Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th July 2010, 13:18   #61
BHPian
 
whizzkid_ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 167
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

@thelord

Bro, along with the query in the previous post, Do you know what's the maximum capacity of the external USB harddisk that can be connected with our Kenny Excelon players?
whizzkid_ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 13:45   #62
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whizzkid_ram View Post
@thelord

Bro, along with the query in the previous post, Do you know what's the maximum capacity of the external USB harddisk that can be connected with our Kenny Excelon players?
I have used 160GB and 250 GB HDD's with kenwood. Make sure that the HDD's are 2.5" ones. Kenwood didn't detected my 160GB 3.5" HDD, where as my friends 160 GB 3.5" played flawlessly.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 18:06   #63
BHPian
 
whizzkid_ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 167
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
I have used 160GB and 250 GB HDD's with kenwood. Make sure that the HDD's are 2.5" ones. Kenwood didn't detected my 160GB 3.5" HDD, where as my friends 160 GB 3.5" played flawlessly.
I planned to buy the Transcend 320 GB which costs 3500 bux. I doubt whether its 2.5" or 3.5". How your friend's 160 GB 3.5" alone played flawlessly unlike yours? Both are same na?

Transcend 320 GB Portable HDD
whizzkid_ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 23:14   #64
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whizzkid_ram View Post
I planned to buy the Transcend 320 GB which costs 3500 bux. I doubt whether its 2.5" or 3.5". How your friend's 160 GB 3.5" alone played flawlessly unlike yours? Both are same na?

Transcend 320 GB Portable HDD
Maybe because I was using WD 3.5" HDD in a transcend casing where as my friends WD was in original WD casing.

I think StoreJet is 2.5" so it should work fine with USB power of the HU.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 23:35   #65
BHPian
 
thelord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 278
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whizzkid_ram View Post

@thelord

Did some experimentation with TA. Dunno its accurate but somehow trusted my ears

Front Left & Right - 1.77 ft
Rear Left & Right - 4.4 ft
Subwoofer - 4.5 ft

There is also Car speaker setup under the Detailed setup in Audio apart from DTA menu. I've kept the same DTA setting in Car speaker setup too.
Nice! I have disabled the rear speakers in my setup. But will try these settings someday!
I'd say keep this setting for a week or two and then experiment again to see if the imaging improves or deteriorates.
thelord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2010, 00:21   #66
BHPian
 
whizzkid_ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 167
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Maybe because I was using WD 3.5" HDD in a transcend casing where as my friends WD was in original WD casing.

I think StoreJet is 2.5" so it should work fine with USB power of the HU.
Its 2.5" & a SATA HDD. I want to know only, maximum capacity of harddisk that Kenny could take. If i buy 320 GB & it doesn't detect, thats it

Quote:
Originally Posted by thelord View Post
Nice! I have disabled the rear speakers in my setup. But will try these settings someday!
I'd say keep this setting for a week or two and then experiment again to see if the imaging improves or deteriorates.
Yes thanx.
whizzkid_ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2010, 10:39   #67
BHPian
 
whizzkid_ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 167
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Guys, I need some help. I bought Seagate 500 GB 2.5" HDD yesterday. The file system on the HDD is NTFS. How to make it to FAT32 file system to make it work with Kenny X994 as the HU only supports FAT.

As I'm using Windows 7, I think there is no option to change it to FAT in the FORMAT section. OR, any other options available in Win 7 to change it to FAT ?

When I connect it as NTFS, it reads & shows N/A Device

Last edited by whizzkid_ram : 13th July 2010 at 10:42.
whizzkid_ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2010, 11:52   #68
BHPian
 
sathee46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 465
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Incidentally i bought a 1tb HDD yesterday and bumped into the FAT32 problem. I got it converted to FAT32 with this

DiscWizard | Seagate
sathee46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2010, 15:05   #69
BHPian
 
whizzkid_ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 167
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sathee46 View Post
Incidentally i bought a 1tb HDD yesterday and bumped into the FAT32 problem. I got it converted to FAT32 with this

DiscWizard | Seagate
I have converted mine too to FAT32. Have you made the total available 1 TB as logical partition or made the Total 1 TB to primary partition?

Does your Alpine 117 detect your HDD flawlessly?

Last edited by whizzkid_ram : 13th July 2010 at 15:07.
whizzkid_ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2010, 16:46   #70
BHPian
 
sathee46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 465
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whizzkid_ram View Post
I have converted mine too to FAT32. Have you made the total available 1 TB as logical partition or made the Total 1 TB to primary partition?

Does your Alpine 117 detect your HDD flawlessly?
It's not for my car, I'm using the HDD for streaming videos in my home theater. I use just the Ipod for the car.
sathee46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2010, 16:48   #71
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 719
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Hey whizzkid ram!
Nowhere in your thread could I find a review of your setup. I am basically concerned about the Auditor 4 Channel Amp
abhipuru16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2010, 17:17   #72
BHPian
 
whizzkid_ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 167
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sathee46 View Post
It's not for my car, I'm using the HDD for streaming videos in my home theater. I use just the Ipod for the car.
Hmmm. I have just hooked my 500 GB HDD to kenny after making it to FAT32 & it reads & goes to standby mode & again reads, again standby mode and at last plays the tracks. While playing the tracks suddenly it goes to standby mode and starts playing the tracks from first.

It gets difficult to detect the large volume it seems. Thank almighty, I already own 32GB Pen Drive to hook up with the X994 & it plays flawlessly & the newly bought HDD goes for PC & Home theater purpose now.


@ Abhipuru16

Will reply to your pm in a while.

Last edited by whizzkid_ram : 13th July 2010 at 17:20.
whizzkid_ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2010, 13:49   #73
BHPian
 
whizzkid_ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 167
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

For the guys running Kenny players, this may be helpful...

Audio file specification & USB device usage
whizzkid_ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2010, 16:00   #74
BHPian
 
whizzkid_ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 167
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Dear Bhpians, Where could i get the Steering wheel remote control for my Kenny Excelon X994 HU in chennai?. Do i need to purchase Steering wheel control module too along with?

If not available in chennai, could you suggest me an authorized place of buy, so that i can get it shipped to my place by paying online.
whizzkid_ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2010, 00:17   #75
Senior - BHPian
 
Gilead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 2,140
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whizzkid_ram View Post
E) FOCAL Solid 1 600W Monoblock - 17 k
You have been ripped off on this item. Focal Solid 1 is available for 13K with B&W right here in Chennai. 13K if you know the dealer. 14K otherwise. You have paid close to MRP.

And looking at the list of items that you have purchased, it looks like you went in for a rear heavy 'loud' system and compromised a bit on the front soundstage. Are you happy with the sound?

Last edited by Gilead : 9th August 2010 at 00:27.
Gilead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
economy diesel duel: Maruti Ritz DDiS vs Suzuki Swift DDis vs Vista quadrajet aura. s_pphilip Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 25 29th October 2009 09:43
Swift DDiS vs Ritz DDiS vs iKool ? anoovis Hatchbacks 1 21st October 2009 13:09


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:17.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks