Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff > DIY - Do it yourself


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th July 2014, 12:27   #16
Team-BHP Support
 
Gannu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Madras
Posts: 4,870
Thanked: 9,704 Times
Default Re: DIY: VW Polo - Removing / upgrading the instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajaypjayaraj View Post
Yep. It is pretty basic. There is a SRI reset button on the VCDS main screen. Attaching a screen shot.
Attachment 1268029
Resetting it to 15000/365 days can be done via the MFD menu in my case as well. I have to set it to a particular value which was as per the reminder from the stock cluster. Can this be done via VCDS?
Gannu_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2014, 12:29   #17
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 317
Thanked: 282 Times
Default Re: DIY: VW Polo - Removing / upgrading the instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
I am wondering why would the MFD control not working via the steering wheel mounted buttons?
Ideally it should work, it works in my car from the steering and the side stick as well, I am unsure why his is not working.

Cheers
The Saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2014, 12:33   #18
Team-BHP Support
 
Gannu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Madras
Posts: 4,870
Thanked: 9,704 Times
Default Re: DIY: VW Polo - Removing / upgrading the instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Saint View Post
Ideally it should work, it works in my car from the steering and the side stick as well, I am unsure why his is not working.

Cheers
From the controls on the left spoke?

Name:  201306120792.png
Views: 3578
Size:  664.5 KB
Gannu_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2014, 12:58   #19
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 317
Thanked: 282 Times
Default Re: DIY: VW Polo - Removing / upgrading the instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
From the controls on the left spoke?

Attachment 1268031
Oh I thought you have the R-line steering, apologies for the confusion.
The Saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2014, 14:34   #20
BHPian
 
ajaypjayaraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: KL
Posts: 920
Thanked: 1,064 Times
Default Re: DIY: VW Polo - Removing / upgrading the instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
Resetting it to 15000/365 days can be done via the MFD menu in my case as well. I have to set it to a particular value which was as per the reminder from the stock cluster. Can this be done via VCDS?
I haven't done it myself yet but have read somewhere that it is possible through VCDS. Will have to look deeper to find out how it is done, or else you can contact Sugesh. He should be able to guide you if any problems.
ajaypjayaraj is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2014, 16:15   #21
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 69
Thanked: 33 Times
Default Immo Reader for Instrument Cluster Swap

I bought the new VW Polo, 2014 facelift model. I am planning to upgrade the cluster to Maxidot.
I have access to VCDS but i don't have Immobiliser pin reader/writer.
I don't want to spend a lot on the tool but want something that i can use in future.
Please suggest me some good and inexpensive tool to read and write the Immo pin.
anarchy_99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 17:50   #22
Team-BHP Support
 
Gannu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Madras
Posts: 4,870
Thanked: 9,704 Times
Default Re: Immo Reader for Instrument Cluster Swap

Forgot to mention.

I had released the parking brake but that last bit was still not released and the car was gradually accelerating. Noticed that in addition to the red warning light on the cluster, the MFD throws a message: Release parking brake!

Neat touch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anarchy_99 View Post
Please suggest me some good and inexpensive tool to read and write the Immo pin.
I really have no idea about this anarchy_99. Really sorry about that. I was exactly in the same boat when I chose to do the upgrade. I could have sourced the GTI cluster from abroad but there was no way the immobiliser pin could be read from the old cluster and written into the new one. Thus, Vagtune was the only go. I am sure there may be other VAG based FNGs who can do this but do check out in your locality if there's any.
Gannu_1 is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2015, 10:53   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

My cluster is on its way. How much do you think Sugesh will charge for just reading and writing the new immobilizer pin? I can send both clusters to him once I get my new one.
Also, have spoken in VW. They said they might be able to help if it's an easy fit.
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2015, 10:59   #24
Team-BHP Support
 
Gannu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Madras
Posts: 4,870
Thanked: 9,704 Times
Default Re: VW Polo DIY: Removing / upgrading the instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
My cluster is on its way. How much do you think Sugesh will charge for just reading and writing the new immobilizer pin?
No clue Frank. Best to have a word with him regarding this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
Also, have spoken in VW. They said they might be able to help if it's an easy fit.
VW service centers can adapt the new clusters with the immobiliser and the keys. That's what they do when the stock clusters go bad and they need to install a new one in the car.
Gannu_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2015, 11:01   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

I'm just hoping my cluster can be fitted by VW itself.

Meanwhile.....
VW Polo DIY: Removing / upgrading the instrument cluster-1445319091436.jpg
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2016, 08:24   #26
BHPian
 
ventoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 293
Thanked: 165 Times
Default Re: VW Polo DIY: Removing / upgrading the instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
I'm just hoping my cluster can be fitted by VW itself.
Frank,
Did you manage to get this done?
I've ordered maxidot cluster in UK and will be picking it up shortly for installing in my Vento. Please share your experiences with VW service on this.
ventoman is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2016, 08:26   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default Re: VW Polo DIY: Removing / upgrading the instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by ventoman View Post
Frank,
Did you manage to get this done?
I've ordered maxidot cluster in UK and will be picking it up shortly for installing in my Vento. Please share your experiences with VW service on this.
Actually they did try to fit it for me. But my cluster was a used one
Also, the no of miles on it couldn't be reset.
NEVER buy a used cluster. The current option is only vagtune.
frankmehta is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2016, 08:33   #28
BHPian
 
ventoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 293
Thanked: 165 Times
Default Re: VW Polo DIY: Removing / upgrading the instrument cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
Actually they did try to fit it for me. But my cluster was a used one
Also, the no of miles on it couldn't be reset.
NEVER buy a used cluster. The current option is only vagtune.
Thanks for the swift response.
I thought SRI reset option was available as shown here.
ventoman is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2016, 08:38   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default Re: VW Polo DIY: Removing / upgrading the instrument cluster

Nope. That's not the one to reset the ODO. Even vw dealers don't have options to "clock" the newer cars.
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Used Parts (Instrument cluster- dials) ..? gary_yuen42 Modifications & Accessories 38 9th April 2014 13:31
can the colour of the in dash instrument cluster lights be changed??? mclaren1885 Modifications & Accessories 23 22nd August 2009 16:04
DIY - Blue instrument cluster & parking lights for Scorpio (2003 model, 1st gen) badboyscad DIY - Do it yourself 55 22nd December 2008 08:55
Settings gone after removing HU and removing key achopraa In-Car Entertainment 14 15th December 2007 22:18
Instrument cluster light change nikibusa Motorbikes 7 10th September 2005 09:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:57.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks