Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th November 2010, 13:47   #46
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chennai
Posts: 316
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Are these possible airtel launch rates for 3G

3G Handset upgrade Offers, Airtel Handset Offer
bharanidharang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2010, 14:28   #47
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default how to get it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevy_lover View Post
My plan is a corporate one. Rental is Rs. 349 with unlimited usage. I have uploaded close to 6000 pics in Team BHP, FB and other websites with this connection. I think the speed is close to 80kbps most of the time.
What plan is it called? How do I subscribe to it?
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2010, 21:59   #48
Senior - BHPian
 
recshenoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mangalore / Bangalore
Posts: 1,055
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

i use mobile Vodafone internet all the time to browse facebook. its not fast but decent. Heard docomo is pretty good. Need to try that out.

People in Bangalore, kindly advise experience with Docomo mobile internet(2G and 3G).
recshenoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2010, 23:17   #49
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 826
Thanked: 113 Times
Default

FYI : I use Airtel GPRS on my mobile which is class 32 enabled reverse-tethered to my ipod touch 32gb (cracked). When I first enabled it Iwas getting speeds of 8 ot 19kbps.

My last few random speed tests taken over days on ipod touch gave me a whopping 190+ kbps each time

The beauty is I can browse on the streets, coffee shops, check google maps etc anywhere without a 20K mobile device and a great touchscreen.

If anybody is Interested how to do this, just ask me.

HTH
Ragul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011, 11:10   #50
BHPian
 
tushky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pune/ Thermopolis
Posts: 926
Thanked: 564 Times
Question Facing Internet problem with IDEA on a android phone

I am from Pune. from last week, i am not getting internet service on my mobile from Idea connection. I cant even See a internet/3G Icon on my Android mobile screen. i Asked customer care and they told me to get internet settings from the network again but it is of no use. anybody facing the same? any solution for this?
tushky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011, 11:14   #51
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dombivli/Gurgao
Posts: 2,603
Thanked: 1,121 Times
Default Re: Facing Internet problem with IDEA on a android phone

After receiving and accepting the internet settings, did you restart the phone?

Do you have access to a data-enabled SIM card of another provider, for e.g. Vodafone? You could try using that card in your phone and see if it works.

Similarly you can try your Idea card in another handset to see if it works. These two steps will help find out if the problem is with the phone or with the provider.
honeybee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011, 11:21   #52
BHPian
 
tushky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pune/ Thermopolis
Posts: 926
Thanked: 564 Times
Default Re: Facing Internet problem with IDEA on a android phone

will try this out and let you know. sometimes i see 3G icon on the screen. but it lasts only around 10/15 min. again no internet for whole day.
tushky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011, 11:46   #53
BHPian
 
tushky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pune/ Thermopolis
Posts: 926
Thanked: 564 Times
Default Re: Facing Internet problem with IDEA on a android phone

I tried using other IDEA sim in my mobile. the net connection works.
then i again put my SIM in my mobile. restarted mobile. i saw a 3G icon for 2 min. on the screen but again it got disappeared. i think i should go to the idea office. i will might need to change the sim card
tushky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2011, 03:21   #54
Senior - BHPian
 
navan49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CHENNAI
Posts: 1,010
Thanked: 68 Times
Default Re: Have any of you tried mobile internet?

I was and am using Nokia E75 and Iphone 4 for the past 3 years. Both are working good in good speed in train on the move.As for as I get sufficient signal it did well.
navan49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2011, 13:17   #55
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,098
Thanked: 979 Times
Default Re: Have any of you tried mobile internet?

I have a Nokia C5-3, with Airtel post paid. I get 3.5G icon in Delhi.

My sons use the 3G features on their phones extensively and get impressive speeds.
Aroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2012, 20:16   #56
BHPian
 
searchingheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: KDCA-KDFW-VOBL
Posts: 320
Thanked: 1,346 Times
Default Re: Have any of you tried mobile internet?

Can anybody comment regarding the speed of different service providers currently in India?
searchingheaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2012, 12:21   #57
BHPian
 
babhishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KOLKATA
Posts: 310
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Have any of you tried mobile internet?

vodafone and reliance would be my preference, vodafone slightly more expensive though

both are really good!
babhishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2012, 16:02   #58
Senior - BHPian
 
foby.sebastian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: KL-08 / KL-01
Posts: 2,448
Thanked: 1,102 Times
Default Re: Have any of you tried mobile internet?

I have got an I phone and my monthly internet will be so much limited to INR 98 through Tata Docomo prepaid internet recharge.

My daily tasks include one side vedio skype call of less than 1 hour. and surfing general internet. which is pretty much affordabe.
foby.sebastian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2012, 16:05   #59
Senior - BHPian
 
svsantosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hosur
Posts: 3,308
Thanked: 1,252 Times
Default Re: Have any of you tried mobile internet?

I have tried (using still) docomo on samsung star-II Duos. What matters are 2 things - browser and EDGE capability which DOCOMO offers. I have seen some decent speeds and happy with what I have (main use is checking and clearing gmail and ymail only).
svsantosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2012, 16:48   #60
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,074
Thanked: 2,015 Times
Default Re: Have any of you tried mobile internet?

I am using Vodafone in Mumbai and I am not happy with it's speed. Facebook 7 web pages take ages to load. Forget youtube, android market and the likes.

Vodafone says "its normal, nothing can be done about it". My chauffeur has an 'Idea' which is much much faster.
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have you ever tried giving up coffee/tea? clevermax Shifting gears 44 26th February 2010 19:56
Mobile internet suggestions please? deepakvrao Shifting gears 18 16th September 2007 12:10
"Mobile Court" have you been there, i have! xinome Street Experiences 24 2nd August 2007 17:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:42.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks