Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd April 2006, 01:17   #76
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,890 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancer_mania
rehaan is the S3 IS worth the wait ?? or will it be better if i just pick up the S2 ?? whats the difference between the two ?i thought it was already out

Rev

Lancermania,

The S2 is an AWESOME cam. No doubt about it. The S3 is just a tiny bit better (at a 2-3month wait and the additional cost of $150 (Rs 7,000), so thats your call.

The differences are -

6MP vs 5
2"LCD vs 1.8"
80-800ISO vs 50-400 i think?
Some additional shooting modes
320x240 60fps video mode added
Black body

Not sure about image processing and lens elements.

But as you can see... not much of a noticable difference. Go for the S2 if you want a cam right now and you wanna save some good money, in my opinion.

cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 3rd April 2006 at 01:19.
Rehaan is offline  
Old 3rd April 2006, 02:56   #77
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
lancer_mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 142
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

5 Mp could live with that.1.8" lcd, thats also good

whats the meaning of 80-800 ISO vs 50-400
additional shooting modes are also ok.,
also whats the meaning of 320X 420 60 fps ?

no defects with the S2 right.but tsk said it was available.
lancer_mania is offline  
Old 3rd April 2006, 07:42   #78
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,890 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancer_mania
whats the meaning of 80-800 ISO vs 50-400

also whats the meaning of 320X 420 60 fps ?

but tsk said it was available.
To put it simply the higher ISO allows slightly better night shooting and enables you to to use smaller apertures for day shooting. Noone knows to what extent as i dont think anyone has even got their hands on an S3IS for a review.

320x240 is the size of the video in pixels. 60fps means 60 frames(stills in the video) per second. This feature is only useful if you plan to take video and then play it back at a slower speed. (usually video is at 15, 24 or 30 fps when it comes to digicams)

I think TSK was mistaken when he said the S3 is available. It has just been officially announced by canon, but the expected release day is somewhere May.


There are no "defects" with the S2. Its a great camera and i think it would make sense to go for it over the S3 for your needs.

cya
R

ps - i hope you know it is a rather large camera.... nowhere near pocketsize.
Rehaan is offline  
Old 3rd April 2006, 11:27   #79
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

lancer and soul,

since the twist and rotate LCD seems to be important to you i would look at the Minolta Dimage A200. It has 28mm wideangle and hot shoe as well. it runs about $500 though.

Othweise the Panny Lumix FZ30 has a hot shoe, 2" flip and twist LCD, a 12x lens (35-420mm) and IS. It too runs about $500.

the cheapest SLR sized digicam with a hot shoe is the Minolta Z2. see how it compares against the older canon S1 and Panny FZ10.
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/koni...taz2/page8.asp

The Canon S2/S3 dont have a hot shoe. Sad becuase the Canon flash guns are awful good. beyond these 2 canons the Sony H1 and Kodak 850 offer the same for a bit less money. also i dontknow of a P&S that has a flash range beyond 7m (22ft). I thought Panny's FZ20 was the leader here.

Last edited by navin : 3rd April 2006 at 11:38.
navin is offline  
Old 3rd April 2006, 15:03   #80
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
lancer_mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 142
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

thank you very much rehaan and navin.yes i know the Canon is not small.but what can i do.i just want a good cam.any other cam smaller in size with the same or better features
lancer_mania is offline  
Old 3rd April 2006, 23:04   #81
BHPian
 
protege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 51
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
lancer and soul,

also i dontknow of a P&S that has a flash range beyond 7m (22ft). I thought Panny's FZ20 was the leader here.
Sony's recently introduced DSC S600 has a 36ft flash range and retails for about $175. It also has 6MP plus the usual features (2" lcd.. though 85k resolution). I didn't go for it because of its thickness.
protege is offline  
Old 4th April 2006, 11:50   #82
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

36ft. that is close to 12m. wow! you sure this is test and not just Sony's marketing.
navin is offline  
Old 4th April 2006, 12:18   #83
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,890 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
36ft. that is close to 12m. wow! you sure this is test and not just Sony's marketing.
Lol, i looked up this cam when i read his post and was expecting a chunky beast of a camera..... as soon as i saw the pic of the camera i closed the window immediately....didnt even bother to read

cya
R
Rehaan is offline  
Old 4th April 2006, 15:26   #84
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/spec...ny_dscs600.asp

2.7m (9ft) is quoted here.
navin is offline  
Old 4th April 2006, 21:37   #85
BHPian
 
protege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 51
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
It's 33ft quoted here with ISO 1000 (yes you read it correct)
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2006_reviews/s600.html

Rehan: Yes.. I saw the camera in the store.. I didn't like the look and feel of the camera inspite of the tempting features with the poor LCD.. that's why I went for Kodak v530 black.
protege is offline  
Old 5th April 2006, 15:01   #86
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,230
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

ISO 1000! I thought flash guide numbers were quoted at ISO 100.
http://www.shortcourses.com/how/guid...idenumbers.htm

Last edited by navin : 5th April 2006 at 15:02.
navin is offline  
Old 5th April 2006, 15:12   #87
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

I doubt the images from camera would be usable at ISO 1000 for anything else than small sized online display!
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 5th April 2006, 15:34   #88
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: pune
Posts: 2,088
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

To be honest, T-BHP has equally rich resources on cameras/photography as on cars and bikes.
RX135 is offline  
Old 5th April 2006, 16:32   #89
BHPian
 
2fast4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: pune / Bahrain
Posts: 488
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

can u guys with digital wisdom suggest me a basic digital camera giving me
1) Good picture / color resolutions, good focus, for 4 x 6 and an occassional 6 x 8
2) Whether SD or Memory card - u suggest which is cheap and easy to get.
3) Should be below 10K
4) Can be Canon Sony Nikon Fuji Panasonic in any preference or any other reliable Brand
5) should be using AA batteries - those rechargeable ones.
6) Easy storage / download.

i made a lot of study even visited JJMehta and almost bought a Nikon S2 but then something in mind said why pay 13.5k or 15k with card (grey market) for a camera my sole purpose being clicking snaps for the family and some outdoor stuff nothing professional.

after seeing so many models it makes me as confused as to decide between a turbo or a supercharger.

many thanks for all ur views and reasonings.
2fast4u is offline  
Old 5th April 2006, 16:55   #90
BHPian
 
protege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 51
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
ISO 1000! I thought flash guide numbers were quoted at ISO 100.
http://www.shortcourses.com/how/guid...idenumbers.htm
My camera has a max of ISO800 although with a bottom line (i.e. with 1.8 MP, although the camera is 5MP). I am not sure about Sony. Yes, they be grainy.. but should well enough for a web sized picture. It doesn't do miracle.. but it sure gives max value for money.. if you can ignore the chunky look and the LCD.
protege is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Digital Camera Thread: Questions, discussions, etc. satish_appasani Gadgets, Computers & Software 5454 20th June 2017 21:10
Buying Digital Camera from rediffshoping-Is it worth. snaronikar Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 4th November 2009 15:40
New Digital camera v1p3r Gadgets, Computers & Software 117 3rd September 2006 13:22


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:40.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks