Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th March 2006, 00:50   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon
If anything goes wrong with the camera, it may cost you more than the camera itself.
Your telling me Heheh.

If the issue relates to the circuit board of the camera, then your definately better of buying a new camera. Happened to me the first time, neighbour dropped my kodak dc3800 and that was kahani khatam.

Issues relating to lenses etc range from 3 - 5 K. Someone I know had to get their a410? powershot serviced, and this is what it cost.
s0uljah is offline  
Old 16th March 2006, 02:54   #32
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,890 Times
Default

A bit off topic,

I just enquired how much it would cost to send in my S1 for a little checkup since the USM was making some noise when zooming, and the MINIMUM charge just to get canon to look at your camera is $190 !!!

cya
R
Rehaan is offline  
Old 16th March 2006, 19:22   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan
A bit off topic,

I just enquired how much it would cost to send in my S1 for a little checkup since the USM was making some noise when zooming, and the MINIMUM charge just to get canon to look at your camera is $190 !!!

cya
R
another off topic. amazon dropped the price on S2 IS. since they have a one month return policy, they refunded the diference to me when i mailed them. They do this to ensure that enthu buyers don't start returning and ordering discounted item.
vivekiny2k is offline  
Old 16th March 2006, 20:40   #34
Team-BHP Support
 
aah78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC / BOM
Posts: 3,564
Thanked: 1,538 Times
Arrow Central Camera

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan
A bit off topic,

I just enquired how much it would cost to send in my S1 for a little checkup since the USM was making some noise when zooming, and the MINIMUM charge just to get canon to look at your camera is $190 !!!

cya
R
hey Rehaan, don't know much about repair costs here but maybe next time you're down in Bombay - pay a visit to Central Camera. they're the best when it comes to service/repair of any sort of camera (from my experience). you're probably aware of them but just in case - here's the address:

Central Camera Co. Pvt. Ltd.
195 Saheb Bldg.,
Dr. D.N. Road,
Fort,
Mumbai - 400001.
Tel: +91-22-22610724
aah78 is online now  
Old 25th March 2006, 19:41   #35
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
lancer_mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 142
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

how is the Canon S3 IS.are there any problems with this cam ? how much will its cost in the US and is picking this one up a good choice.

also whats the difference between optical zoom and digital zoom.
lancer_mania is offline  
Old 26th March 2006, 19:26   #36
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

S3 IS is a good cam, and you sould get it for around 450$ in the US, maybe less.
As for digital zoom, its like changing your speedometer to get higher 0-100 times. Imagine replacing 40 with 100 so that your car does 0-100 faster
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 26th March 2006, 19:32   #37
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
lancer_mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 142
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

tsk thanks for the info but i ddint quite understand.what i want to know is whats the differemce between OPTICAL zoom and DIGITAL Zoom.
lancer_mania is offline  
Old 26th March 2006, 20:04   #38
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Digital zoom is a gimmik. Optical zoom is real zoom. So when somebody tells you I got 3X digital zoom it does not add any value. But optical zoom means you have a lens which zooms in to the subject and show it close. Digital zoom is just enlarging and cropping which can be done in any basic computer application!
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 27th March 2006, 02:34   #39
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
lancer_mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 142
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

thanx lot tsk.now it makes a lot of sence.i have 4x digital zoom on my previous cam so that was bogus and the Canon S3 IS has opticl zoom so i guess thats good.

no problems with this cam right.i am going to pick it up soon.
lancer_mania is offline  
Old 27th March 2006, 07:59   #40
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

S2 IS was an amazing cam(the previous model) and S3 IS is even better! So enjoy your purchase. Canon makes great cameras
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 27th March 2006, 17:57   #41
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
lancer_mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 142
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

thank you very much tsk.you have been of great help.should pick this one up soon.
lancer_mania is offline  
Old 27th March 2006, 18:03   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: pune
Posts: 2,088
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

A dummy question here: Which one is better : Cannon S2 IS or Cannon A620? And why?
RX135 is offline  
Old 27th March 2006, 21:40   #43
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,138
Thanked: 1,897 Times
Default Digi-Camera suggestions

My Casio Exlim 4mp got lost
Need to get a new camera (buying from the US)

Priorities:
More than 4mp
Optical zoom above 3x
Slim
Large screen(2inch+)
Image stablizer

Options as of now:
-Casio EX-S500WE ...This one fits the bill for the size i want but misses out on some of the features.
http://www.buy.com/retail/product.as...814&adid=17662

-Panasonic Lumix series have gr8 features such as 4x zoom or more and 6x image stablizer.But as pretty fat.

Need something that combines both the above mentioned cameras. Interal memory is not an issue as I will be using an SD card. Let me know if you guys have something in mind that fits my needs.
Sahil is offline  
Old 27th March 2006, 22:13   #44
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
lancer_mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 142
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

i jus saw the Canon A620. i would also like to know whats the difference between the A620 and the S3 IS.which ones better ? and the approx Us price of each ?
lancer_mania is offline  
Old 27th March 2006, 22:25   #45
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

S3 IS is more advanced. You have more focus selection points, more optical zoom etc., etc., and more manual controls.
A620 is a more basic cam. Look here. This is a comparison between S2 IS and A620. S3 IS will be one step ahead than the S2 IS.
http://steves-digicams.pgpartner.com...5B%5D=11292718

Last edited by tsk1979 : 27th March 2006 at 22:26.
tsk1979 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Digital Camera Thread: Questions, discussions, etc. satish_appasani Gadgets, Computers & Software 5454 20th June 2017 21:10
Buying Digital Camera from rediffshoping-Is it worth. snaronikar Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 4th November 2009 15:40
New Digital camera v1p3r Gadgets, Computers & Software 117 3rd September 2006 13:22


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:41.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks