Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment

Old 3rd October 2010, 20:59   #1
BHPian

Default ICE'ing wrapping the Oyster

iGuys, *Happly ICED*

After days of reading posts/threads and endless discussions with ICE gurus, I have taken finally the plunge and wrapped my oyster with ICE. Being an ICE newbie I would like to thanks everyone who have helped me with this beautiful install.

ICE installation location: POWER ZONE (Royapetta)

Parts: HU was sourced from Chandru automobiles in GP road.

* A special thanks to Vijay aka Gilead for his detailed report on the above vendors.

History & Timeline: I was'nt really an audio buff. All I wanted as simple and sweet music. At the time when I was buying a new hatch for myself I was in a serious dilemma on deciding between the Magna and Sportz trims. After much of discussions I had picked Sportz trim thinking I would be satisfied with the OE HU. But after a few months I was extremely unsatisfied and disappointed with the quality of OE HU and the crappy OE speakers.

I finally decided it was time to talk with the ICE gurus which was followed by days of googling and understanding the terminologies. I called up Power Zone aka Saravana and asked him for his opinion on the grade. Saravana gave me some suggestions based on mu budget. He also said that he can make a custom dashkit for 3k but I wasnt convinced and told him that I would upgrade if and only if I can get the OE dashkit.

Vola! the very next day Saravana was able to source the entire dashkit for i10 magna (yes along with the clock) for 3.2K which I think is the cheapest. For all you know the entire dashkit costs a whooping 8k along with the clock. I got the Magna dashkit installed and my Oyster was ready for the ICE wrap.