Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th July 2011, 14:39   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
anilisanil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,435
Thanked: 287 Times
Default Re: Connecting a Samsung TV to PC as a Monitor

To me it looks like you are in wrong HDMI connection. Just keep pressing the HDMI button on your TV remote after connecting and see if the display turns up.
anilisanil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2011, 14:42   #17
BHPian
 
adg_andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 431
Thanked: 158 Times
Default Re: Connecting a Samsung TV to PC as a Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by anilisanil View Post
To me it looks like you are in wrong HDMI connection. Just keep pressing the HDMI button on your TV remote after connecting and see if the display turns up.

Precisely the point which I was making. It seems the problem is not being able to select the source rather than W7 driver.
adg_andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2011, 16:08   #18
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default Re: Connecting a Samsung TV to PC as a Monitor

using the VGA option will not give the full HD experience as VGA doesn't supports that.
a full HD resolution will only be supported on DVI-D and HDMI only.

IIRC your MB has one dvi port and one HDMI port too

Also there are few options in TV setup menu related to HDMI Devices
try going thru manual for more details and see if any setting needs to be adjusted.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2011, 16:20   #19
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default Re: Connecting a Samsung TV to PC as a Monitor

Stupid Q: Are you sure you're selecting the correct channel/source on the TV? (HDMI 1 vs HDMI 2 vs HDMI 3)

Also, have you been through your TV's settings to see if there is any particular option that might be affecting the connection?

cya
R

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
using the VGA option will not give the full HD experience as VGA doesn't supports that.
I don't think this is correct. VGA can support resolutions higher than 1920x1080 (ie Full-HD).

Last edited by Rehaan : 5th July 2011 at 16:27.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2011, 17:08   #20
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default Re: Connecting a Samsung TV to PC as a Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by anilisanil View Post
To me it looks like you are in wrong HDMI connection. Just keep pressing the HDMI button on your TV remote after connecting and see if the display turns up.
Quote:
Originally Posted by adg_andy View Post
Precisely the point which I was making. It seems the problem is not being able to select the source rather than W7 driver.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
Also there are few options in TV setup menu related to HDMI Devices
try going thru manual for more details and see if any setting needs to be adjusted.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Stupid Q: Are you sure you're selecting the correct channel/source on the TV? (HDMI 1 vs HDMI 2 vs HDMI 3)

Also, have you been through your TV's settings to see if there is any particular option that might be affecting the connection?

cya
R
Guys guys, give me some credit . Its connected in the hdmi 1 port, and the tv shows no connection in the hdmi one port. Maybe what I will do is try and connect it with a vga wire, and then with hdmi. Hopefully that might sort it out.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2011, 18:02   #21
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default Re: Connecting a Samsung TV to PC as a Monitor

So its connected with vga and working perfectly. But the problem is that my pc is supposed to be on the other side of the room, and only an hdmi is there. Will n\my pc recognise the hdmi now that it is working on vga?
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2011, 19:19   #22
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default Re: Connecting a Samsung TV to PC as a Monitor

Ok so finally I've got it sorted out.

When I read here that first I should connect it with vga and then hdmi I realised that would work since that was what I had to do when I just got the computer.

I connected it with vga from next to my tv. And it worked. So I then used my blu ray players hdmi cord and whoa, it was showing 2 displays.

I then tried it with my computer cord on the other side of the room, but there was no display. This was when I looked closely and saw this hdmi could not connect properly since its plug was too fat and was getting obstructed. So I used a blade and thinned the plug (along with a bit of my finger lol) and then it worked.

So actually it wasn't that simple. I would have had to connect it via vga first either way.

Thank you so much guys.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2011, 19:59   #23
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default Re: Connecting a Samsung TV to PC as a Monitor

Congrats mate

however let me clarify VGA Has nothing to do with your problem
it was yoru cable not plugged in properly and that snipping you did made it work.

Enjoy your full HD experience.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2011, 01:42   #24
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: HYD
Posts: 226
Thanked: 16 Times
Default Re: Connecting a Samsung TV to PC as a Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
using the VGA option will not give the full HD experience as VGA doesn't supports that.
a full HD resolution will only be supported on DVI-D and HDMI only.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
I don't think this is correct. VGA can support resolutions higher than 1920x1080 (ie Full-HD).
Resolution wise, VGA supports full HD and much more. But but but, VGA does not support HDCP protocol, which is theoretically required for Bluray playback. So it does not support full HD "experience".
Comrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 11:54   #25
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default Re: Connecting a Samsung TV to PC as a Monitor

Thats if you consider HDCP an "experience" ("painful experience" perhaps?)

@akshay - glad you got that figured out. I wonder if either your computer or cable doesn't match the HDMI plug specs? I've had a similar problem once with a pair of speakers with a 3.5mm plug only splaying on one channel. Turned out to be the plug not going in all the way!

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2011, 00:17   #26
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 79
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Re: Connecting a Samsung TV to PC as a Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
.... This was when I looked closely and saw this hdmi could not connect properly since its plug was too fat and was getting obstructed. So I used a blade and thinned the plug (along with a bit of my finger lol) and then it worked.

So actually it wasn't that simple. I would have had to connect it via vga first either way.

Thank you so much guys.


Congrats dear, enjoy the HD monitor. And no, the connecting the TV in VGA has got nothing to do with the HDMI connection. The computer's default output is usually VGA out and so it would connect to a VGA monitor/tv. It would still not give the signal over HDMI if it were not connected properly. I am with ghpk on this one.

LOL.. The theory (call it cpyder's theory of simplicity) is proven yet again. "The answer to most convoluted problems are usually very simple. You just got to look at the right place."

That's what I tried to say in my post.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpyder View Post
.
.
.
.
In absence of adequate details, I am assuming following:-
  • ...
  • ...
  • The computer and the TV both have HDMI ports and the HDMI cable is connected in the correct ports on both sides. (ofcourse they would be, but there are times when most knowledgeble of us do most stupid things, so check again.)
  • You want to use your TV as your monitor. (like me)
.
..well, almost. I should have said "HDMI cable is correctly connected...".

So, next time if you get into some really complex problem, look at something really simple, to the point of being stupid.

That's what I do.

Congratulations again.
cpyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Sub to HU? kvish In-Car Entertainment 4 25th April 2006 11:31
Connecting iPod to CD-changer input desmoquattro Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 7th April 2006 23:01
Connecting 2 amps to a HU. Impossible?? nitrous In-Car Entertainment 8 1st March 2006 17:23


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:21.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks