Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th January 2012, 17:47   #9046
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 16
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Thanks Jaggu and Sachinj12
What i have discovered is that i can change the exposure in M(manual mode) only by moving the main dial(round thing), i have figured now that the exposure meter changes whenever i move the camera. Is this the way a DSLR performs in manual mode or i have messed up with its settings ?
Rajvir Bains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2012, 17:53   #9047
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,573
Thanked: 364 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rajvir Bains View Post
Hello Guys
I have just bought a Canon Eos 550d with 18-55mm kit lens. I think i have by mistake set dark exposure compensation in Manual mode as all the images taken are dark. I can see the arrow towards dark side in the view finder(which means exposure compensation is more than -2). I have read the manual which says one cannot set exposure in manual mode. Kindly ignore my lack of knowledge as this is my 1st DSLR.
Thanks in advance
One cannot set the exposure compensation in manual mode since it doesn't make any sense because one can directly set the shutter speed (and other controls too) in manual mode - that's why manual mode is there for!

Let's take an example.

Say you are in Aperture priority mode and you set the aperture to a value say f/8. The camera then goes ahead and calculates a shutter speed based on the aperture you set (and also the ISO speed) to a value which it thinks will give you a properly exposed picture. This is done by measuring the incoming light based on the metering mode which is set. (Center weighted, spot etc)

But then you want to slightly take control over this calculation by tweaking the EV to either side of zero or center mark - this is the process of setting exposure compensation. If you set the EV to a negative value, the shutter speed increases and if you set the EV to a positive value, the shutter speed decreases accordingly in order to make your picture under exposed or over exposed from the exposure which camera calculated.

In manual mode, you set shutter speed, aperture & ISO manually and camera won't try to calculate any of these automatically by itself - so there's no need for an exposure compensation to be done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Just got my ML-L3 ( IR Remote for Nikon) from Flipkart. Cost me 650Rs.
Congrats!

Last edited by clevermax : 5th January 2012 at 18:11.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2012, 18:19   #9048
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,650
Thanked: 7,199 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rajvir Bains View Post
i have figured now that the exposure meter changes whenever i move the camera.
I did not understand this part ^^

Once you set the exposure in manual mode, it should not change automatically and i dont think there is a setting to change this.

There are two dials, one is to select the mode of shooting. The other is the control wheel to change the various settings in each of these modes, used along with the corresponding button for the function. Once set it will not change automatically in any of the main manual shoot modes.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2012, 18:49   #9049
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,573
Thanked: 364 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
I did not understand this part ^^

Once you set the exposure in manual mode, it should not change automatically and i dont think there is a setting to change this.

There are two dials, one is to select the mode of shooting. The other is the control wheel to change the various settings in each of these modes, used along with the corresponding button for the function. Once set it will not change automatically in any of the main manual shoot modes.
What Rajvir said is true if he meant metering - as you move the camera, the indicator shifts according to the light intensity variations in the frame. Happens in manual mode and it helps us to see how much under / over we are exposing with respect to its metered value. Yes, no setting is changed if you just move the camera.

Last edited by clevermax : 5th January 2012 at 18:58.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2012, 18:56   #9050
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 152
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

@Jaggu
The exposure value (say 0 EV on the scale) would have been determined based on a particular light value reflected from some object or part; so now if the camera is pointed at some other object with a different reflected light value in the manual mode (camera is not doing anything by itself), the mark on the meter scale would change naturally.

@Rajvir
Put your camera to any of the other modes than Manual and then check if the Exposure Compensation was set towards the -ve side, hope that would solve the problem.
aburagohain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2012, 19:03   #9051
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,573
Thanked: 364 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by aburagohain View Post
@Rajvir
Put your camera to any of the other modes than Manual and then check if the Exposure Compensation was set towards the -ve side, hope that would solve the problem.
That would solve the problem in modes like Av, but until he sets the shutter speed to a right value to get a proper exposure in Manual mode, the pictures will be either darker or lighter. Remember, no 'exposure compensation' in manual mode - it is just the exposure (shutter speed) you set!

In other words, say you are in manual mode and you have set a a shutter speed of 1/20s. You are not happy with the picture taken at 1/20s, and you want to slightly under expose than this setting - there's no need to set an EV of -0.3 because you have all the liberty to set the shutter speed directly to 1/25s instead!

Last edited by clevermax : 5th January 2012 at 19:08.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2012, 19:14   #9052
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 152
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
That would solve the problem in modes like Av, but until he sets the shutter speed to a right value to get a proper exposure in Manual mode, the pictures will be either darker or lighter. Remember, no 'exposure compensation' in manual mode - it is just the exposure (shutter speed) you set!

In other words, say you are in manual mode and you have set a a shutter speed of 1/20s. You want to slightly under expose than this setting - there's no need to set an EV of -0.3 because you have all the liberty to set the shutter speed directly to 1/25s instead!
Yes Clever, that is how it is in Manual mode, the entire exposure is in our hands, no need to compensate.

Probably we should ask which mode Rajvir is getting the dark pictures in.. if it is Manual then simply adjust the 3 options of Shutter/Aperture/ISO to get rid of the negative setting.

If in any other mode then follow what I wrote earlier with the compensation button/dial.
aburagohain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2012, 19:17   #9053
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,650
Thanked: 7,199 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Ok i got it i was referring to the setting in main menu, he was referring to metering in the view finder.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2012, 20:07   #9054
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 16
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Thank you Guys for clearing my doubts.
What i meant was that Exposure Compenstaion value changes in view finder when i move the camera in M(full manual mode).

Now when i change the shutter speed, the Exposure Value changes. That is when i increase the shutter speed the Exposure Value increases and vice versa.

So is this what happens in M(full manual mode) ?

Hopefully i am right in this observation.
Rajvir Bains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2012, 11:04   #9055
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,636
Thanked: 415 Times
Default Nikon D4 coming soon !

Finally the waiting for a new full frame (FX) launch from Nikon is out in the open. Looking at the price, I am holding my D700 dearer to my chest, I dont think I can afford the new one by any chance. Here is the preview published today on tech details :
Nikon D4 overview: Digital Photography Review
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2012, 11:27   #9056
Senior - BHPian
 
ajay_satpute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,785
Thanked: 1,321 Times
Default Re: Nikon D4 coming soon !

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
Finally the waiting for a new full frame (FX) launch from Nikon is out in the open. Looking at the price, I am holding my D700 dearer to my chest, I dont think I can afford the new one by any chance. Here is the preview published today on tech details :
Nikon D4 overview: Digital Photography Review
3 lakhs INR! ~!@#$%^&

I don't understand too much technical stuff, but I fail to understand why this camera should cost close to 6k USD. The mind-boggling resolution and probably the magnesium alloy body is what I feel are 2 factors, but is there anything else out-out-outstanding about this one?

Last edited by ajay_satpute : 6th January 2012 at 11:29.
ajay_satpute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2012, 11:37   #9057
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,636
Thanked: 415 Times
Default Re: Nikon D4 coming soon !

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajay_satpute View Post
.....but is there anything else out-out-outstanding about this one?
Ajay, Nikon D3s is close to this price ($5200 in B&H and not available too) which is doing fantastic in the low light/high ISO category. My only hope is a considerable drop in the price of D3s, so that many could afford that. I dont believe in Megapixel wars anyway, 12 MP is more than enough for all our requirements. But whatever is said and done, 4 of my friends are waiting with ready cash to grab the first batch of D4
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2012, 14:22   #9058
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 37
Thanked: 55 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Also if you want to keep the shutter speed/aperture/ISO same but want different shots as to check the EV, just do Auto Exposure Bracketing. It does the shifting for you and in the increment you want while you sit in Manual mode.

An example. Once I know my exposure value in Manual, a quick shift to AEB gives me more headroom in Post. what you see below is the 9 Shot AEB from the camera.the rest are Strobe frames.

The DSLR Thread-339037_10151085031970464_822565463_21634676_624320468_o.jpg

Anvancy

Last edited by anvancy : 6th January 2012 at 14:30.
anvancy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2012, 15:26   #9059
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,573
Thanked: 364 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by anvancy View Post
Also if you want to keep the shutter speed/aperture/ISO same but want different shots as to check the EV, just do Auto Exposure Bracketing. It does the shifting for you and in the increment you want while you sit in Manual mode.

An example. Once I know my exposure value in Manual, a quick shift to AEB gives me more headroom in Post. what you see below is the 9 Shot AEB from the camera.the rest are Strobe frames.

Attachment 865447

Anvancy
In AEB, the individual shots will have different shutter speeds but yes your setting won't show a change from where you have kept the shutter speed at..
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2012, 15:30   #9060
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 37
Thanked: 55 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
In AEB, the individual shots will have different shutter speeds but yes your setting won't show a change from where you have kept the shutter speed at..
What I should have written was one can still use Auto functions while being in Manual to have more edge when shooting a scene. Instead of dialing everytime a shutter speed value a quick AEB gives u more options.

Anvancy
anvancy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DSLR Video Discussion Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 129 18th August 2017 19:07
On a Temple Visiting Spree! Returned with only 1 wish. Need a DSLR! mclaren1885 Travelogues 23 27th July 2007 11:21


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:24.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks