Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd June 2010, 22:07   #106
Senior - BHPian
 
mercedised's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indore
Posts: 1,070
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Nice to see a increment in your project. BTW, Where is the OBD actually fitted? I mean how does it calculates the parameters? and is it available for every car? Like mine Tata Safari TCIC.
mercedised is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2010, 22:33   #107
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercedised View Post
Nice to see a increment in your project. BTW, Where is the OBD actually fitted? I mean how does it calculates the parameters? and is it available for every car? Like mine Tata Safari TCIC.
The OBD port is connected to the ECU, which has sensors all over the car. The port is present below the steering wheel, above the accelerator, brake and clutch.

Most new cars have OBDs, but for Indian manufacturers like Maruti, Tata, or Mahindra, there might be protocol problems.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2010, 15:01   #108
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

Hi to everyone after a hiatus!
The reversing camera and the LCD touchscreen are on the way.
While this is happening, here's my query.
Core2Duo / Core i3 530?

Power consumption is of importance. Cost isn't. (well, to an extent of course)
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2010, 15:27   #109
BHPian
 
Sprucegoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 311
Thanked: 38 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
Hi to everyone after a hiatus!
The reversing camera and the LCD touchscreen are on the way.
While this is happening, here's my query.
Core2Duo / Core i3 530?

Power consumption is of importance. Cost isn't. (well, to an extent of course)
Yo!
C2D use less power [about 10 watts or so] than the Ci3

but the Ci3 is still more efficient.

Core 2 vs. i3: Which is the Best Processor?

I'd say go for a C2D.
It'll be cheaper [Mobo, Procc & RAM].
It'll eat less power.
It won't be too much slower and still be fast enough for what you need.
Sprucegoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2010, 15:42   #110
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,705
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprucegoose View Post
Yo!
C2D use less power [about 10 watts or so] than the Ci3

but the Ci3 is still more efficient.

Core 2 vs. i3: Which is the Best Processor?

I'd say go for a C2D.
It'll be cheaper [Mobo, Procc & RAM].
It'll eat less power.
It won't be too much slower and still be fast enough for what you need.
This is OT, but the Core i3 integrated memory controller, PCI controller and graphics controller built into the proc's core itself - this could be the reason why its TDP is about 10W higher (for procs meant for portable applications). This also means the motherboard would consume lesser power, as the south/ north bridge combination (that existed in Intel platforms before the Core i3/5/7) is not the same anymore. I do not seen a platform power consumption test result, but it seems obvious. Let me google something...

My suggestion would be - go for an i3 based platform if the price differential is under 15% (for the proc, RAM, graphics) - you are definitely getting more for what you are paying. Else C2D is the way!

EDIT: Found something: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...e,2522-11.html

Last edited by ph03n!x : 30th June 2010 at 15:45.
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2010, 23:31   #111
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NewDelhi/Noida
Posts: 220
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
Hi to everyone after a hiatus!
The reversing camera and the LCD touchscreen are on the way.
While this is happening, here's my query.
Core2Duo / Core i3 530?

Power consumption is of importance. Cost isn't. (well, to an extent of course)
Along with the power consumption also look out for temps rating of both.

i3 is the way if going with a more future proof machine
Piyush_Vroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2010, 13:26   #112
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

I have read in some places that Core i3 processors DO NOT support Windows XP. Or the other way around, where people say that the Speed and power saving abilities of the processor are not very well utilized by Windows XP. is that true? I would rather get XP since during all the testing for the devices I have bought, and I have done, I have used XP.
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2010, 14:23   #113
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,705
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

I don't think it will NOT support XP, but yes - XP may not fully utilize the capabilities of the i3 platform, especially the power-saving part.
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2010, 18:43   #114
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
I have read in some places that Core i3 processors DO NOT support Windows XP. Or the other way around, where people say that the Speed and power saving abilities of the processor are not very well utilized by Windows XP. is that true? I would rather get XP since during all the testing for the devices I have bought, and I have done, I have used XP.
From what I could gather from googling, XP will run on dual cores, but it won't utilize the dual core architecture with maximum efficiency.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2010, 17:47   #115
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

And we have the final few packages flying in this weekend. ALL overseas purchases are complete. NOW for the Processor, MOBO, RAM and Cabinet. After which we start the process of assembling it.

For now, the reversing camera was here 2 days back from Global Easy buy, which had their FREE shipping from USA scheme last week, again.
Attached Thumbnails
An Audiophile Computer in the making: frankmehta's Fiesta S-p1060294-desktop-resolution.jpg  

An Audiophile Computer in the making: frankmehta's Fiesta S-p1060295-desktop-resolution.jpg  

An Audiophile Computer in the making: frankmehta's Fiesta S-p1060297-desktop-resolution.jpg  

An Audiophile Computer in the making: frankmehta's Fiesta S-p1060302-desktop-resolution.jpg  

An Audiophile Computer in the making: frankmehta's Fiesta S-p1060303-desktop-resolution.jpg  

An Audiophile Computer in the making: frankmehta's Fiesta S-p1060304-desktop-resolution.jpg  

An Audiophile Computer in the making: frankmehta's Fiesta S-p1060300-desktop-resolution.jpg  

frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2010, 11:51   #116
Senior - BHPian
 
satish_appasani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,033
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Though it's too late, still posting this. Came across this nice keyboard/touchpad combo in one of the blogs.
USB Fever Weekly News July 5-11: Mini BT Keyboard with Touchpad Mouse and Infra-red Presenter And More | Just Another Mobile Monday)
satish_appasani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2010, 12:39   #117
BHPian
 
Sprucegoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 311
Thanked: 38 Times
Default

I hod problems installing Windows XP on my C2D system.
have a DDR3 Mobo.
Kept getting a BSOD while trying to install.
i need to install some drivers via floppy disc apparently after the pre-installation environment is loaded.

Gave up on XP, installed windows 7 after that.

Last edited by Sprucegoose : 6th July 2010 at 12:40.
Sprucegoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2010, 12:40   #118
BHPian
 
SumitBahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 975
Thanked: 219 Times
Default

I would suggest you to go for Core i3.
It is more efficient than C2D.
Also, its the new architecture and uses latest components (In terms of chipset and RAM).

DDR3 RAM prices have slashed. Go for 3GB CORSAIR XMS3 PC3 12800, triple channel, 1600 Mhz RAM. Its the best available.

X58 chipsets (Core i3, i5, i7 runs on X58) have much better on board graphics than earlier chipsets.
I would suggest the INTEL ORIGINAL motherboard. Its the max bang for buck.
If you want something highend, go for ASUS, GIGABYTE or MSI.

Hard drives might create some trouble in the long run. They are not made for that kind of heat and shocks. SSDs is the way to go.

And, dont worry, you will be able to run XP on Core i3.
Why dont you install Windows 7? Its better than XP in every way. I wouldn't say same for vista, but 7 is the way to go.

You can run/install almost all softwares that ran on XP in 7, under the compatibility mode. Just try it.

Last edited by SumitBahl : 7th July 2010 at 12:41.
SumitBahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 16:53   #119
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

So here's a recap of all that is to be installed.
Prices will be published later.

Touchscreen LCD: Shenzhen Klyde, China (thanks to Dinar)
Power Supply: M4ATX 250W power supply
Processor: Core i3 530 (yet to be procured)
Motherboard: An H55 mobo from Gigabyte, preferably
RAM: 2 GB DDR3 RAM
Cabinet: iBall/CoolerMaster/Zebronics Mini ITX cabinets
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
Hard Drive: Western Digital SATA II 500 Gb 5400 rpm 2.5" Laptop Drive
GPS Receiver: GlobalSat BU353
Reversing Camera: License Plate Waterproof Fish-Eye Lens camera
Keyboard and Pointing Device: Lenovo N5901
OBD Scanner: ELM 327 OBD II to USB Scanner
External DVD Drive: Transcend DVD Writer
Internet Device: Tata Photon +
Universal Remote to control volume etc: MPR-999
DVB Tuner: Terrestrial video tuner from China.

That's all guys.
The install should begin this week. First up, i shall be purchasing and installing the CPU.
Next step will be documented soon after that
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 19:34   #120
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,705
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

A few newbie-to-carputer questions - does the carputer fit the 2DIN, or just the screen goes there? Wont there be a delay to play the music (or anything) after starting the car and before removing the key after turning off, because of the 'puter booting up / waiting for it to hibernate / shutdown?

@frankmehta - may I suggest you go in for a SSD based HDD (even a 32 GB one) for a permanent HDD that goes inside the Car PC - and use external HDD / memory sticks for expanding the storage? I have had experiences with HDDs crashing on you when being used in the car - we can never drive safely enough, that odd pothole or speedbreaker that you missed seeing will get ya!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"...and the winner is Fiesta 1.6 S" - The Journey of a budget Audiophile Mi10 Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 48 12th May 2012 20:26
Tips for BS Speakers /Amp/Audiophile CD player sk456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 22nd April 2007 03:32
Audiophile here audiophile Introduce yourself 3 15th August 2006 15:42


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:54.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks