Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th November 2005, 11:14   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

I used hutch for one day and it ripped me off 800 Rs.
they charge 50 paise per 10 kb, i.e. 50 Rs per MB. i immediately disconnected it.

have been using reliance mobile for internet (pay per use basis). good enough for normal browsing.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2005, 11:42   #17
BHPian
 
rchimni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Manila
Posts: 137
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

INR 150 per month for GPRS with my nokia 6021 unlimited usage, No cable , very convenient and decent speed ..
rchimni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2005, 11:48   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rchimni
INR 150 per month for GPRS with my nokia 6021 unlimited usage, No cable , very convenient and decent speed ..
Which network is that???
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2005, 19:19   #19
BHPian
 
srasania's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
Posts: 321
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Using Orange EDGE Rs49/month rental + Rs0.10/10kb download.
Speeds are decent..use it to check emails on the move on my Nokia 6630.
Also connect the Reliance LG cell to the laptop for portable internet - Reliance-CDMA claims speeds of 115.2kbps,but actually,speeds vary between 20kbps - 90kbps depending on the internet traffic on their network.
Someone recently told me that Tata Indicom(CDMA) mobile internet is much faster than Reliance.
Also,for the GPRS/EDGE service - in Mumbai,Airtel provides the best speeds for mobile internet.

sr
srasania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2005, 22:48   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
karthik247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR, HYD
Posts: 2,708
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

I use AirTel Mobile Office on my 6680. There are these recarge cards available especially for this GRPS which have a valadity of a month. The connection speed is pretty fast. But the mobile gets heated after a long time of usage.

For anyone who doesn't know this...Download a software called Agile Messenger(old version, nu one is paid) and then u can chat in Yahoo and MSN. And also avoid registering, cuz then again it'll get paid and don't update ur version.
karthik247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2005, 23:27   #21
BHPian
 
techn0l0gist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ponda, Goa
Posts: 333
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid
Which network is that???
That's probably Airtel - Maharashra and Goa Circle (i think it does not include Mumbai though)... Rs 150 = 1 month's internet access (5 rupees a day).

Speeds are mediocre according to some people,but as far as i am concerned i get speeds that are similar to dialup ....for Rs 150 thats value for money considering it's unlimited! Not recommended for heavy downloads but good value for email, and browsing(team bhp!)
techn0l0gist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 01:05   #22
BHPian
 
EVO6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 488
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

GTO,

Reliance has a Data Package where in u can choose unlimited upload and download.. Dont know whether they are still giving it.. Used to be for 500 per month... The speed is good on a CDMA network about 115kbps( realistically 80-90kbps)...(Presently I am using R-connect using a Nokia CMDA phone but havent taken any pack.. using at 50paise per minute as I use it only when I am on the move)

GSM networks offer about 45-50kbps speed.. If your phone is EDGE compliant then speeds upto 70-80kbps can be achieved...And u can use any data cable from nokia like the DKU-2 or the DKU-5 depending on ur phone model and it doesnt cost more than Rs.500... All u need to do is GPRS activated from Hutch.. They will give u the settings to set up the comp.. U can choose the Rs 500 unlimited GPRS/Edge pack ...

Hope this helps ur query..

Rgds
EVO6

Last edited by EVO6 : 16th November 2005 at 01:07.
EVO6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 12:45   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: pune
Posts: 2,088
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Guys, GTO's original post is dated 1.5 year back

Anyway, Reliance R-Connect speeds have dropped down considerably. It was far better around 4-5 months back, but these days it is not much better than BSNL dialup.
RX135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 12:51   #24
BHPian
 
rchimni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Manila
Posts: 137
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Steroid , That's Airtel Pune ..
rchimni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2005, 02:54   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

I use Idea Internet to connect to the net.
RS 500/mont unlimited use and get speed of around 40kbps,but some times at night the speed burts upto 115kbps for few minutes randomly.good enough for surfing.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2005, 09:43   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
aadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 1,594
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srasania
Someone recently told me that Tata Indicom(CDMA) mobile internet is much faster than Reliance.

sr

yes , my father uses the tata indicom aircard , an it's much faster than reliance (which he earlier used to use via his reliance phone)
aadix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2005, 11:27   #27
BHPian
 
Insane Devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 981
Thanked: 135 Times
Default

well, i used the Airtel GPRS on my Windows PDA Phone for 2 months for the heck of it. it costed Rs.499 for a month, unlimited downloads. its nice speed, and well, i have broadband in my office and home, so dont need net on mobile too. soon i am putting WiFi setup in my home, so then i can get net access on my phone even in the loo hahaha
Insane Devil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2005, 14:56   #28
BHPian
 
IndianDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 95
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Using airtel Mobile office(internet) on my Sony ericsson p910i costing me only 199 rs per month. The rates are high in delhi and hydrebad something around 499 rs
IndianDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 14:58   #29
BHPian
 
rohan_iitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 992
Thanked: 401 Times
Default

I have Airtel Postpaid mobile connection. Is it possible to connect the mobile to the laptop through USB/bluetooth for browsing the internet wirelessly on the laptop ?

Do I need to take some add-on plan for this ? Any idea of the charges involved ?

What speed can I expect ? I need this just for checking mails, booking tickets etc when I am out of station.

Will this setup work in my home town even if my mobile connection is from Bangalore ? Would any roaming charges be applicable in such a case ?

Any other cost effective options ? I already have a broadband at home, need this alternate arrangement only for vacations.

Rohan
rohan_iitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 15:47   #30
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,349
Thanked: 8,166 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_iitr View Post
I have Airtel Postpaid mobile connection. Is it possible to connect the mobile to the laptop through USB/bluetooth for browsing the internet wirelessly on the laptop ?

Do I need to take some add-on plan for this ? Any idea of the charges involved ?

What speed can I expect ? I need this just for checking mails, booking tickets etc when I am out of station.

Will this setup work in my home town even if my mobile connection is from Bangalore ? Would any roaming charges be applicable in such a case ?

Any other cost effective options ? I already have a broadband at home, need this alternate arrangement only for vacations.

Rohan
There are two plans. The 100/- plan I think does not allow your phone to act as modem for the laptop. The 200/ plan does so.

When you ask the Airtel call line, they actually mentioned that to me. Though I am not sure, how they achieve this.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have you ever tried giving up coffee/tea? clevermax Shifting gears 44 26th February 2010 19:56
Mobile internet suggestions please? deepakvrao Shifting gears 18 16th September 2007 12:10
"Mobile Court" have you been there, i have! xinome Street Experiences 24 2nd August 2007 17:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:47.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks