Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment

Old 30th January 2010, 20:38   #1
BHPian

Question ICE for new Chevy Beat LS

Hello gurus,
This is my first post in the ICE section of t-bhp

I'm planning to book the new Chevy Beat LS. Actually, most people recommend booking the LT version since its more VFM, packed with features like auto climate control etc, but GTO mentioned in his excellent review of the Beat, that the sound quality in the integrated ICE in LT is 'awful'. This is the ONLY reason I'm considering purchasing an LS (the difference is about 45k OTR). So my question is twofold:
  1. I'm a bit confused if I'm doing the right thing by going for LS. What do you think? The LS has lackluster interiors as well.
  2. If I go for the LS, what is the best system you would recommend for 12-15k?
I'm a total newbie to ICE'ing up a car, but I hate sub-par audio quality. I consider myself a 'budget' audiophile (E.g., I like to listen my music on my Koss KSC-75 clipon headphones and am planning to splurge on some entry level Sennheisers soon - and I have a fair amount of idea of portable audio equipment, IEMs, headphones etc).

BUT..

I'm pretty much clueless about car audio and what I would want in my ICE setup. If you know the KSC-75, you'd know that I like a more 'fun' signature to my music, and do not like missing out on any of bass (not too much thump, just the right tightness), mids and especially treble detail.

I read the 'basic ICE systems post' and it seems to be a bit dated. Experts, could you recommend a decent HU + speaker combo, given my taste

I don't want to go for an AMP right now. (So I'm looking at HU+Speakers at 12-15k)

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Eddy : 31st January 2010 at 11:37. Reason: Not more than 2 smilies allowed.
quadmaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 01:05   #2
Team-BHP Support

The Beat is possible the worst car to ICE in the market right now.