Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th November 2010, 00:56   #16
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

@StreetAddict. I have used this Creative X-Fi. and i have mentioned in my car-pc thread zillion times that Please avoid any kind of USB soundcards as it is not practical with car-pc setup.
I have now switched to Onboard Realtek, I am seriously missing the output that i was getting from creative but again lots of issues were with hibernate and resuming.
So now i am living with onboard audio. :(

Are you getting loud pop-up from creative sound card whn windows resume ?

about line drivers. you can use this
Car Audio & Security: Car Stereo, Speakers & Subwoofers, Car DVD Players, GPS and CD Changers

Hardware Review: JL Audio CL-RLC volume controlled preamp - Page 3 - MP3Car.com
nisarg86 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2010, 02:06   #17
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
@StreetAddict. I have used this Creative X-Fi. and i have mentioned in my car-pc thread zillion times that Please avoid any kind of USB soundcards as it is not practical with car-pc setup.
I have now switched to Onboard Realtek, I am seriously missing the output that i was getting from creative but again lots of issues were with hibernate and resuming.
The only reason I got the X-Fi was because of the dedicated volume knob I get & thinking it would fix the low sound issue.

I am not facing any other issue except the loud thump when Windows boots up.
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2010, 02:59   #18
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetAddict View Post
The only reason I got the X-Fi was because of the dedicated volume knob I get & thinking it would fix the low sound issue.

I am not facing any other issue except the loud thump when Windows boots up.
do check that JL audio. I have discussed with soundman in past . it would work nicely with creative x-fi.

you can eliminate the start up thump by using relay. which driver version are you using? I am surprised that you are not facing any issues with hibernating and resuming ..
nisarg86 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2010, 15:59   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetAddict View Post
... the loud thump when Windows boots up.
I don't get a loud thump, more like gentle a 'khadak'. The soft start of the sound output even with on-board sound is a vexing issue on power up (independent of initial boot or restart from hibernate). Since the Power On signal to the MB is a an edge (has to be, since it is simulating a button press) that is not carried to the sound section, there is no way, at least not yet, that the sound device can do a soft-start. Don't know why the designers of the sound chips have not considered enabling the output transistors of the chip with a ramp at power up.

But, come to think of it, why does it only happen with 12VDC-powered setups and not desktop or laptop setups where the power and signal relationships are (supposed to be) the same?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2010, 17:11   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
But, come to think of it, why does it only happen with 12VDC-powered setups and not desktop or laptop setups where the power and signal relationships are (supposed to be) the same?
It happens on my HTPC setup.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2010, 22:29   #21
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
I don't get a loud thump, more like gentle a 'khadak'.
Amplify that khadak & you get the loud thump

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
But, come to think of it, why does it only happen with 12VDC-powered setups and not desktop or laptop setups where the power and signal relationships are (supposed to be) the same?
It happened on all PCs I've used till date.
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2010, 10:17   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
It happens on my HTPC setup.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetAddict View Post
... It happened on all PCs I've used till date.
Eh? Doesn't happen on any PC that I use / have used at home or office! Can't have anything to do with my luck, I am sure.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetAddict View Post
Amplify that khadak & you get the loud thump ...
It is already amplified!
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2010, 10:28   #23
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 315
Thanked: 129 Times
Default

I have that sound in all PC builds and some laptops too. That I have bought/built/used for me and my friends. It comes in at boot after post. Seems to be an init for the audio.

Have you tried the jammix plugin for winamp? It can be made to run as default for audio by setting up k-lite's codec control to run jammix as default for any sounds. It has quite a few tone and bass controls. It also has a seriously powerful compression module. Yes it will make stuff a little less 'original' but you will get loudness and a lot of bass and depth control. I use in with my panasonic in-ears and my htpc works nicely. And I would prefer it if you switched back to onboard audio seems to me like you have onboard 7.1. Why not use that?
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2010, 00:47   #24
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valhallen.282 View Post
And I would prefer it if you switched back to onboard audio seems to me like you have onboard 7.1. Why not use that?
It's onboard 5.1 & I was not impressed by the sound.


Anyways, I've ordered a PAC Turbo1 2-ch line driver. Will update this thread when I receive it
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 15:07   #25
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: About Line Drivers

@StreetAddict. Any update on line driver ?
nisarg86 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2011, 23:26   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default Re: About Line Drivers

a bit off topic, I recall that my audigy 2ZS had 2V outputs, and i imagine the XFi should have similar levels of drive,
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gumball Rally Start Line London BAD 130Y The International Automotive Scene 61 2nd November 2007 21:45
Formula 1 line ups for 2006 ?? Badcheetah Int'l Motorsport 32 3rd October 2005 18:04
An Amazing addition to the new Aston line GrimReaper The International Automotive Scene 0 5th November 2004 17:34
2005 F1 Driver line-up...so far. Rtech Int'l Motorsport 18 15th August 2004 12:01
red line navin Technical Stuff 8 16th April 2004 22:28


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:31.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks