Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd December 2005, 02:59   #136
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chandan
Navin,
The DIN sleeve that comes with pioneer 7750 does not have side brackets(the one with screwholes),that matches the Getz screw holes..Gunbir,pls help
Hi Chandan

The DIN sleeve doesnt come with the Pioneer HU. It comes pre installed in some cars with the OEM HU. Some people get their OEM HU changed and very often the installer removes the DIN sleeve and keeps it. I suggest you go to a Hyundai workshop as they may some lying around, or any good installer in your area.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2005, 12:34   #137
BHPian
 
chandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: sakleshpur
Posts: 250
Thanked: 44 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir
Hi Chandan

The DIN sleeve doesnt come with the Pioneer HU. It comes pre installed in some cars with the OEM HU. Some people get their OEM HU changed and very often the installer removes the DIN sleeve and keeps it. I suggest you go to a Hyundai workshop as they may some lying around, or any good installer in your area.

Thanks Gunbir.Will give it a try in Trident Hyundai Or some car accesory shop..
chandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 11:38   #138
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,453 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr
sam,this is what manual of infinty 1040 says........

Gold-plated Binding Posts:The gold-plated binding posts will accept pin connectors, spade connectors, banana plugs, and bare wire.
Note:The binding posts are positioned too far apart to accept dual banana plugs
If you are making a box for the subwoofer, then it doesnt matter what terminals the sub has. You need to wire the sub to a proper terminal which is mounted on the box. The subwoofer will stay permanently wired to this terminal on the box.
I am talking about the terminal on the box - (in case you need to disconnect the box)
IMO - the best terminal to use is a terminal called SPEAKON - by a company called NEUTRIK. There is also another company called AMPHENOL that makes similar products. If you're wondering where you've heard AMPHENOL before - they are famous for making sim card locks which mount in mobile telephones.

Anyways, the advantage of speakon is that it is leak proof, if mounted well. It has a twist lock system which is fool proof and does not get loose. And when you disconnect the woofer box, the wires (that come from the amplifier) will not touch each other and cause damage to the amp.
You should get Speakon at a store that sells good pro sound and stage gear equipment in Batala - otherwise New delhi is your best bet.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 17:40   #139
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Neutrik is good but not cheap. I've used their XLRs for balanced outputs on my home amps.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 18:31   #140
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Neutrik is good but not cheap.
Any idea abt price? Can i just put terminal plug which receives just bare wire?

I have also ordered 5 rings,not MDF but marine ply[they call it water-proof] as 'screwing'[ ] MDF will be lil messy.One ring is for subw [ID 232mm,OD290mm,thickness 1/2"]
and 4 r for door speakers[ID 127mm,OD 175mm,thickness 1/4"]

Do i need rings for tweeters?I hope i get the asnwer this time!!

sam,i need ur thumbs up.


Quote:
otherwise New delhi is your best bet.
Not if i have to travel >900km that to on Getz!!!!
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 21:43   #141
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Neutrik i usually get from the US. I would guess they run about rs. 500 per pr.

Last edited by navin : 23rd December 2005 at 21:50.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 23:34   #142
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: Once
Default

If Neutrik is too expensive, try MX. I have used their spade connectors, lugs, binding posts, RCA plugs. Their products are pretty good. Neutrik may be better but MX is VFM maal.
Vivekphadnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2005, 10:16   #143
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Thanx vivek....
Below is what i read somewhere-----is it right?Can anyone post me a pic of babana plug.Seller here wont be knowing this stuff by english names


Use a terminal that accepts banana plugs rather than spring clips. Banana plugs conduct electric current better than spring clips

Last edited by rsjaurr : 24th December 2005 at 10:17.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2005, 14:30   #144
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr
Can anyone post me a pic of babana plug
RSJ... these are AudioAZcomp (an Audison brand) banana plugs (pic from mclarens install). These are different from regular banana plugs cuz that plastic cover you see in the front retracts back when you plug it in, and comes out automatically when the connectors arent being used. This prevents shorting which otherwise happen on regular banana plugs.




This is the way they plug into the box connector panel. This panel is also from AudioAZcomp Italy. Note the gold plated brass terminals. The MX (indian) variety have plastic terminals.



gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2005, 10:51   #145
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: Once
Default

Banana plugs are certainly better because you can terminate wires properly. With spring clips, you will have to use bare wire ends and could be messy.
Vivekphadnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2005, 21:38   #146
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Saw some rhodium plugs today. about $10 each. quite good.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 17:49   #147
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir
Hi All

As promised here are my inputs on installing in the GeTz.

Now you need a DIN Sleeve which you can see in this pic.


Gunbir,is this same sleeve as shown in pics in links,which i got with alpine 9853?Will my sleeve do same purpose as this one?
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/iipcache/19820.jpg
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/iipcache/19821.jpg
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/iipcache/19822.jpg
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2006, 02:19   #148
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

No RSJ... All HUs come with the standard sleeve that you have. But that isnt what I meant.

The DIN sleeve I used in that pic, you can get from your Hyundai dealer. It comes prefitted in Accent etc. I am sure they have a couple of them lying around.

That sleeve will replace the alpine sleeve you have. Difference is, it will secure your HU to the inside of the dashboard.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2006, 09:36   #149
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir
No RSJ... All HUs come with the standard sleeve that you have. But that isnt what I meant.

The DIN sleeve I used in that pic, you can get from your Hyundai dealer. It comes prefitted in Accent etc. I am sure they have a couple of them lying around.

That sleeve will replace the alpine sleeve you have. Difference is, it will secure your HU to the inside of the dashboard.

Thanx gunbir..........but in case if i dont install from hyundai dealer or they dont have any extra,can alpine sleeve be used?? Is there any other alternative??
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2006, 21:44   #150
BHPian
 
ScarySkulls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 623
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

JBL has a dealer in Ludhiana and Chandigarh.

The Ludhiana one is also dealer for sumokoo and dapic besides JBL.
If Sam can give him a call, then you should be getting good install service..

Contact number wanted...???
ScarySkulls is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hyundai Getz...Major Problem and Hyundai isnt responding speedz The Indian Car Scene 84 25th September 2013 11:16
Letz Getz Started (Hyundai Getz CRDi)- UPDATE: 40000, new alloys, tires!!! (page 30) ph03n!x Long-Term Ownership Reviews 598 6th November 2012 00:02
The future of Hyundai Getz? EDIT : Bye Bye Getz (page 2) sathya_j2084 The Indian Car Scene 32 25th June 2010 10:19
Hyundai Getz 50K KMs service - Help Needed ntomer Technical Stuff 2 16th January 2008 15:47
Discounts on the Hyundai Getz - HELP ! normally_crazy The Indian Car Scene 19 15th September 2005 12:50


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:48.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks