Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th February 2011, 21:01   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by montyguru View Post
ajay, what's this new profession you've got into!!! mods, i'm not saying anything... i just copy pasted, honest, look what these guys are doing in the ICE thread.
Hahahahahahahaaaaa. That's just crazy!

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh
"He has speakers that can blow women clothes off" so my guess hes still in to Audio Industry.
I have no such thing. But if you want, you can hook me up.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 23:55   #17
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 57
Thanked: 127 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
otherwise i would have directly gone for the BLau PNP 555.
PNP 555 is a fantastic amp no doubt but you'll have trouble finding the harness to connet with your Palio's Stock HU. I tried it for the Manza and . So Scosche was the answer to my worries.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
the issue is the removal of amp and wiring professionally from alto and then hooking it up professionally in linea.
This should be easy, basically you need to unplug and remove the 75.4. I am not sure if you'd be able to re-use the cables in the Linea for the sheer length of the cables. You can get the amp removed in Pune, Get the front input swapped to your existing 2 channel and drive the Linea to B&T with your amp and Sub.
pawanarya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 00:03   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

how will this unit score.
its a line out converter with signal processing.

Hifonics MX-1 (mx1) - OEM Factory Sound Processor - Sonic Electronix
amit_mechengg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 10:12   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawanarya View Post
... you'll have trouble finding the harness to connet with your Palio's Stock HU. I tried it for the Manza and . ...
Harnesses are generally available for all cars with a Blaupunkt OE HU. Manza OE HU is not Blaupunkt, right?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 12:20   #20
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 57
Thanked: 127 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

DerAlte,

Nah!!! Manza HU is Blaupunkt. I enquired with a few authorized dealers in BLR and Delhi and they didnt have one. Same was the story for Linea harness too. not sure if the supply situation has changed.
pawanarya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 14:24   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawanarya View Post
PNP 555 is a fantastic amp no doubt but you'll have trouble finding the harness to connet with your Palio's Stock HU. I tried it for the Manza and . So Scosche was the answer to my worries.


This should be easy, basically you need to unplug and remove the 75.4. I am not sure if you'd be able to re-use the cables in the Linea for the sheer length of the cables. You can get the amp removed in Pune, Get the front input swapped to your existing 2 channel and drive the Linea to B&T with your amp and Sub.
i dont want to spend on buying a 555. ya i too heard wiring harness is a bit tough to find. the adapters itself cost 7500rs for the linea. and after doing this i will get just 200w on bridged channel.
my 75.4 does 284W rms across the channels to sub.

to get the amps and wiring redone for front i need to take it to some installer in pune which i am trying to avoid actually. the amp is firmly mounted on a wooden plank and then fixed to rear seats.
also i would have to do wiring for front compos in alto from the amp.

quite a fuss actually.

lets see what can be done. am getting in touch with Ajay.
amit_mechengg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 15:23   #22
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ludhiana
Posts: 197
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

amit ji get a high low converter .i am using that in my punto to connect my hu to the jbl gto 1004 amp. and there is no alternator whine.
if genesis high low converter is in your budget get it . it gives 5v 2 rca out with very clean sound plus it also gives a remote out to your amp .it is 6k .but worth it
rupinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2011, 14:29   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

hey guys how are the following components:

Rockford fosgate : P1652-S

Rockford Fosgate® - P1652-S

these components have a built in crossover in the speaker basket itself.

will it have any disadvantage?

any idea how do they score in mids?

Other option i was thinking is Infinity Ref 6030cs

Can anyone help in getting the prices of both?
amit_mechengg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2011, 01:47   #24
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 57
Thanked: 127 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
hey guys how are the following components:

Rockford fosgate : P1652-S
these components have a built in crossover in the speaker basket itself.
will it have any disadvantage?
Nopes, they still play within their frequency range so the short answer is No Disadvantage.

As for Infinity or Rockford or any other brand, make up your budget first and then go hunting. Also listen to the speakers and then decide. The sonic nature of each component varies so, get the ones that sound good to you.
pawanarya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2011, 11:35   #25
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,503
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
"He has speakers that can blow women clothes off"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
I have no such thing. But if you want, you can hook me up.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Harnesses are generally available
Hooks and Harnesses! Stop it guys I am getting strange distubing thoughts in my warped mind.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
these components have a built in crossover in the speaker basket itself.
usually such crossovers are pretty simple 1st order or 2nd order with no impendance compensation, notch filters or other correction applied.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2011, 23:02   #26
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Delhi
Posts: 227
Thanked: 64 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

any way to get rid of linea alternator whine with PnP 555 amp
Mindgrinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2011, 23:48   #27
BHPian
 
stefanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goa
Posts: 212
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
hey guys how are the following components:

Rockford fosgate : P1652-S

Rockford Fosgate® - P1652-S

these components have a built in crossover in the speaker basket itself.

will it have any disadvantage?

any idea how do they score in mids?

Other option i was thinking is Infinity Ref 6030cs

Can anyone help in getting the prices of both?
I had the previous variant of the rockfords, with 2 tweeters per woofer and they are probably the worst speakers i have ever heard, ended up running them in the passenger doors off the hu, just for some rear fill, they were extremely harsh, they were so bad that when I sold my Safari a couple of days back, I left them in the car after stripping out the rest! Please audition your speakers before you buy at lenghth, preferably with the same HU that you will be using. Make the right choice and you will use this gear for years, even if you change you're ride you will keep the same gear.
stefanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2011, 15:22   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanm View Post
I had the previous variant of the rockfords, with 2 tweeters per woofer and they are probably the worst speakers i have ever heard, ended up running them in the passenger doors off the hu, just for some rear fill, they were extremely harsh, they were so bad that when I sold my Safari a couple of days back, I left them in the car after stripping out the rest! Please audition your speakers before you buy at lenghth, preferably with the same HU that you will be using. Make the right choice and you will use this gear for years, even if you change you're ride you will keep the same gear.
thats a very valuable tip. i never know rockfords are harsh. its better i audition some varieties and then buy.

if i dont get a better stuff obviously again i will stick to the illusions.
they are awesome for the price we pay.

and the ground zero sub. i just love it. the way it pumps the bass, so soothing and perfect. i can never seperate it from my system.
amit_mechengg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 09:24   #29
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 105
Thanked: 13 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawanarya View Post
PNP 555 is a fantastic amp no doubt but you'll have trouble finding the harness to connet with your Palio's Stock HU. I tried it for the Manza and . So Scosche was the answer to my worries.
@pawanarya

Is there a Scosche harness available for Manza. If yes, then please advise about it as I also want to wire an Amp and install the JBL bass box and JBL GTOs
tajender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2011, 12:11   #30
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 57
Thanked: 127 Times
Default Re: Quest! ICEING the Linea using old amp and sub

Hi Tejender,

apologies for the late response, havent been checking the group lately. No there is no harness from Scosche but the Scosche Hi-Low converter can be used to convert the high level output to low level input for the amp though it might need you to cut the speaker wire. You can avoid cutting by taking the input from the speaker directly to the H/L converter which might be a lil tedious process.

There are some more available in the market based on what you prefer and will give you the option of controlling the frequencies at the converter itself. from what I've seen of the Linea OEM audio, u might want to upgrade the player to a better aftermarket, if not then you might have to do some level of sound processing to make the system sound decent. The sound output of the unit is not upto the mark and with just Bass and Treble controls on the OEM audio the thing gets even trickier.

Hope this helps.
pawanarya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Quest to Build the Ultimate 2nd gen Mitsubishi 3000GT (& Hello from the USA) Markingtime The International Automotive Scene 6 4th May 2013 16:37
Car pc using old laptop and LCD screen for santro haithereitsme In-Car Entertainment 8 7th November 2011 18:06
Quest to find perfect car for Indian roads and joint families :-) ScorpWarp Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 25 5th October 2009 16:35
Which one: Dual 8" sub V/s Single 10" sub? Invinsible In-Car Entertainment 53 28th May 2009 13:33
ground zero Sub vs image dynamics Sub rohanGT In-Car Entertainment 105 29th March 2009 05:01


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:21.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks