Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th April 2011, 15:56   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
naveen.raju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cochin
Posts: 3,624
Thanked: 2,789 Times
Default Re: PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit

Great install. As mentioned, I would suggest you to mount the mic on the A pillar so that your voice would be clear.I have attached the mic mounted on my car.
Attached Thumbnails
PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit-img00151201012301738.jpg  

naveen.raju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2011, 16:42   #17
BHPian
 
@tombum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 66
Thanked: 17 Times
Default Re: PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit

Superb stuff! The pics did help a lot! It made the install look so simple! Kudos!
@tombum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2011, 19:28   #18
BHPian
 
jtomhk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 27
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveen.raju View Post
Great install. As mentioned, I would suggest you to mount the mic on the A pillar so that your voice would be clear.I have attached the mic mounted on my car.
Yes. I have moved it to another location. Never got a complaint about audibility again. Attached is the pix of the new location.
PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit-mix.jpg

I have attached a pix of the new switch as well. Now its so easy to shut off and on now rather than put the HU in standby mode.
Easily reachable from driver seat.
PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit-switch1.jpg

A closer look at the cute switch
PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit-switch2.jpg

Its comfortably away from my foot as well as the door.
PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit-dooropen.jpg
jtomhk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2011, 09:57   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
naveen.raju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cochin
Posts: 3,624
Thanked: 2,789 Times
Default Re: PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtomhk View Post
Yes. I have moved it to another location. Never got a complaint about audibility again. Attached is the pix of the new location.
Attachment 531644

I have attached a pix of the new switch as well. Now its so easy to shut off and on now rather than put the HU in standby mode.
Easily reachable from driver seat.
Attachment 531645

A closer look at the cute switch
Attachment 531646

Its comfortably away from my foot as well as the door.
Attachment 531643
Good one. Now we know who to approach for future audio installs for free.
naveen.raju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2011, 01:32   #20
BHPian
 
jtomhk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 27
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveen.raju View Post
Good one. Now we know who to approach for future audio installs for free.
But be ready for a few blown fuses!
First got the HU 10A fuse blown. The wires (+ve) to the new switch accidently touched the GND. Didn't have spare. So took the 10A fuse of the boot lock actuator (F45, I think) since I think it's not used in Emotion. Blew that again somehow while putting the HU back to the cage. Got to be careful in future to disconnect the Batt as far as possible. This time took the Subwoofer fuse (F32?) - 15A though (wonder why this fuse is present at all). 'll buy some fuses this week - should've had some spares! Any idea whether these fuses have other purposes?
jtomhk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2011, 19:56   #21
BHPian
 
laxmanrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 129
Thanked: 57 Times
Default Re: PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit

Wow!

Awesome write up and very detailed pictures taken at the right moment showing the right thing!

I dont think I have even half of your patience and diligence to take pictures and add text to each photograph, making this such a lovely post!

I love the switch you have put and its inconspicuous location on the dash.

I am looking for a similar switch to put in my Figo for the extra fog lamps I have installed. If you could give me the details of the shop from where you bought the switch I can ask one of my cousins who lives in Trivandrum to buy and post me one. Thanks!
laxmanrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2011, 07:37   #22
BHPian
 
jtomhk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 27
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit

Quote:
Originally Posted by laxmanrk View Post
Wow!

Awesome write up and very detailed pictures taken at the right moment showing the right thing!

I dont think I have even half of your patience and diligence to take pictures and add text to each photograph, making this such a lovely post!

I love the switch you have put and its inconspicuous location on the dash.

I am looking for a similar switch to put in my Figo for the extra fog lamps I have installed. If you could give me the details of the shop from where you bought the switch I can ask one of my cousins who lives in Trivandrum to buy and post me one. Thanks!
Sorry, the switch is not from here. Not so sure if locally available. Got from eBay.co.uk Rocker switch is the keyword. There's a mega collection of many types.
jtomhk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2012, 17:21   #23
BHPian
 
sandeep3in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 202
Thanked: 42 Times
Default Re: PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtomhk View Post
Sorry, the switch is not from here. Not so sure if locally available. Got from eBay.co.uk Rocker switch is the keyword. There's a mega collection of many types.
Hi jtomhk,

Really liked the switch for the HU, did you connect the switch by yourself, if so, do you have the DIY instructions for the same. I would be happy to follow it as i have as well put in a JVC HU in my Punto Emotion and would require this switch.

Thanks.
sandeep3in is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2016, 00:30   #24
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 39
Thanked: 63 Times
Default Re: PICS & Details : Upgraded my Punto headunit

I have bought an used Grande Punto with aftermarket HU. The front door speaker is not working so I would like to check the connection between HU and front speaker.

Could anyone please guide me to remove the front fascia (the middle plastic frame) ?
gopi_rm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Punto 90HP ICE upgrade with PHD, DLS and JBL. EDIT: Upgraded HU to Clarion CZ703A CrAzY dRiVeR In-Car Entertainment 54 18th August 2016 12:13
DIY: Adding an AUX input to the post-2010 Fiat Grande Punto (Delphi Headunit) mnvvishwa In-Car Entertainment 9 1st October 2015 10:09


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:26.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks