Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th July 2010, 13:54   #91
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default

Note from mod: Please be civil in your tone. Personal attacks, which include ridiculing others, will not be tolerated
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2010, 10:56   #92
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bharti22shresth View Post
Give them a piece of your mind in the tone THEY DESERVE and they sit down and get back to work properly.
If you find a post offensive please use the report button. There is no need to "GO Vigilante" on TBHP. It is NOT appreciated or considered accpetable behaviour.

I do not know if you have read the Rules in the Accouncements section but if you haven't suggest start by reading the 3 linked below

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/announ...etiquette.html (Expected Posting Etiquette)

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/announ...t-quality.html (Report Posts : Contribute in Maintaining Team-BHP's post quality)

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/announ...on-system.html (Team-BHP Warning / Infraction System)
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2010, 15:49   #93
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 719
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

WOW!
That was not what I had expected. A battle in my thread!

Okay, so, I met LBMji a few days ago and had a demo of a ported Ground Zero 12XD-AL in his car.

The bass was very good, punchy and tight. The best part was, when we played some bass-heavy songs from my CD, the subwoofer totally transformed into one I would love to have in my car, tight and punchy and a little boomy only when there was a need.

Apart from this, recenty, I was offered a very nice deal for a BLAUPUNKT THA 475 PnP. Any comments guys?

Last edited by abhipuru16 : 18th July 2010 at 15:50.
abhipuru16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2010, 17:00   #94
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 719
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Guys, would there be a problem if I go for Blaupunkt VA 475?
It's from the higher Velocity series from Blaupunkt, I am getting a good deal for this amplifier. Please suggest.
abhipuru16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2010, 10:55   #95
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhipuru16 View Post
Apart from this, recenty, I was offered a very nice deal for a BLAUPUNKT THA 475 PnP. Any comments guys?
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhipuru16 View Post
Guys, would there be a problem if I go for Blaupunkt VA 475?
I have not heard either of these Blau amps. The old velocity amps were very good but I believe balu's new Velocity series is not built to the same standards however they offer more VFM.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2010, 10:06   #96
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 719
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

I am almost on the verge of buying the Blaupunkt Velocity VPA 4130 amplifier but, there is something holding me back. My current components are rated as 60watts RMS while this amplifier gives 130watts RMS per channel in the same 4 ohm impedance. Do I risk anything here? The gains would be set carefully.
LBMji says it wouldn't affect my components even 1%. Help me out, please.
abhipuru16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2010, 10:34   #97
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhipuru16 View Post
I am almost on the verge of buying the Blaupunkt Velocity VPA 4130 amplifier but, there is something holding me back. My current components are rated as 60watts RMS while this amplifier gives 130watts RMS per channel in the same 4 ohm impedance. Do I risk anything here? The gains would be set carefully.
LBMji says it wouldn't affect my components even 1%. Help me out, please.
LBM is right. The importance of wattage ratings is overrated!
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2010, 12:02   #98
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lucknow/Gurgaon
Posts: 1,022
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

hello friends,

I have a Fiesta 1.6 SXI with Stock ICE, i just want to add a Amplifier to my ICE without adding or modifying the existing front & rear speakers,

i have shortlisted Sony XM-GTX6042, could anyone of you please suggest the benefits of amplifier, how will it be fitted and installing only a amplifier will serve a purpose
ruchirtnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2010, 12:05   #99
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 719
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Thanks. So, this is probably the amplifier I shall buy. The subwoofer I am thinking alongside it is the Ground Zero GZRW 12 XD-AL.
The subwoofer is rated at 500Watts RMS and I shall give it 400 Watts RMS of this amplifier. Would it work nicely or would it be underpowered. This question arises mainly because 100 Watts RMS sounds a lot!
abhipuru16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2010, 12:28   #100
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

As per your listening tastes you will not be using not more than 200 watts !!!
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2010, 12:35   #101
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 719
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
As per your listening tastes you will not be using not more than 200 watts !!!
You know what Sirji, this is surely gonna get exciting!
There comes a time when you like to go all-out and test some SPL. I think this setup shall let me do just that.
What do you say?
abhipuru16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2010, 17:25   #102
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 719
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Okay, the amplifier is going to be the Blaupunkt Velocity VPA4130 Pro. I had a query regarding line out converters.
In my case, I would be using the stock head unit as of now. I will use the front channels of the amplifier for the front components and rear channels for the subwoofer in bridged mode. Now, would I be needing a line out converter? If yes, please tell me how many? Where would they be connected?
My installer is asking for 1250 rupees for one Rockford Fosgate line out converter. Any other brand I should look for?
abhipuru16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 00:48   #103
Senior - BHPian
 
Gilead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 2,140
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

abhi, a small word of advice. Whatever you do, replace the HU first. It is an utter piece of crap and will not let your other components play to even 10% of their true potential. I just ICE-ed my car and just like you I had plans of retaining the OE HU. The difference between the OE HU and a good aftermarket HU is like chalk and cheese. Junk the OE HU first and get an HU with proper pre-outs.
Gilead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 09:02   #104
Senior - BHPian
 
Mi10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 974
Thanked: 1,455 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilead View Post
abhi, a small word of advice. Whatever you do, replace the HU first. It is an utter piece of crap and will not let your other components play to even 10% of their true potential. I just ICE-ed my car and just like you I had plans of retaining the OE HU. The difference between the OE HU and a good aftermarket HU is like chalk and cheese. Junk the OE HU first and get an HU with proper pre-outs.
Very true. Till you change you HU, whatever speakers and Amps you put, it wont play to its potential.

An alternative would be to opt for Signal processors (if you want to preserve the Stock look of your Dash)
Mi10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 12:59   #105
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 719
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Thanks for your advices. But, as of now, it IS going to be the stock headunit. Please clear my relevant doubts regarding Line-out converters. Please.
abhipuru16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
abhipuru1.6'S ICE- Ford Fiesta 1.6S- First Steps towards THE WORLD OF PURE MUSIC abhipuru16 In-Car Entertainment 59 17th September 2012 13:58
Ford Fiesta-- JBL setup query. fidaford In-Car Entertainment 32 7th April 2011 16:47
Please help me decide: Fiesta S or Fiesta ZXi? EDIT: Booked Fiesta S! Pics on pg5. frankmehta Sedans 108 18th August 2009 13:43


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:35.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks