Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th March 2010, 22:23   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 7
Thanked: 0 Times
Default ICE for Linea

Hi, I have just booked a Flamenco Red Linea Dynamic Edition. Wanted to install a ICE system. What I am looking out for is good audio + video. If possible with in built navigation system. please advice.

Last edited by navin : 26th March 2010 at 09:08.
anand25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 09:37   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Does not the Linea come with a stereo.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 10:36   #3
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 64
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

No stereo unit for Dynamic Edition :(
Seagull76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 10:59   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Sorry. The only Liena I have seen came with one. Can the Liena take a 2 DIN HU? 2 DIN is about 4" tall, 1 DIN is about 2" tall.

GPS Navigation HUs are almost all 2 DIN and the cheapest option might be the Pioneer 310BT (in the grey market it should be about 16k).
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 11:18   #5
BHPian
 
pranava999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 820
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

I think the linea dynamic can take in a single din. Im not really sure it can accommodate a double din.
pranava999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 11:28   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anand25 View Post
If possible with in built navigation system. please advice.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pranava999 View Post
I think the linea dynamic can take in a single din.
I dont know of a GPS-Navigation HU with single din.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 11:47   #7
BHPian
 
ms001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: bangalore
Posts: 919
Thanked: 63 Times
Default

linea does take it the 2 din , i have seen a picture on the forum , member called vignesh had posted some time back
ms001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 13:46   #8
BHPian
 
pranava999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 820
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
I dont know of a GPS-Navigation HU with single din.
Neither do I ..just thought I will add my 2 tiny bits I'm not sure if there are any single din flip out type of units in the market yet, but they could be an alternative if double dins can't be installed
pranava999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 20:07   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

There are a few. There is one on sale in the classifieds!
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 20:11   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

If the Linea takes a 2 Din head unit then you can buy a Pioneer or Kenwood touchscreen head unit, add a third party navigation "black-box" and use Navigation from the head unit.

If you go for a single din head unit, even if the head unit has a display like the JVC AVX 44 or something, maps will not be readable, and control will have to be through remote control.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2010, 10:26   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 7
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
If the Linea takes a 2 Din head unit then you can buy a Pioneer or Kenwood touchscreen head unit, add a third party navigation "black-box" and use Navigation from the head unit.

If you go for a single din head unit, even if the head unit has a display like the JVC AVX 44 or something, maps will not be readable, and control will have to be through remote control.
can u recommend some models from Pioneer.

What is a navigation black box and where can I find it.
anand25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2010, 19:50   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Pioneer 4150 or 4250 touchscreen DVD player. As for the navigation box, check with the member hihaneet. Search the ICE forums, he has a thread on how he has done it.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2011, 09:13   #13
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 53
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Re: ICE for Linea

I play music through an Ipod. My Linea has a usb port.

My question is do I need to change the HU to get better sound? I dont really want to change it.

I will be adding an amp, sub and changing the components. (Hopefully warranty wont go)

Any advice?
Vajra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2011, 15:07   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 21
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Re: ICE for Linea

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vajra View Post
I play music through an Ipod. My Linea has a usb port.

My question is do I need to change the HU to get better sound? I dont really want to change it.

I will be adding an amp, sub and changing the components. (Hopefully warranty wont go)

Any advice?
Buddy.

if you want to hear pure bliss Just dump the OE HU

I have a Linea dynamic which was blank. got ICE installed and was very satisfied. Earlier I had a Swift Vxi where the ICE setup was Sony XPLOD HU & ca-axial speakers. After hearing the setup in my Linea the earlier setup feels like crap.
Anand_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICE ICE baby. Punto"ICE"fied Soccerfan In-Car Entertainment 45 10th March 2012 21:40
ICE ICE Baby!!!!!!!!(Swift ICE) scarlet.fever In-Car Entertainment 21 23rd September 2009 20:25
Ooty - my first on MY LINEA, probably the first LINEA TO CLIMB famous 36 hairpin bent vinay.pillai Travelogues 56 13th September 2009 21:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:22.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks