Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 11th May 2012, 19:11   #1
BHPian

Default Laptop performance enhancement by cleaning air cooled network (Heat sink)

Friends,

I have seen many of my friends struggling with their laptops who appears to be crawling even though they carry solid processors (Intel inside stuff). 2 years back, I was heavily frustrated as the drives were clean, anti-virus were perfect in shape, there was no virus/trojan but still laptop was gasping for air. It was a Lenovo, made in china ofcourse, so I put blame on chinese easily.

Then I started attacking the problem more analytically (as the engineers normally claim to do).

And I got to the root cause of problem in no time. This reminded me of "Heat Transfer" that I studied during my Bachelor of Engineering . I actually realized that laptop was getting way hot. That made me realize that something is either heating up too much or the cooling fan is under-performing. I downloaded some software tools (free ofcourse) which can tell you Core temperature of your laptop. There are plenty of softwares available to do so.

In any case, I would like you to show something now as I believe that - Seeing is believing.

I bought a good set of "Mobile Screwdriver Kit" as you really don't want mess with sophisticated and expensive laptop using any tool.

When I opened my laptop's air ventilation section (Cooling fan, heating sink area), I was really shocked to see what I came across.

Here see the culprits that completely chocked my laptop:

Laptop performance enhancement by cleaning air cooled network (Heat sink)-cimg0490.jpg

And this one

Name:  CIMG0491.JPG
Views: 2347
Size:  106.9 KB

Now I always ensure that I clean those things every 6 month. I use a laptop cleaning kit, a deodorant which I want to get rid of (you need pressurized air/gas to clean some delicate parts), cotton and a ear-bud. Everytime I do that, performance of my laptop goes up.