Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th October 2005, 18:13   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: kolkata
Posts: 25
Thanked: 0 Times
Default problemwith audio

i am recently having problems regarding the sys in my car.... normaly the setup is running fine... onnly sometimes the rearspeakers cut off on their own...while the front ones keep playing...and they start on their own only after a short while .. this is when the car is running.. the rear speakers are routed thro the amp which is a sony 222... and with a bass tube.... my head uni is a pioneer p1y...got all the wires checked... but of no avail... can somebody help?
amitava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2005, 20:00   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitava
i am recently having problems regarding the sys in my car.... normaly the setup is running fine... onnly sometimes the rearspeakers cut off on their own...while the front ones keep playing...and they start on their own only after a short while .. this is when the car is running.. the rear speakers are routed thro the amp which is a sony 222... and with a bass tube.... my head uni is a pioneer p1y...got all the wires checked... but of no avail... can somebody help?
is it only when u increase the vol?
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2005, 20:06   #3
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

the rears are connected to a sony 222?? thats a 2ch amp right..then which amp are u using to drive the bass tube..hope its not the same..anyways if this cutting off of the rears happens only at high volumes or after a while that means the amp might be overheating and might be going into protection mode..u might want to check on that 1st..
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2005, 20:22   #4
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

mclrn, maybe he has the rear and the sub in parallel and when he increases vol....boooomm
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2005, 12:21   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

222 has current limiting protection so that is it. anything over 3A and it shuts. turns itself on about a few milli hundred secs.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2005, 16:28   #6
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,453 Times
Default

Hi Amitava.

From your post i see that the same exact setup WAS running perfectly and has started developing a problem now. It is very very important to know if the system was running perfectly like this earlier. If so, then it should be a simple problem.
The only way to connect 2 speakers and a bass tube to a 222 is in Tri mode. Basically the 2 speakers as they are supposed to be connected and the sub in bridged mode like the speakers weren't there.
In case it was working fine then, and not now... You might have a loose cable in the earthing or maybe a bad contact on the earthing (chassis) cable. Let us know..
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2005, 18:11   #7
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

sam, whts tri mode?....
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2005, 14:01   #8
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,453 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
The only way to connect 2 speakers and a bass tube to a 222 is in Tri mode. Basically the 2 speakers as they are supposed to be connected and the sub in bridged mode like the speakers weren't there.

I said na - right there. Read above. Conect the speakers normally, like the sub wasnt there. Then connect the sub i bridged mode, as if the speakers werent there. It works, but is a heavy load o the amp and there is no low-pass foir the sub. You could insert an inductance in series but thats still not entirely as good as an electronic low pass filter.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2005, 18:47   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
I said na - right there. Read above. Conect the speakers normally, like the sub wasnt there. Then connect the sub i bridged mode, as if the speakers werent there. It works, but is a heavy load o the amp and there is no low-pass foir the sub. You could insert an inductance in series but thats still not entirely as good as an electronic low pass filter.
aha just liek i thought. speakers and sub in parallel
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2005, 23:46   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
karthik247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR, HYD
Posts: 2,708
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Culd someone explain why and what is High Pass and Low Pass. And what difference it makes
karthik247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2005, 23:55   #11
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karthik247
Culd someone explain why and what is High Pass and Low Pass. And what difference it makes
well as the name suggests LPF stands for low pass filter and this prevents all the high frequencies from reaching the speakers as in the subs which require only LF..whereas the HPF which stands for high pass filter does exactly the opposite..hope that helps..
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2005, 17:58   #12
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: kolkata
Posts: 25
Thanked: 0 Times
Default problem solved

first of all thanks to all who put in their time to help me out... actually couldnt reply coz i was too much upset with the problem as nobody wsa being able to track the root... any way... actually it was foolish of me also that it did,nt come to my mind... the tthing was basically the alternator... the cutout gave way and the voltage was quite high which essentially was turning off the rear part of the sys.. which goes via the amp..... will keep in mind next time some thing of this type happens!!!!.... bye and a happy diwali to all of you
amitava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2005, 20:16   #13
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitava
first of all thanks to all who put in their time to help me out... actually couldnt reply coz i was too much upset with the problem as nobody wsa being able to track the root... any way... actually it was foolish of me also that it did,nt come to my mind... the tthing was basically the alternator... the cutout gave way and the voltage was quite high which essentially was turning off the rear part of the sys.. which goes via the amp..... will keep in mind next time some thing of this type happens!!!!.... bye and a happy diwali to all of you
well congrats on solving the problem buddy..well that happens sometimes here as u know we are the infamous derailers..
well we did kind of tell u partly what the problem was..we did mention that the amp must be going into protection..that can happen bcoz of many reasons..
1. the speakers might be driving the amp very hard..
2. the grounding might not be right..
3. like u said there could be a prob with the battery or the alternator..
4. it could have been because of the tri-mode..
5. the current limitation that navin mentioned about..
basically its difficult to say which of these will be the cause of the problem without seeing it..anyways now that its rectified im sure ur back to enjoying ur music and thats all that matters..
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2005, 20:26   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 15
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

dude i can help you out with it...

do get ur RCA jacks checked up
and the EARTHING CABLE u installed change the position as carbon is formed after sometime of usage

dnt worry dis problem is prominent in heavy systems wid speaker connections so either ur left and right speakers turns off and on .. do it up ur 99% problem is solved
take care
TEAM R.A.R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2005, 21:28   #15
BHPian
 
Autophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 930
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

If there is deposits at the grounding point use a sand paper to get rid of them...no need to change the grounding point. Though this situation is very difficult to arise anywhere in the car apart from battery terminal. And in 99.9% of the cases the audio amplifiers are grounded on the chassis not the battery.
Autophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q! Sam Kapasi In-Car Entertainment 13577 11th December 2017 18:05
Pioneer exits from Home Audio-Video & DJ Business. To focus on Car Audio iVento Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 23rd September 2014 12:52
Audio in TV less costlier than car audio? LNG In-Car Entertainment 4 2nd August 2010 12:11
Car Audio for Baleno shobhit15 In-Car Entertainment 56 27th October 2005 12:14


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:13.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks