Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th July 2006, 09:38   #31
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiking
cda-560e has a single subwoofer preamp out. so i guess you can use a mono amp for the subwoofer..
1. thanks for the correction. I was given to understand that it does not have ANY preamps out.

2. Is this preamp out fullrange or is it only for subwoofers (via a Low Pass Filter)?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2006, 10:12   #32
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 28
Thanked: Once
Default

its only for subwoofer.

http://www.alpine.com.au/downloads/w.../CDA-W560E.pdf
wiking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 17:55   #33
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 223
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
Oz,

The 560 dont have preamps outputs. The cheaper way to do this is to get a speaker level adapter that will adapt your speaker output to be used with an external amp. This will not produce the same quality of sound if you had premap outputs but in your only other alternate would be change the HU (esp if you dont need cassette - the 560 is a 2 DIN Hu with casette and CD).
Hey navin,
doesnt amps nowadays come with inputs that can take speaker level outputs? cant he use that?

regards,
ant.
anToNIcHeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 22:05   #34
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

sure, just that using speaker level outs are not really a clean solution.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 22:50   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anToNIcHeN
Hey navin,
doesnt amps nowadays come with inputs that can take speaker level outputs? cant he use that?

regards,
ant.
which HU do u ?? and why do u want to connect the amp with speaker level inputs.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2006, 14:32   #36
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 223
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
sure, just that using speaker level outs are not really a clean solution.
why do you say that its not a clean solution?... You mean to say having RCA outputs are a clean solution?.... Clean in what way?... (Like some said... going too techincal would blackout the newbies... but dont worry... you can just shoot it)

regards,
ant.
anToNIcHeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2006, 15:40   #37
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 28
Thanked: Once
Default

when using speaker level inputs, the audio signal is already amplified by the HU. The amplifier has to work with this amplified signal. This signal is considered unclean. You never know what kind of noise (?) will be introduced by HU/speaker wires. If using RCA out, no amplification is done by HU. The amplifier takes this signal (considered pure ) and does its job.
wiking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2006, 14:00   #38
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

every level of processing/amplification adds some noise. The more your process a signal the more it will deviate from the orignal. I have heard speaker level outputs - connected to line level input via required adapters and thy are not bad. it is just that they dont sound as clean (transients esp) as if one used line level outputs.

Use speaker level outputs if that is your only option but just don expect the same quality of signal. Speaker level outputs are quite usable.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honda City, 4th generation i-Vtec - Our 3rd Honda City in 10 years Mevtec Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 11 14th March 2017 08:34
Honda City : A close look at the factory-fitted Audio, Video & Navigation System rajeshblue In-Car Entertainment 17 2nd June 2016 19:20
Replace Audio System in Honda City VTEC udit78 In-Car Entertainment 4 1st June 2009 20:09
BlueTooth Car Audio System + Security System venky6009 In-Car Entertainment 1 2nd November 2007 04:45
Audio install - Honda City VTEC wiking In-Car Entertainment 33 9th November 2006 23:36


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks