Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th October 2010, 23:37   #1
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,762
Thanked: 6,670 Times
Default Honda Accord - Hissing Noise in Stock HU after adding an amp - Kinda Urgent Help

Today I got a small upgrade for the music system in my Accord. I went to B&T and got it installed.

Stock headunit
Alpine Type R 6.5" Compos in the Front and 6x9s in the Back
Focal Solid 4 amp running of speaker level inputs

Now the Problem
At lower volumes, or in between songs there is a hissing noise. It is reasonably noticeable at lower volumes. Of course when the volume is raised you cant hear it at all, and it is inaudible when the system is off.

Now B&T thinks its coming from the HU but he is also trying to figure out what it is.

At first he told me a processor might help but later said if its from the HU the processor probably wont help.

Do you guys have any other suggestions? Help will be really appreciated since I have to figure out what is the next step to take.

And no im not going around B&Ts back, he suggested I put up a thread here

Last edited by Akshay1234 : 26th October 2010 at 23:40.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 08:10   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,653
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Why dont you try reducing the gains on your amp??
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 12:27   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,762
Thanked: 6,670 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Why dont you try reducing the gains on your amp??
I can try that. But will using a line out converter or a processor help in any way?

Also do you guys have any other suggestions?
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 12:53   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Invinsible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,257
Thanked: 60 Times
Default

Akshay the problem could be with the hi to low converter.

2 things I would recommend.
1. Try changing Hi/low converter. I have faced problem coz of these in the past and I changed couple of them and rectified the problem.

2. I not sure if you using the high level input or rca input to the amp. I suggest you run the rca from one side of the car and power cables from the otherside to avoid the floor noise if that's the problem.
Invinsible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 13:05   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,762
Thanked: 6,670 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invinsible View Post
Akshay the problem could be with the hi to low converter.

2 things I would recommend.
1. Try changing Hi/low converter. I have faced problem coz of these in the past and I changed couple of them and rectified the problem.

2. I not sure if you using the high level input or rca input to the amp. I suggest you run the rca from one side of the car and power cables from the otherside to avoid the floor noise if that's the problem.
High level inputs are being used to run the amp.

Also this seems to be a very common problem with Honda/Acuras where ICE has been upgraded keeping the stock HU. Apparently one solution is to get the signal from the HU before the stock amp. Any idea how that would be done? Would that mean opening the HU and all?
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 13:32   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
blueraven316's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,109
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Does this hiss increase with the headlamps turned on ?
blueraven316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 13:34   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,762
Thanked: 6,670 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueraven316 View Post
Does this hiss increase with the headlamps turned on ?
Nope it dosent. Whether the engine is revved or not also makes no difference. At volume 0 there is no noise but from volume 1 it is constant, and does not get louder with the volume raised.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 13:59   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

1. Which source is giving this problem - CDs, FM, Aux-in? Or is the noise present from all sources?
2. Does your HU have Dolby (would have the symbol on the front plate)?
3. Does your HU have a mechanism for setting volume of individual source?

The problem is in the HU, and is most likely due to high gain inside the HU for the audio signal - as B&T said, an external processor will not make a difference unless it has a Dolby compander.

If nothing else works, the only solution is to change the resistor values in the LoC - reduce the signal going to the amp and turning up amp gain a little bit to compensate.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 14:21   #9
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 317
Thanked: 130 Times
Default

I would suggest you first flatten your eq bass treble loudness everything. Try different sources to see where it is most prominent.
Also try which pair of speakers its coming from. Only front then only back or all four. If you can get yourself a track that is blank. I.E. Does not have any sound and confirm with that for the presence of the sound. You can do this by using sound recorder on your comp and setting it to mic-in with nothing in the mic input or muting it. You could also ask B&T to try the amp somewhere else or try playing from an ipod into the amp. That's just to be sure the amp is not the culprit. And try moving the power wires away if possible.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 14:47   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,762
Thanked: 6,670 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
1. Which source is giving this problem - CDs, FM, Aux-in? Or is the noise present from all sources?
2. Does your HU have Dolby (would have the symbol on the front plate)?
3. Does your HU have a mechanism for setting volume of individual source?
1 - All sources. 2 - Nope, only says premium audio system. 3 - Nope

The problem is in the HU, and is most likely due to high gain inside the HU for the audio signal - as B&T said, an external processor will not make a difference unless it has a Dolby compander.

If nothing else works, the only solution is to change the resistor values in the LoC - reduce the signal going to the amp and turning up amp gain a little bit to compensate.
But no LOC is being used now. The amp is running on High level inputs. Do you think using an LOC will help?
Answered above in bold.

Quote:
Originally Posted by valhallen.282 View Post
I would suggest you first flatten your eq bass treble loudness everything. Try different sources to see where it is most prominent.
Also try which pair of speakers its coming from. Only front then only back or all four. If you can get yourself a track that is blank. I.E. Does not have any sound and confirm with that for the presence of the sound. You can do this by using sound recorder on your comp and setting it to mic-in with nothing in the mic input or muting it. You could also ask B&T to try the amp somewhere else or try playing from an ipod into the amp. That's just to be sure the amp is not the culprit. And try moving the power wires away if possible.
The noise is present with the eq flat too. It is coming from all speakers. And I am sure of the sound since it can be heard clearly at low volumes and in between tracks. So its not a ground issue, or a wiring issue.

This is a problem with all Honda/Acura HUs. On the net some have suggested taking a pre out from the main circuit board will help.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 14:55   #11
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 317
Thanked: 130 Times
Default

Try a separate high low converter then. That seems to be the only other solution. Does it come even if the speakers are not connected through the amp?
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 14:58   #12
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,762
Thanked: 6,670 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valhallen.282 View Post
Try a separate high low converter then. That seems to be the only other solution. Does it come even if the speakers are not connected through the amp?
Not tried that, but from other reports on the net it does come with aftermarket speakers even without an amp.

Ajay is also speaking to someone. Hopefully we will be able to come up with a solution for it.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 15:01   #13
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Try disconnecting each speaker input on amp and see.I used to face this and I found if was from RCA. I troubleshooted by taking each RCA pin off from amp.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 15:16   #14
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
I can try that. But will using a line out converter or a processor help in any way?
Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
Focal Solid 4 amp running of speaker level inputs
Try a line level connector (and line level inputs) - some speaker level inputs are prone to a little hiss.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
This is a problem with all Honda/Acura HUs. On the net some have suggested taking a pre out from the main circuit board will help.
You need to reasonably skilled with a soldering iron to do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Try disconnecting each speaker input on amp and see.I used to face this and I found if was from RCA. I troubleshooted by taking each RCA pin off from amp.
JK, right now there are no RCA connectors. The OEM HU's speaker level outputs are connected to the speaker level inputs on the amp.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 15:17   #15
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
Try a line level connector (and line level inputs) - some speaker level inputs are prone to a little hiss.



You need to reasonably skilled with a soldering iron to do that.



JK, right now there are no RCA connectors. The OEM HU's speaker level outputs are connected to the speaker level inputs on the amp.
Yah Navin and hence I asked him to take out each speaker level input out and try (unscrew each).
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get rid of hissing noise from after market amp? VEA In-Car Entertainment 22 6th February 2016 23:32
Elantra rare noise (hissing noise) Please help!! manne Technical Stuff 9 28th June 2010 09:24
Lancer - CNG conversion... Kinda urgent, Thanks yuv Modifications & Accessories 9 22nd July 2007 13:34
hissing noise from speakers when horn is blown gopz In-Car Entertainment 7 14th June 2007 13:40
K&N Filter hissing noise razor4077 Modifications & Accessories 4 6th November 2006 13:27


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:54.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks