woofer kiran1103 In-Car Entertainment 4 28th May 2010 09:55
Wanted: 2nd Hand sub-woofer and amplifier saurabhkum Shifting gears 0 5th August 2007 21:43
Fitting a sub-woofer ajmat In-Car Entertainment 27 3rd June 2005 11:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:15.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks