Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th January 2013, 15:07   #16
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 72
Thanked: 30 Times
Default Re: Intercom in the Office

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Do these apartments have a window that face each other? If they do, WiFi can be a solution.
Well these are in an adjacent buildings, so the windows dont face each other but yes they are in LOS . Check the attached picture

Quote:
Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
Isn't a voip solution based on ethernet over power lines available? Connections would be reliable compared to wifi and can be used for data also.
Pardon me , but does ethernet over power work for 2 different power supplies , i mean both flats have independent power lines

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
This may be an overkill for 30 meters, but I have been using it over 5 years.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...locations.html (How to connect two locations...)
Thanks, Samurai , i just read the solution here .
My idea is to have something as easy as click of a button since in family case not everyone is very tech savvy and may not go to switch on a pc before a call, they ll then prefer a mobile call. For instance my mother in Flat 1 may want to talk to a family member in Flat 2.
Attached Images
 
RaSing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 13:06   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Intercom in the Office

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaSing View Post
Well these are in an adjacent buildings, so the windows dont face each other but yes they are in LOS . Check the attached picture
In this case, you can easily use WiFi since you can see the Window in Flat 2 from window in Flat 1.

1. Buy a robust WiFi router in Flat 1 (this is the one that already had internet connection). These would cost from 6 to 10k.
2. Install WiFi + ADSL router just next to window in Flat 1 (it should be visible from Flat 2)

With this internet should be available in Flat 2, at least in areas near window.

For better reception in Flat 2, buy a router with "repeater" function and install it in Flat to near window.

Now, Flat 2 will have internet everywhere.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which home/office AC (air conditioner) to buy ? adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 5486 18th August 2017 19:54
Bluetooth Intercom / Headsets for Motorcyclists slicvic Motorbikes 32 28th March 2017 10:19
Midland Bluetooth Intercom for my Helmet marinegopi Motorbikes 14 27th July 2013 15:46
How to connect a CDMA FWP and the intra-apartment intercom gbpscars Shifting gears 2 3rd September 2007 14:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks