Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th July 2010, 01:29   #1
BHPian
 
TheStig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Trivandrum/Dubai
Posts: 162
Thanked: 129 Times
Smile Toyota Fortuner ICE Upgrade - Need advice and suggestions!!

Hello everyone!

I booked a black Toyota Fortuner through Nippon Toyota Trivandrum yesterday.

But I have a few queries regarding the audio system.
The Fortuner comes with a 2 DIN 6 CD changer audio system. It also has steering mounted audio controls.

Now I am not at all happy with what Toyota is providing. I already have a Kenwood 2 DIN touchscreen system which I bought sometime back for my Innova (but never fixed it).

When I told the salesman that I wished to change the audio system with the new Kenwood head unit and change all speakers to component speakers, the guy said that it is not possible to do this on the Fortuner. I wonder why.

My question is: Is the saleman talking any sense?
Secondly, suppose I succeed in installing the sound system, will I still be able to use the steering mounted audio controls?
TheStig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2010, 20:33   #2
BHPian
 
Champion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai / Madraspattinam
Posts: 155
Thanked: 40 Times
Default

Hello TheStig, congrats on the new buy. I have booked mine in Super White the day before with Lanson Toyota, Chennai. But alas the delivery is scheduled for the 1st week of March 2011.

Now coming to the issue in hand, you will find most queries answered in the ICE section and it would be ideal to browse through the same. But otherwsie, you could get a sensor installed which will make your steering controls operational. For a little more info, check out this thread http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...fications.html (Toyota Fortuner- Modifications.).

Cheers
Champion
Champion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2010, 21:34   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
tsk13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,233
Thanked: 278 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStig View Post
Hello everyone!

I booked a black Toyota Fortuner through Nippon Toyota Trivandrum yesterday.

But I have a few queries regarding the audio system.
The Fortuner comes with a 2 DIN 6 CD changer audio system. It also has steering mounted audio controls.

Now I am not at all happy with what Toyota is providing. I already have a Kenwood 2 DIN touchscreen system which I bought sometime back for my Innova (but never fixed it).

When I told the salesman that I wished to change the audio system with the new Kenwood head unit and change all speakers to component speakers, the guy said that it is not possible to do this on the Fortuner. I wonder why.

My question is: Is the saleman talking any sense?
Secondly, suppose I succeed in installing the sound system, will I still be able to use the steering mounted audio controls?
The Stig, congrats on booking the Fortuner. You can very well change the HU as per your choice and components can be installed but a piece of advice here, get the ICE done from a Pro.

Moreover, this thread is parked in the wrong section. Ask the Gurus is the right section and you would get better answers there, detailed and to the point. Looking forward to your ownership thread.
tsk13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2010, 22:55   #4
BHPian
 
Repsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 198
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

@TheStig : Congrats for your new fortuner !! As far as upgrading the ICE is concerned, you can very much change the entire ICE setup including the stock integrated HU which comes with the vehicle. I would suggest you to go through the range of HU offered by Caska. They are very much like any stock integrated HU but with more feature like touchscreen displays, Navigation, etc. Go through the ICE section of T-BHP and look out for Caska HU in google.
Repsol is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2010, 13:13   #5
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Stig
Welcome to fortuner club mate. Now CASKA has a dealer in cochin. The name is Media Team solutions india pvt ltd. And they have stock of Fortuner, civic, corolla and other brands. I went there 2 days back for checking the system. The quality seems to be good. The tactile feel is great. They gave me a detailed demo in their Civic. The only bad thing is the price. Its 47000inr. Add Rs 11000 for TPMS and Rs.9000 for ipas and you are done...
Cheers
Dilip
dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2010, 00:49   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,099
Thanked: 157 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dilipkumar7278 View Post
Stig
Welcome to fortuner club mate. Now CASKA has a dealer in cochin. The name is Media Team solutions india pvt ltd. And they have stock of Fortuner, civic, corolla and other brands. I went there 2 days back for checking the system. The quality seems to be good. The tactile feel is great. They gave me a detailed demo in their Civic. The only bad thing is the price. Its 47000inr. Add Rs 11000 for TPMS and Rs.9000 for ipas and you are done...
Cheers
Dilip
So I wrote to the email ids (2 of them) I found on their website (http://www.caska.in/index_files/Page409.htm) and also tried calling them last Saturday. After 4 days of wait, no answer. If I do manage to purchase this, wonder what the post sales will be like.

Last edited by Buffetfan : 12th August 2010 at 00:51.
Buffetfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2010, 01:08   #7
BHPian
 
TheStig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Trivandrum/Dubai
Posts: 162
Thanked: 129 Times
Default

The salesman did mention that Toyota is now offering a 2 DIN touchscreen system with MapMyIndia navigation. I'm not sure about this.
But I wonder if its this Caska brand they are offering. Is Caska an OEM for Toyota? I checked out their website and everything seems to be made exclusively for certain models!
TheStig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 07:00   #8
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default Caska

Stig
The showroom in cochin has both Motevo and Caska on display. The guy said that Caska is a better option. Having seen both I also feel the build quality and functions are better in Caska.(TPMS,OBD). The price is a bit on the higher side. But one accessories shop here offered me the same for around 40K.I will confirm it and let you know..
Cheers


uote=TheStig;2022478]The salesman did mention that Toyota is now offering a 2 DIN touchscreen system with MapMyIndia navigation. I'm not sure about this.
But I wonder if its this Caska brand they are offering. Is Caska an OEM for Toyota? I checked out their website and everything seems to be made exclusively for certain models![/quote]
dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 07:02   #9
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Hi
Now there website is www.caskaindia.com and not the one you mentioned...
Cheers
Dilip




Quote:
Originally Posted by Buffetfan View Post
So I wrote to the email ids (2 of them) I found




on their website (Products) and also tried calling them last Saturday. After 4 days of wait, no answer. If I do manage to purchase this, wonder what the post sales will be like.
dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICE upgrade for Toyota Fortuner TheStig In-Car Entertainment 30 22nd November 2015 13:32
Need ICE Upgrade advice for Ford Fiesta. ZeRo© In-Car Entertainment 15 21st June 2014 21:21
Toyota Fortuner vs Upcoming Face-Lifted Toyota Fortuner dkaile SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 45 12th August 2011 22:20
Help, need advice on Ice upgrade ! DRAGONLORD In-Car Entertainment 16 14th November 2008 19:01
Need Advice: Esteem ICE upgrade+new installs Flintstones In-Car Entertainment 9 26th February 2008 21:01


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:55.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks