Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th April 2012, 16:00   #9601
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,563
Thanked: 358 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by autocrat

Those lenses are truly brilliant. You can directly use them on Sony DSLR body in manual mode. They are heavy and well built.
Yes, minor correction: they can be used with AF and everything just like any new Sony lens.
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2012, 16:40   #9602
BHPian
 
autocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 668
Thanked: 536 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax

Yes, minor correction: they can be used with AF and everything just like any new Sony lens.
Coool! Did not know this
autocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 09:05   #9603
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,563
Thanked: 358 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by autocrat View Post
Coool! Did not know this
Of course! Here's proof - Minolta 50mm f1.7 on SLT-A35 with AF
f/3.2 ISO400 1/80s
The DSLR Thread-_dsc2834.jpg

50mm reversed macro shots looks better, better quality than a reversed kit lens!

Last edited by clevermax : 8th April 2012 at 09:08.
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 10:23   #9604
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by download2live View Post
I wonder why this was not posted till now. Or has it been?

LensRentals.com - Hammerforum.com
I read it yesteday arvo, it gave me a chuckle.
rajb3125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 13:16   #9605
BHPian
 
autocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 668
Thanked: 536 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax

Of course! Here's proof - Minolta 50mm f1.7 on SLT-A35 with AF
f/3.2 ISO400 1/80s
Fab image! The colour reproduction is fantastic and great white balance!
One sore area for Canon is indoor white balance - unless flash is used. Since I mostly shoot outdoors its not a big prob.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rajb3125

I read it yesteday arvo, it gave me a chuckle.
In Bangalore, we have toehold renting out great equipment. Must book in advance for some lenses.

Last edited by Eddy : 9th April 2012 at 15:55. Reason: Please use the edit / multiquote option instead of posting back to back posts within 30 mins. Thanks.
autocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 13:59   #9606
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,563
Thanked: 358 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by autocrat View Post
Fab image! The colour reproduction is fantastic and great white balance!
One sore area for Canon is indoor white balance - unless flash is used. Since I mostly shoot outdoors its not a big prob.
Thanks!
Yes, I've used both a 1100D and A35 and have found the 1100D messes with Auto WB indoors. There are a couple of posts in the same thread by me about that:

1) http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...ml#post2638493 (The DSLR Thread)
1100D - AWB - ISO400 Vs A35 - AWB - ISO800, same subject. Look at the child's skin tone.

2) http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...ml#post2638199 (The DSLR Thread)
Difference in the reds

Last edited by clevermax : 8th April 2012 at 14:02.
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 13:58   #9607
BHPian
 
white-rabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 282
Thanked: 35 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Guys,One more question.Any idea where I can buy the small geras inside the lens? My sigma lens,was found missing with the drive gear for aperture.It was showing lens error,when I tried to click some pictures.There is a long story behind the lens,which lead to this missing gear.I will skare it later.Any idea,where I can get it?
white-rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 15:40   #9608
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,563
Thanked: 358 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by white-rabbit
Guys,One more question.Any idea where I can buy the small geras inside the lens? My sigma lens,was found missing with the drive gear for aperture.It was showing lens error,when I tried to click some pictures.There is a long story behind the lens,which lead to this missing gear.I will skare it later.Any idea,where I can get it?
In my place there is a camera and lens repair guy sitting in a small shop. I am sure i can find spares such as this there.. Probably you need to find such a shop. Even a watch repair shop may have this kind of gears, from old time pieces or clocks
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 16:46   #9609
BHPian
 
white-rabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 282
Thanked: 35 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
In my place there is a camera and lens repair guy sitting in a small shop. I am sure i can find spares such as this there.. Probably you need to find such a shop. Even a watch repair shop may have this kind of gears, from old time pieces or clocks
I am searching for some kid's toys like cars or something.Hope I will find something useful.To add your post on cleaning the lens was really useful.Even when I opened the lens,I heared a lot of 'Please dont do it'
white-rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 19:30   #9610
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,096
Thanked: 977 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by white-rabbit View Post
Guys,One more question.Any idea where I can buy the small geras inside the lens? My sigma lens,was found missing with the drive gear for aperture.It was showing lens error,when I tried to click some pictures.There is a long story behind the lens,which lead to this missing gear.I will skare it later.Any idea,where I can get it?
Try and find an old school camera repair person. Those who have repaired cameras from the film days. Take the lense to him and get it repaired. Unless you are skilled at precision assembly, desist from repairing lenses your self. When you give the lense for repair, get it checked for misalignment & smooth aperture movement.
Aroy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 21:51   #9611
BHPian
 
white-rabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 282
Thanked: 35 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

This lens is very old sigma,which I was using with my EOS 1000F camera.It is so heavy,Make loud noise when focusing and very slow AF.Is it ok to use it with new gen cams?
white-rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 22:30   #9612
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,563
Thanked: 358 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by white-rabbit View Post
This lens is very old sigma,which I was using with my EOS 1000F camera.It is so heavy,Make loud noise when focusing and very slow AF.Is it ok to use it with new gen cams?
If the Camera has to drive the AF system in the lens and if its too tight, a fuse can be blown in the camera. If it is not that tight, then it is only the additional battery drain

Last edited by clevermax : 9th April 2012 at 22:33.
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2012, 13:05   #9613
BHPian
 
white-rabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 282
Thanked: 35 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

It is not too tight.Incase if fuse blows,where is this fuse located in 550D?
white-rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2012, 13:17   #9614
BHPian
 
HellwratH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 115
Thanked: 57 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by white-rabbit View Post
It is not too tight.Incase if fuse blows,where is this fuse located in 550D?
Which sigma lens is this? If it's not a special lens, I doubt it'll be worth it to mount this lens at the risk of blowing the 550D's fuse. A quick google search might help you get more details.
HellwratH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2012, 13:41   #9615
BHPian
 
white-rabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 282
Thanked: 35 Times
Default Re: The DSLR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by HellwratH View Post
Which sigma lens is this? If it's not a special lens, I doubt it'll be worth it to mount this lens at the risk of blowing the 550D's fuse. A quick google search might help you get more details.
Thanks.It is 35-80mm lens.A nomal one.And you are right.I rarely use it.
white-rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DSLR Video Discussion Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 128 26th June 2015 20:49
On a Temple Visiting Spree! Returned with only 1 wish. Need a DSLR! mclaren1885 Travelogues 23 27th July 2007 11:21


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:33.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks