Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th October 2005, 17:22   #1
BHPian
 
Knight Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 267
Thanked: 11 Times
Default Water inside the amp

Hiya,

I have a 2004 alto, The water level in our place was rising at an alarming level, I thought it was better to take the car out than to wait and watch, Well some 10 cars were submerged in the water completely, I took full reverse and in the process managed to get some water inside my car, I had switched off the music system before i took out the car, But when I was reversing i noticed a crackling sound from the speakers even though the system was shut down, I gave the car for servicing to bimal but does not know the outcome of my action, Guys can you tell me even if my music system works now, will it invite any trouble in the future? My amp was beneath the front seat (Sony 5 channel) I guess it has a power protector( I dont know what it means, Saw the light) and fuses to prevent it from getting short circuited, I have watched all the gurus giving opinions on a lot of things, Want to know what has to be done help!!!
Knight Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 17:28   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

you may have damaged the amp that is why our recommended install in on the back of the rear seat. anyway before you do anything else take the car to our audio guys have him remove it, open it and dry it well before trying to turn it on. the HU might be ok as water never got to it.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 17:33   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
aseem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,737
Thanked: 416 Times
Default

Sorry to hear this Knight Rider.... how much was the amplifier for? I hate to say this, but I feel its gone in an likelihood!
aseem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 17:34   #4
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

well u might want to take the amp out..open it,see whats happened to it,maybe dry it and see if it works..might if ur lucky..really sad to hear about this but do try and let us know..
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 17:57   #5
BHPian
 
Knight Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 267
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Thanks guys, I am getting the car back on thursday, Will have it checked, I have a subwoofer in the boot so the space is minimal, That is the reason i did not fit the amplifier behind the rear seat, Because the only way by which i can carry something is to tilt the rear seat, Well some times you have to see it to believe it, So much of sweat and blood to get the whole setup done, But friend got his new tata indigo drowned completely which was hardly 15 days old, and anohter one lost his 800, he is planing to buy a new car now. , At least the car is running fine! Can you guys tell me what could have caused that crackling sound from the speakers? And yes naveen, The hu is intact, Aseem , I will post you guys about the outcome, I got it for 5500 before some 9 months
Knight Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 18:01   #6
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

well Do It Yourself if the sony amp havent got a warranty.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 18:08   #7
BHPian
 
Knight Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 267
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Is there anyone in banglore who would l take the pains of doing this? I am sure the Dealers would be more interested in selling me one than to service it
Knight Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 18:13   #8
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight Rider
Is there anyone in banglore who would l take the pains of doing this? I am sure the Dealers would be more interested in selling me one than to service it
vivek are u listening ...if he has the time im sure he might be able to do it for u KR or maybe even build u a new one..but he gettting free time might be just be another story as well..well i wouldnt mind trying it lol but i must warn u this will be my 1st attempt at DIY..so u better go to a authorised service centre..
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 18:21   #9
BHPian
 
Knight Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 267
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Well, Mclaren I appreciate your good intention!! However as you rightly mentioned would like to see a long life for my amp!!!!!! Will I have to change the wiring as well? And pardon my ignorance, Who is Vivek?
Knight Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 18:26   #10
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

why cant u just take it 2 authorized sony service if u have warranty. and ther should be a couple of they at cochin. they have one or two at tvm
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 18:30   #11
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight Rider
Well, Mclaren I appreciate your good intention!! However as you rightly mentioned would like to see a long life for my amp!!!!!! Will I have to change the wiring as well? And pardon my ignorance, Who is Vivek?
well u might have to change the entire wiring as well..but unless u open the amp its not possible to say a thing..u dont know who vivekphadnis is ????
ANS: a crazy DIY on this forum(read his immaculate CCTB concept) and only junior to none other than navin at DIYs..hope that answers ur question..
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 18:36   #12
BHPian
 
Knight Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 267
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Thanks mclaren, It did clear the query! Jkdas, The best part is I do not have warranty for the amp, Got it fixed from J.C road, Funny though, Does the amp have any inbuilt function to prevent it's circuits from getting jammed?
Knight Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 18:37   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
aseem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,737
Thanked: 416 Times
Default

Knight since you bought it for 5.5k, I doubt its 5 channel as your qoute... are your sure? It might be Sony 504 which is a 4 channel amp. In that case, it would be better to get a new one for 3.5k than to get the old one fixed!
aseem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 18:45   #14
BHPian
 
Knight Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 267
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Aseem, I could have been easily mistaken, I do not have a good know how about the specs, All I wanted was to hear some good music, When I shopped i consulted one of my friends who works in the similar field in Kerala. How much would the entire Re-wiring cost?
Knight Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2005, 19:14   #15
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight Rider
Aseem, I could have been easily mistaken, I do not have a good know how about the specs, All I wanted was to hear some good music, When I shopped i consulted one of my friends who works in the similar field in Kerala. How much would the entire Re-wiring cost?
well mate, now can u tell ur car audio config. u have an hu, how many speakers ( frnt/rear) and do u have a sub?

and teh rate for cables depend onwhat all cables u have 2 change ( if u have connected all spears frm amp and teh sub frm amp) and of course the amount of money u can spend. (2-3k for cables, guys?)

as aseem pointed out, u have be using the 504z amp and not a 5 channel one.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydrostatic Lock - Water inside the engine falcon Technical Stuff 27 30th August 2017 20:54
Moisture / Water / Fogging inside the Headlamp Ram Technical Stuff 56 28th July 2014 07:45
Shoving water inside an exhaust to clean it? Torqueguru Technical Stuff 40 5th March 2013 19:28
Water droplets inside the head light assembly DRC Technical Stuff 27 11th January 2007 11:53


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:19.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks