Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th September 2005, 23:50   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: goa
Posts: 981
Thanked: 43 Times
Default pioneer 4750

I have a Pioneer 4750 in my Baleno. I need an Ipod connecting cable models "cd-rb10" or "cd-rb20" by Pioneer. Where can I get this in India or abroad through the internet? Also, is there any way to wire the HU to the auto-antenna so that the antenna comes out only when "Tuner" is selected as the source. It appears from the catalog that this can be done, but my installer says it's impossible.
filcord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2005, 23:56   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by filcord
I have a Pioneer 4750 in my Baleno. I need an Ipod connecting cable models "cd-rb10" or "cd-rb20" by Pioneer. Where can I get this in India or abroad through the internet? Also, is there any way to wire the HU to the auto-antenna so that the antenna comes out only when "Tuner" is selected as the source. It appears from the catalog that this can be done, but my installer says it's impossible.
mumbai... autocop sells pio stuff. donno abt cables. u can get their add frm soem auto mag.

and i think ur can wire ur hu 2 autoantenna if ur hu supports. my old alpine supported thsi setuo ( i think)

find another installer or do it urself if u have ur HU's manual
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2005, 00:00   #3
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: Once
Default

It is certainly possible. The HU has a wire at the back specifically for the remote antenna thing.
Vivekphadnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2005, 00:03   #4
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: goa
Posts: 981
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

Where does that wire from the back of HU go? Anyone has a wiring diagram of the Baleno?
filcord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2005, 00:13   #5
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: Once
Default

Not sure. I have not seen what wiring needs to be done for an automatic antenna. Maybe the others can help.
Vivekphadnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2005, 12:55   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,503
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

most auto anteenas come up when the power on the HU is turned on. Dont remember if i my Opel Astra's OEM HUs' antenna came up only when the tuner was selected as I had that deck in the car exactly for 1/2 day in 1996. Maybe today's decks have logic that tells the anteanna not to come on untill the tuner is selected. JB, Sam, Driven, Gunbir can you guys help?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2005, 19:29   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Well... Most of the time the auto antenna is powered direct and gets a trigger from the blue 'remote' cable that also turns on all your amps etc. Since there is only one remote cable in such systems, everything turns on or off simultaneously.

However, in some newer HUs there is a separate trigger cable for antenna. This output is only triggered when the tuner is selected as source.

If I remember correctly, I have not seen any budget HUs with a separate antenna trigger output. Still, look behind your HU for a (yellow sometimes) cable marked Antenna.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2005, 23:52   #8
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: goa
Posts: 981
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

Thanks gunbir, I looked behind, there is no yellow cable. After many tries, found that the blue wire extends the antenna whenever the HU is turned on, irrespective of the type of source.
filcord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2005, 15:04   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

Hi!

Let me elaborate a little bit on this. All Power Antennae have 3 wires. One to go to the battery direct, one to the earth and one whcih is a trigger. (usually the thinnest wire on the unit)
As long as there is 12V at this thin wire, the antenna is up. Take away the 12V and the antenna comes down.
Now in certain units you have TWO blue trigger wires. One that peaks up to 12V when all sources are on, and one that gives out 12V only in tuner mode.
I too, hate it if I'm listening to CD and the power antanna is up. I find it too "hero, hero"

What I would do, is disconnect the power antenna from the head unit. Connect a switch ( a small on off toggle) to the trigger wire of the power antenna buss. Put the switch between the ignition on off and the trigger. (This is so you dont leave the antenna up by mistake when you leave the car)

Put it up if you want to, put it down if you want to. All good relationships work well this way

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 2nd October 2005 at 15:06.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2005, 17:04   #10
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: goa
Posts: 981
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
Hi!

Let me elaborate a little bit on this.......What I would do, is disconnect the power antenna from the head unit. Connect a switch ( a small on off toggle) to the trigger wire of the power antenna buss. Put the switch between the ignition on off and the trigger. (This is so you dont leave the antenna up by mistake when you leave the car)...
Thanks for a lucid explanation of how the trigger works. Would I be right in this interpretation:
If I put a switch wired to the trigger wire, will it not go "off" if the key is removed from ignition? In other words, even if I forget the switch in the "on" position, moment I remove key from ignition, it will cut power to the switch?
filcord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2005, 22:28   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
k_ajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,164
Thanked: 464 Times
Default

No problems with the Indica on this front either.... One stupid & silly looking internal antenna (i call it, band-aid strip).... LOL
k_ajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2005, 14:57   #12
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: goa
Posts: 981
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

Another q on Pio 4750. Is there any way to dim the light output from the HU faceplate at night? It is quite bright and distracting.
I was told some HUs have to be connected to the parking lights, when they are turned on, the light from the faceplate gets dimmer. Any experience here?
filcord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2005, 15:16   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,641 Times
Default

I face the same problem too! Could not find anything in the instruction manual about brightness reduction
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2005, 23:11   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by filcord
Another q on Pio 4750. Is there any way to dim the light output from the HU faceplate at night? It is quite bright and distracting.
I was told some HUs have to be connected to the parking lights, when they are turned on, the light from the faceplate gets dimmer. Any experience here?
Most higher HU models have a dimmer wire which needs to be connected to your "parking lights" circuit. Eg the higher Pioneer HUs even let you set "day brightness" and "night brightness".

I dont think the 4750 has that feature.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 03:15   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
aseem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,737
Thanked: 416 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir
Most higher HU models have a dimmer wire which needs to be connected to your "parking lights" circuit. Eg the higher Pioneer HUs even let you set "day brightness" and "night brightness".

I dont think the 4750 has that feature.
Gunbir, just found this review for Pioneer 7700 on crutchfield.

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-8bnW25U...&pg=4&sortBy=3

Almost everyone complaining about its display. Even with dimmer on, like the dude below says, its too bright. Dont know first hand though, since I dont own it. However to have 2.2V pre amp outputs for such a costly unit is a shame!

Bad Stuff: Really my only complaint is that at night its FREAKING BRIGHT!!! and you can adjust the brightness only on the display, not the buttons that emit a super blue light. You See the ring of blue around the joystick knob, ya you cant dim it! its just always super bright! It makes for quite a distraction when your driving, the whole cab lights up! I find myself flipping down the diplay just to turn it off...but during the day, its gorgeous!

Last edited by aseem : 8th October 2005 at 03:19.
aseem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pioneer Head Unit Errors. Error 11 and error 17 in pioneer MP3 rajivanoj In-Car Entertainment 32 10th December 2013 17:07
Specs Req Pioneer 2950 and Pioneer 4950 HU nicejits In-Car Entertainment 3 23rd November 2007 12:03
For Sale: Pioneer FH-P 6200 2 Din and Pioneer EQ 6500 Equalizer . sam_78 Shifting gears 4 28th April 2007 12:16
Looking for a solution to a 4750 problem tsk1979 In-Car Entertainment 16 17th March 2007 16:58
A Pioneer 4750 mp3 playing query tsk1979 In-Car Entertainment 15 14th December 2006 10:56


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:00.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks