Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th October 2010, 14:52   #46
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
***UPDATES***

What should I look for in terms of decent wiring? I don't want to spend too much on this. Like below 3k would be good.

Also, I want to disconnect my subwoofer from the amp and connect it directly to the HU.

Can someone please clarify if I can connect my woof to the HU directly? And also about the wiring kit.

Thanks as usual.
Get rid of the BOSS.. invest in Finolex/Havells. 4 gauge or 8 gauge. They are dirt cheap when compared to "big hi-fi brands". ~ app 100-150 per meter. Upgrade power/ground. Upgrade your RCAs.

If you connect the woofer to HU, you'll fry the HU.

Best possible use is to run the fronts off the channels 1 & 2. Rears from the HU, and the sub off the bridged channels 3 & 4.

As I pointed earlier, you need a new sub box to get the max.
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2010, 16:46   #47
BHPian
 
ByDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 438
Thanked: 240 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Get rid of the BOSS.. invest in Finolex/Havells. 4 gauge or 8 gauge. They are dirt cheap when compared to "big hi-fi brands". ~ app 100-150 per meter. Upgrade power/ground. Upgrade your RCAs.

If you connect the woofer to HU, you'll fry the HU.

Best possible use is to run the fronts off the channels 1 & 2. Rears from the HU, and the sub off the bridged channels 3 & 4.

As I pointed earlier, you need a new sub box to get the max.
But I'm guessing Finolex and Havells aren't available with the usual car decor chaps. These sound like brands I could get in an electricals/hardware store.

download2live, for whatever cars my family/I own, we've never, ever, used rear seat belts. I know about the safety aspect, but I don't think I can convince anyone who uses the back seat in my family to use the seat belt.
ByDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2010, 17:43   #48
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
... fake JBL wiring kit doing the rounds in Lajpat Nagar market. Is this true? What should I look for in terms of decent wiring? I don't want to spend too much on this. Like below 3k would be good.
Possible, and now you will not be able to trust it even if it is genuine!
* For power wiring, get any domestic wiring cable - Havell, L&T, etc. of the required gauge, preferably with teflon coating
* Ask your installer to get only the RCA cables - Kicker, Scosche etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
... Can someone please clarify if I can connect my woof to the HU directly? ...
No, you should not. You can, but
- you need to mount the sub behind your headrest to hear any bass
- you risk sending the HU up in smoke, since the total impedance will be less than what the HU amp can handle
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2010, 17:47   #49
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
But I'm guessing Finolex and Havells aren't available with the usual car decor chaps. These sound like brands I could get in an electricals/hardware store.
You will not find these in usual car-decor shops, unless they want to sacrifice the killing they make on selling "hi-fi" brands.

They are professional industrial grade cables (atleast my 0 gauge Finolex), and would be available in a reputed electrical store around some industrial area.

I suggest you contact LBM.. he was the one who took me to a shop selling those.
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2010, 17:50   #50
BHPian
 
GT500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 101
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Get rid of the BOSS.. invest in Finolex/Havells. 4 gauge or 8 gauge. They are dirt cheap when compared to "big hi-fi brands". ~ app 100-150 per meter. Upgrade power/ground. Upgrade your RCAs.

If you connect the woofer to HU, you'll fry the HU.

Best possible use is to run the fronts off the channels 1 & 2. Rears from the HU, and the sub off the bridged channels 3 & 4.

As I pointed earlier, you need a new sub box to get the max.
I totally agree with Panky here:-

Though some points from my side:-

1.Salvage the fuse box+ fuse from the Old kit and use it, Its important to use the fuse for the reasons which are pretty obvious.

2.The finolex/havells wire is multi strand ( many-many copper wires )not a single thick copper wire, make sure you dont forget this while purchasing this at a local electrical store.

3.From what I have gathered from the forum , the 4 Gauge is equivalent to 25 sq. mm , Buy this, I know its an overkill since you require only 8 gauge but it'll work out to be really cheap+ If in the future you plan to add an amp you'll not be investing again in wire again.( though you can go with 10 sq mm also if saving cash is priority)

4.Use a good sub box made of MDF, It's really important to extract max thump by giving a right environment for the sub to operate in.
Making it is actually very easy.Just dig out the manual for the sub you have on the internet and look up recommended enclosure volume and then you can calculate the bix dimensions and get it built by the local carpenter.
My future sub box project :- http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do...ml#post2104528
( you can do this after you have sorted out the whines and screams LOL)

Cheers

GT
GT500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2010, 21:31   #51
BHPian
 
ByDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 438
Thanked: 240 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Get rid of the BOSS.. invest in Finolex/Havells. 4 gauge or 8 gauge. They are dirt cheap when compared to "big hi-fi brands". ~ app 100-150 per meter. Upgrade power/ground. Upgrade your RCAs.

If you connect the woofer to HU, you'll fry the HU.

Best possible use is to run the fronts off the channels 1 & 2. Rears from the HU, and the sub off the bridged channels 3 & 4.

As I pointed earlier, you need a new sub box to get the max.
Putting aside the woofer box for now, I'll buy me some meters of 4 gauge Havells from my local hardware shop. Next, I'll repeat exactly what you said about the channels and woof bridging to the guy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
* Ask your installer to get only the RCA cables - Kicker, Scosche etc.
I spoke to the guy, what he told me was "kicker and scosche aren't made anymore" which sounds like absolute crap. I've had it with this place, I'm going there one LAST time to re-wire, get my noise filter money back, and I'm out of there, never to be seen again. Period.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gt500 View Post
I totally agree with Panky here:-

2.The finolex/havells wire is multi strand ( many-many copper wires )not a single thick copper wire, make sure you dont forget this while purchasing this at a local electrical store.

3.From what I have gathered from the forum , the 4 Gauge is equivalent to 25 sq. mm , Buy this, I know its an overkill since you require only 8 gauge but it'll work out to be really cheap+ If in the future you plan to add an amp you'll not be investing again in wire again.( though you can go with 10 sq mm also if saving cash is priority)
About what you said regarding multi strand etc. Ok, so what I see on the amp apart from the power cable and the RCA's are several thin white wires going into the channel sockets 1, 2, 3 and 4. What are these wires, do I need to upgrade these as well?

Thanks guys. I hope I pull through this on saturday. I'm really getting tired of trying again and again.

PS: My front compos are dead. It's just the rear ovals and sub woofer that seem to be working. I turned my rear ovals off and put all the volume bias to the front. No sound at all. Just the sub woof thumping to the bass. Tweeters aren't making any sound either, but the tweeters seem to be working when the rear ovals are on? This just keeps getting worse.
ByDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2010, 00:01   #52
BHPian
 
GT500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 101
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
Putting aside the woofer box for now, I'll buy me some meters of 4 gauge Havells from my local hardware shop. Next, I'll repeat exactly what you said about the channels and woof bridging to the guy.



I spoke to the guy, what he told me was "kicker and scosche aren't made anymore" which sounds like absolute crap. I've had it with this place, I'm going there one LAST time to re-wire, get my noise filter money back, and I'm out of there, never to be seen again. Period.



About what you said regarding multi strand etc. Ok, so what I see on the amp apart from the power cable and the RCA's are several thin white wires going into the channel sockets 1, 2, 3 and 4. What are these wires, do I need to upgrade these as well?

Thanks guys. I hope I pull through this on saturday. I'm really getting tired of trying again and again.
@ Bydesign

1.As mentioned by everyone Change the Power wire, Change the ground wire, 4 Gauge , Use an adequate fuse along with this.

2.Change the RCA, buy only genuine! Rockford Fosgate, kicker, Scoche Etc. THIS is VERY crucial To get rid of the whine

3.The white wires are the amplified speaker output( wires that carry the sound from the amp to the speaker)I dont think these cause the whine BUT they should be reasonably thick in order to carry the adequate signal from amp to speaker, Invest in them.

4.And last of all , change your installer, he doesn't seem to solve your problem in one go. Either he is not able to figure out the problem area or he is not competent enough, Try pallika bhavan near RK puram Ive heard there are one or two shops who are authorized dealers of many brands, and stock brands like rockford fosgate, again insist on bill from where ever you buy.

Cheers and good luck with your trouble shooting mission.


GT
GT500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2010, 00:30   #53
BHPian
 
GT500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 101
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gt500 View Post
@ Bydesign

1.As mentioned by everyone Change the Power wire, Change the ground wire, 4 Gauge , Use an adequate fuse along with this.
GT
I could not edit my above post as the time limit expired.

Anyways, just thought I should add this:-
The 4 guage cable , I think its trade name is single core flexible wire 25 sq MM Insulated Industrial Cable, CONFIRM THIS, as I'm not 100% sure about the trade name.But I'm pretty sure this is it.


GT
GT500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2010, 10:46   #54
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
1. I spoke to the guy, what he told me was "kicker and scosche aren't made anymore"

2. PS: My front compos are dead. It's just the rear ovals and sub woofer that seem to be working. I turned my rear ovals off and put all the volume bias to the front. No sound at all. Just the sub woof thumping to the bass. Tweeters aren't making any sound either, but the tweeters seem to be working when the rear ovals are on? This just keeps getting worse.
1. Sam would go mad laughing if he reads this.

2. A classic case of wrong (jugaad-type) wiring. The "ustaadji" installer has no clue as to how to wire the things. I suggest you do some basic research on the wiring so as to give you a clue where excatly things are headings to..
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2010, 11:32   #55
BHPian
 
ByDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 438
Thanked: 240 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
1. Sam would go mad laughing if he reads this.

2. A classic case of wrong (jugaad-type) wiring. The "ustaadji" installer has no clue as to how to wire the things. I suggest you do some basic research on the wiring so as to give you a clue where excatly things are headings to..
LOL @ ustaadji!!
Alright. Quick update fellows - I spoke to Gaurav from Ahuja Car Decor once more. He told me he has an original JBL wiring kit for Rs. 1600 and he says they're 8 gauge. He also told me upon my questioning whether they were original that I could get them verified from anywhere. Inputs?
ByDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2010, 12:26   #56
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
LOL @ ustaadji!!
Alright. Quick update fellows - I spoke to Gaurav from Ahuja Car Decor once more. He told me he has an original JBL wiring kit for Rs. 1600 and he says they're 8 gauge. He also told me upon my questioning whether they were original that I could get them verified from anywhere. Inputs?
Avoid. Use Finolex instead. You cant be sure even after looking at them.(I'm trying to save you a trip)
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2010, 12:51   #57
BHPian
 
ByDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 438
Thanked: 240 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Avoid. Use Finolex instead. You cant be sure even after looking at them.(I'm trying to save you a trip)
I sms'd low bass makker. I'm waiting for a reply. Also, I went through this huge 'fake JBL wiring kit' thread. Apparently the fake ones are notorious in Lajpat Nagar, and cost about Rs 1500. The only original JBL wiring kit costs about 3k which sounds more like it. So in all probability, the JBL one Gaurav told me about is fake.

By the by Mr. Panky, even when I do get the finolex power cables, I'll still need good RCA's/other wiring. And I'm supposing Driven is the only decent place that does good installation. So I might as well get the whole wiring kit from Driven.
ByDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2010, 13:00   #58
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
And I'm supposing Driven is the only decent place that does good installation.

So I might as well get the whole wiring kit from Driven.
What makes you think so? There are many decent places around.. or I should put in the other way.. get hold of a knowledgable guy and get it done at any of the places. As long as you (and most importantly, the other guy) know whats being done and why.. you'll be all right!!

You earlier pointed out that Driven was horribly expensive, do you still plan to go there? Your problems are not as bad as they appear to you. (you'll get to learn a lot this way, trust me!)
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2010, 14:04   #59
BHPian
 
ByDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 438
Thanked: 240 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
What makes you think so? There are many decent places around.. or I should put in the other way.. get hold of a knowledgable guy and get it done at any of the places. As long as you (and most importantly, the other guy) know whats being done and why.. you'll be all right!!

You earlier pointed out that Driven was horribly expensive, do you still plan to go there? Your problems are not as bad as they appear to you. (you'll get to learn a lot this way, trust me!)
Monseur Panky! I spoke to Low Bass Makker. He explained everything I needed to know, and I'm happy already! I told him my entire setup and problems, and he was of the opinion that I don't need a whole new wiring kit at all. The ONLY thing I need, according to him was good RCA cables. I've been told where I can get them. A quick question would be, how many RCA cables do I need? 2 right? The brands I've been recommended were the usual run of the mill good stuff, fosgate, scosche, kicker etc.

He also explained in depth how I need to set up the whole thing (wiring wise) which was indeed helpful. I'll buy the RCA cable(s) and tell Gaurav exactly how I want it fixed. I'm REALLY hoping this will fix my problem. Low bass maker (I can't remember the gentleman's name!) said with the amp I have, I don't need anything better than BOSS power cables. It's just the RCA that could cause problems (alternator whine).

Anyway, let's see how this goes.

Thanks all the way Panky and to your associate too
ByDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2010, 17:05   #60
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
A quick question would be, how many RCA cables do I need? 2 right? The brands I've been recommended were the usual run of the mill good stuff, fosgate, scosche, kicker etc.

I'm REALLY hoping this will fix my problem.
Low bass maker (I can't remember the gentleman's name!) said with the amp I have, I don't need anything better than BOSS power cables.

Thanks all the way Panky and to your associate too
Yes, you'll be needing 2 pair of RCAs. This should take care of your problems. LBM's name is Raghhvinder Singh, and he's one of the most knowledgable and helpful guys I've ever met. I guess you do need better power/ground cables. Buy Finolex, cheap and best. This would help in future upgrades as well.

You're welcome, none of the persons here are my associate(s). I'm NOT involved commercially anywhere with the ICE industry. All I have are just friends made off this lovely community, what we call Team-Bhp!
panky12345 is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Story of Going from Petrol (Palio 1.1) to Diesel (Palio MJD) ant_vas Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 13 8th November 2010 14:28
Swift VDI+ABS or Fiat Punto MJD or New Fabia 1.2 Diesel. Edit- Booked Fiat Punto MJD magnanimousdude Hatchbacks 59 27th October 2010 13:18
Indica Vista MJD vs Palio MJD vs Swift DDiS greenhorn The Indian Car Scene 452 24th April 2010 18:11
Palio 1.6 Sport Vs Palio MJD- pure economics zaks The Indian Car Scene 11 17th March 2008 14:22


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:04.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks