Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th June 2013, 23:46   #46
Senior - BHPian
 
agambhandari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Delhi,Ludhiana
Posts: 1,182
Thanked: 900 Times
Default Re: Playing FLAC through Alpine HU

If the head unit can't do it, it can't do it. You can't USB Flac files then.

Converting FLAC to ALAC(Apple Lossless) seems like the best best.

Without converting the files, You can install Rockbox onto the iPod , then it can play FLAC files itself. I guess you will have to just use the Aux-in feature then.

Then why not use your existing phone to play it via Aux(you may not need to convert the files at all).

Regarding the MirrorLink, it may not work as you want, since the device would be reading the songs off the Phone, the head unit should have the codec to play the FLAC(which it doesn't). I suggest, you try a Friend/acquaintance's S3/Note 2 before getting one. (I may not be correct completely)

Last edited by agambhandari : 26th June 2013 at 23:48.
agambhandari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2013, 00:09   #47
VEA
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cochin
Posts: 144
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Re: Playing FLAC through Alpine HU

Thanks. Connecting the Aux in from ipod doesnt sound good, i guess the HU wont be able to control the ipod then plus the disadvantage of a poor connection. I would rather convert the files and use full ipod functionality. While using drive link, which device plays the files and which device's dac is used?
VEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2013, 00:34   #48
VEA
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cochin
Posts: 144
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Re: FLAC on my Head-Unit

An update on my trials. I bought a samsung s3, was able to connect to the Alpine HU via mirrorlink, and it plays flac too from the phone! Great so far. The sound quality is on par with an ipod playing lossless music i guess.
VEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 11:23   #49
BHPian
 
Prithvi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 301
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Re: FLAC on my Head-Unit

It is so surprising that none of the car headunit manufacturers have come out with players that can decode FLAC. Wish someone comes out with one.

Imagine a nice headunit with a slot of a 2-3TB Internal HDD and the amount FLAC music you can have on it.
Prithvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 16:22   #50
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Panjim, Goa
Posts: 362
Thanked: 156 Times
Default Re: FLAC on my Head-Unit

Found this HU which does play flac files, though it has only 1 RCA output...
http://www.kenwood.ca/Car_Entertainm...ivers/KMM-100U

and here's another JVC model-
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_105KWNT...22#details-tab

Last edited by Astleviz : 13th September 2013 at 16:33.
Astleviz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 17:31   #51
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 198
Thanked: 145 Times
Default Re: Playing FLAC through Alpine HU

Quote:
Originally Posted by agambhandari View Post
If the head unit can't do it, it can't do it.
Unless you can/know to flash the firmware with a new one which can.

Quote:
Converting FLAC to ALAC(Apple Lossless) seems like the best best.
That would cause a loss of quality, defeating the purpose of FLAC and ALAC!
amolbh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2014, 14:52   #52
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 15
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: FLAC on my Head-Unit

Would appreciated feedback from anyone that has found a headunit capable of playing FLAC. It seems that Kenwood X50BT can playback FLAC - has anyone tried this, or another unit.
MumbaiBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2014, 16:44   #53
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,221
Thanked: 1,168 Times
Default Re: FLAC on my Head-Unit

Pioneer 8690BT plays flac.

http://pioneer-india.in/shop/avh-x8690bt/
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2015, 13:43   #54
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Chennai
Posts: 20
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: Playing FLAC through Alpine HU

Quote:
Originally Posted by amolbh View Post
Unless you can/know to flash the firmware with a new one which can.
That would cause a loss of quality, defeating the purpose of FLAC and ALAC!
FLAC is lossless and ALAC is lossless I presume there should be no loss in quality unless you are converting to a lossy codec.
santhosharulvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JVC Head Unit Problem. revtech In-Car Entertainment 13 5th October 2015 12:05
Advice needed for playing FLAC files through ICE ZeroThoughts Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 24th September 2010 14:41
Can it happen?? - Replacing a 2 DIN Head Unit SRK In-Car Entertainment 9 8th May 2006 11:37
Need a DVD head-unit Sahil In-Car Entertainment 1 24th June 2005 13:43
Pioneer 5750 Head Unit neverclever In-Car Entertainment 4 14th June 2005 07:09


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:33.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks