Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th August 2009, 23:10   #1426
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,502
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
Navin, if these are Nikkor lenses then my take would be the 28mm f~1.8 and the 85mm F~1.8. The latter being an unparalleled Micro lens also with great portrait taking features. Well, as a third opion the 50mm F~1.4 is a gem anytime..

In INR it turns out to be 60K. Hmmm, a helluva lot of money... Tell me from where are you getting these glasses?
1. I have a Canon 40D so I would need to get Canon glass. The Nikkor glass I used was on a friend's 1Ds (it was his glass as well). The pics I shot came out soooo sharp that I figured I must get a few primes into my kit. Primes will not be used oftenbut when people are willing to pose or when the f/2.8 zooms I have are not fast enough they can be a godsend.

2. Option 1 for me was the 28/1.8 and 85/1.8 combo. Then I thought why not get the 50/1.4 as well. That lead be to think the 50/1.4 and 85/1.8 are very close in focal range so maybe I should get the 100/2.

I'd really like to get these lenses in India. But if I cant I will pick them up from Malaysia (Boeing)/Singapore (Cathay) on my next trip there.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2009, 01:31   #1427
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 222
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Hybrid IS? the macro is a f/2.8 aint it?
Yes the macro is f/2.8, but typically you would shoot at f/8 or so to get necessary DoF for macro work.
The new Hybrid IS system developed by canon is supposedly better for close distances. More here
abhijitaparadh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2009, 13:12   #1428
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kollam, Kerala
Posts: 368
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
The Nikkor glass I used was on a friend's 1Ds (it was his glass as well).
Nikkor glass on a Canon EOS 1Ds?
janitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2009, 13:22   #1429
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 655 Times
Default The D300

Friends, presenting my D300

The DSLR Thread-dscn0057.jpg
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2009, 13:27   #1430
Senior - BHPian
 
black12rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridin earth now
Posts: 1,259
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

^^ very nice . There is new 300 out its 300s IIRC .
black12rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2009, 13:28   #1431
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 14,284 Times
Default

Congrats on the new DSLR, why is it out of focus?
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2009, 13:58   #1432
Senior - BHPian
 
kuttapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,155
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Congrats on the new DSLR, why is it out of focus?
I think he was using a PS and it focused on the tip of the lens. Right?
kuttapan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2009, 15:33   #1433
Senior - BHPian
 
StarScream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Noida/Delhi
Posts: 1,247
Thanked: 633 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
Navin, if these are Nikkor lenses then my take would be the 28mm f~1.8 and the 85mm F~1.8. The latter being an unparalleled Micro lens also with great portrait taking features. Well, as a third opion the 50mm F~1.4 is a gem anytime..
The Nikkor 85/1.8 is not a micro/macro lens. Great portrait lens, yes. Nikon does not make a macro lens faster than f2.8.
Also, AFAIK, Nikon has never made a 28/1.8. Many versions of the 28/2.8, yes, and a 28/1.4 (now discontinued) but never a 1.8 in that focal length. The current 28/2.8 AF-D is a pretty weak lens. Not a patch on the manual focus 28/2.8 with CRC, which was a classic.
StarScream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2009, 12:33   #1434
BHPian
 
Torqueguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 277
Thanked: 161 Times
Default

@gd1418
You are going to have some serious fun now! All the best!
Regards,
TG.
Torqueguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2009, 21:55   #1435
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 655 Times
Default

Yes. Nikon has launched the D300s. But the only difference as compared to D300 is that in D300s they have given dual memory slots as in D3. This is no great shakes and doesn't justify that high price for D300s.

Quote:
Originally Posted by black12rr View Post
^^ very nice . There is new 300 out its 300s IIRC .
True Sharath, it is out of focus as the pic was taken with wife's CoolPix S220. And I don't know how to handle and operate that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Congrats on the new DSLR, why is it out of focus?
Bang on Kuttapan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuttapan View Post
I think he was using a PS and it focused on the tip of the lens. Right?
I stand corrected StarScream..Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by StarScream View Post
The Nikkor 85/1.8 is not a micro/macro lens. Great portrait lens, yes. Nikon does not make a macro lens faster than f2.8.
Also, AFAIK, Nikon has never made a 28/1.8. Many versions of the 28/2.8, yes, and a 28/1.4 (now discontinued) but never a 1.8 in that focal length. The current 28/2.8 AF-D is a pretty weak lens. Not a patch on the manual focus 28/2.8 with CRC, which was a classic.
Hope so. Thanks TG

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqueguru View Post
@gd1418
You are going to have some serious fun now! All the best!
Regards,
TG.

Last edited by gd1418 : 22nd August 2009 at 22:03.
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2009, 21:59   #1436
Team-BHP Support
 
Rudra Sen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,404
Thanked: 4,092 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
Bu the only difference as compared to D300 is that in D300s they have given dual memory slots as in D3.
What's dual memory slot? Slot for two different type of cards?
Rudra Sen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2009, 22:06   #1437
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 655 Times
Default Dual Slot

Yes Sir, two slots for two different type of memory cards - CF I/II/III & SD.

Nikon D300s DSLR with HD recording and dual memory card slots - Tech News Updates

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
What's dual memory slot? Slot for two different type of cards?
Given below is the dual memory slot of Nikon D300s

Name:  37553_1.jpg
Views: 300
Size:  22.5 KB

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 22nd August 2009 at 22:13.
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2009, 22:06   #1438
Team-BHP Support
 
Rudra Sen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,404
Thanked: 4,092 Times
Default

What's so new about it? I thought this is a very old feature.

My camera has this and it's pretty old as you know.
Rudra Sen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2009, 22:12   #1439
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 655 Times
Default

Absolutely right and I agree. But this feature has been there in D3 for long. They only introduced this in D300 and marked it as "s". There are rumours that Nikon is likelt to bring out an upgrade to D700 named the D800 and that too will have the dual memory slot.

The change is in D3 it has dual CF memory slots, while in D300s they managed a CF & SD slot.. Minor variation to keep the buyer's interest up..

One another feature of D300s is that it has 7fps while the D300 has 6fps..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
What's so new about it? I thought this is a very old feature.

My camera has this and it's pretty old as you know.

Last edited by gd1418 : 22nd August 2009 at 22:16.
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2009, 00:19   #1440
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 14,284 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
The change is in D3 it has dual CF memory slots, while in D300s they managed a CF & SD slot.. Minor variation to keep the buyer's interest up..
My good old E-500 (released in 2005) has CF and xD card slots.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DSLR Video Discussion Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 129 18th August 2017 19:07
On a Temple Visiting Spree! Returned with only 1 wish. Need a DSLR! mclaren1885 Travelogues 23 27th July 2007 11:21


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:12.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks