Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th February 2010, 23:05   #1
BHPian
 
noidaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Noida
Posts: 994
Thanked: 260 Times
Default Car PC power supply :Help

Just got a car pc for my car finally.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...t-ddis-19.html (Just another SWIFT DDIS!)

I had one question, Can i connect the "ACC" wire to the "remote" wire going into amp? Or do i need to connect the "ACC" wire to the ignition? It needs 12v +

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Car PC power supply :Help-170220102198.jpg  

Car PC power supply :Help-170220102194.jpg  


Last edited by noidaboy : 17th February 2010 at 23:10. Reason: picture added
noidaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2010, 23:35   #2
BHPian
 
adheesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bombay
Posts: 526
Thanked: 34 Times
Default

Does your AMP turn on when the key is on ACC position (1st click) ? If yes, then you can. Else your car PC would turn on only when your amplifier is on.
adheesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 00:37   #3
BHPian
 
noidaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Noida
Posts: 994
Thanked: 260 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adheesh View Post
Does your AMP turn on when the key is on ACC position (1st click) ? If yes, then you can. Else your car PC would turn on only when your amplifier is on.
I understand the functionality. I also understand the limitations
but is it OK if i do so?

Im doing this because for now i have Retained the HU and my PC output works via AUX in the HU

If i connect the "ACC" wire to ignition or the remote wire what happens incase the car gets STALLED and has to be restarted? Will it be safer to connect the power directly and keep a switch connected to the ACC wire so that i press a button to switch of the pc?

Thanks
noidaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 06:58   #4
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

My AMP and Car-PC shares the same wire. So it is fine.
If car needs to be re crank then DC-DC power supply will take care of it.
btw what brand DC-DC power supply you using ?
nisarg86 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2010, 11:29   #5
BHPian
 
noidaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Noida
Posts: 994
Thanked: 260 Times
Default

its a IPTS DC 6V-20-ATX 110W, Where can i find similar powersupply in india?
noidaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2010, 18:59   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
badboyscad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 1,443
Thanked: 153 Times
Default

I have a M2-ATX-HV powersupply in my scorputer setup and i've connected the ignition(in your case, the ACC)wire to the ignition. The carPC does not restart while i switch off ignition and crank it on in traffic signals.
badboyscad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2010, 20:06   #7
BHPian
 
adheesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bombay
Posts: 526
Thanked: 34 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noidaboy View Post
I understand the functionality. I also understand the limitations
but is it OK if i do so?

Im doing this because for now i have Retained the HU and my PC output works via AUX in the HU

If i connect the "ACC" wire to ignition or the remote wire what happens incase the car gets STALLED and has to be restarted? Will it be safer to connect the power directly and keep a switch connected to the ACC wire so that i press a button to switch of the pc?

Thanks
The CARPC would not suddenly reboot if you remove the key or restart a stalled engine. This feature will depend on the jumper settings you use on the power supply. Also since the AMP as well as the CARPC power supply use this only as a relay trigger, it would be safe to use this lead.

Regards,
Adheesh Parelkar
adheesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2010, 12:32   #8
BHPian
 
noidaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Noida
Posts: 994
Thanked: 260 Times
Default

I have connected it the ACC wire at the moment. Working fine as of now.

Any pointers where i can get a usb GPS module?
noidaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2010, 20:04   #9
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

My carputer shares the ACC signal wire with the REM cable going to the amp so my headunit acts as the on off switch though i have a dedicated switch to turnoff my carputer even when i have my headunit running.
USB gps are available on ebay. Search for globalsat receivers. Read very good reviews bout them. Should work well.

OT: Aren't your AC vents being blocked by your screen?

Last edited by kingofmyworld : 22nd February 2010 at 20:06.
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2010, 00:17   #10
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

GlabalSat BU-353. Most trusted GPS receiver in carputer community.
nisarg86 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surge Suppression required between car battery power supply and media player anthiltg Technical Stuff 27 11th October 2011 14:05
Kenwood CD Player Power Supply Chip Blown honeybee In-Car Entertainment 1 1st November 2010 10:18
Short supply of fuel at Shell outlets in Bangalore benbsb29 Shifting gears 53 5th July 2007 16:38
Toyota to supply engines to Williams from 2007 ranjan united Int'l Motorsport 7 28th July 2006 14:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:44.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks