Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th August 2004, 17:50   #1
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,138
Thanked: 1,897 Times
Default

I am currently using a 6600...i set the time right on the phones clock but whenever i make a call the time shown in the log is half an hour behind the actual time that i make the call...how do i make it proper? This is the 2nd 6600 i have bought and even my previous one had the same problem ... also the 7650 i had a year or so back had this same problem.
Also would like to know a few Free WAP sites thru GPRS whr i could download good polyphonic ringtones,wallpapers and games,etc free for this phone.
10x for the help
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2004, 18:34   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
aadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 1,594
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

hey sahil
i suggest you take it to nokia care (service centre) as it is still under the warranty, generally that happens if there is a software glitch
aadix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2004, 19:10   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 1,040
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

hey sahil one of my friend has a cd with loads of wallpapers ,applications and games for 6600....since u stay in bombay...can copy it and send it to u.
heavy_foot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2004, 19:34   #4
F50
Senior - BHPian
 
F50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai/USA
Posts: 1,694
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

Hey Sahil
As Aadix said sum software prob. coz even one of my frnd was had a 6600 his T9 got deleted or went missing donno how ....
F50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2004, 19:50   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
X-Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mumbai/Tokyo
Posts: 1,476
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Dude....i had experienced the same prob on my cellphone.The thing is that wen u go in2 clock setting,therez an option stating Auto time Update.That option shud be on "Off".Also if u have downloaded any warez regarding world time etc,this option automatically switces On.Thatz the reason the clock lags by 30mins.

As far as downloadin is concerned....here are a few links.
1. tagtag.com/sites/
2. users.atw.hu/g/a/
3. http://twilightwap.com/newmobile/nokia/6600/index.asp
4. http://www.jiwang.org/erryz/wap\naaps6600/wml#napps6600


U shud find wot ya looking for on these sites.Also goto google.com on GPRS and change the search option to Mobile search. And type wav tones,wallpapers,games etc.....wotever u lookin for.
X-Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2004, 20:09   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
X-Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mumbai/Tokyo
Posts: 1,476
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Hey,and also try loggin on My Symbian and Tag Tag from the PC.U might get loadza info in there.....
Gotcha rush.
Cya.
X-Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2004, 20:11   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

same lagg prob with my 7650.. tried switching auto update off.. doesnt make a diff.. guess the phone is running around a lil late.. 30 mts to be precise..
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2004, 21:49   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
aadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 1,594
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

hey guys, trust me all it needs is a software update, my friend's 7650 had a same prob, the nokia care guy just updated the software in 10 mins and gave it back, it works fine now
aadix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2004, 22:51   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
X-Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mumbai/Tokyo
Posts: 1,476
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Yeah for now as aadix said,u will need to upgrade ur software.And henceforth,do not download any time software.Worldclock is a good software but it does hamper the cell and makes it slower than usual.
X-Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2004, 23:01   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (aadix @ Aug. 20 2004,20:19)]hey guys, trust me all it needs is a software update, my friend's 7650 had a same prob, the nokia care guy just updated the software in 10 mins and gave it back, it works fine now
Maybe check online for a firmware update that you could download and run yourself.
However you might need a cable....donno.
cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2004, 12:17   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]The thing is that wen u go in2 clock setting,therez an option stating Auto time Update.That option shud be on "Off".
u hit the nail on the head ... my 6600 had this problem too and i have the gmt offset to +0.00

also sometimes my 6000 used to stop showing the call logs ... say if i have the logs on for ten days it used to take a break for 1 day .. why ??

cheers
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2004, 12:45   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
aadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 1,594
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

hmm..nc this is the first time i am hearing abt that problem...most of the time these problems are minor software glitches, which are set by either updating the software or resetting it,

guys another word of caution, all these smartphones can be easily infected with viruses.so be care full while downloading anything
aadix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2004, 15:22   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,965
Thanked: 264 Times
Default

guyz, 6600 is a very bad phone to own and maintain.it has a lot of problems and the OS has "winodows type " crashes. i spent a great deal of money and flashed it already 3 times. my friend gave me some codes for auto flashing. u don't have to spend any money on it.
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2004, 21:19   #14
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,138
Thanked: 1,897 Times
Default

Bingo! Problem solved i put auto update time off and offset to 0 gmt and its perfect now ... thxn alot guys. Will check out the GPRS stuff soon.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2005, 20:45   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
turbo_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Windsor
Posts: 1,377
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

hey late query...
need help..anyone knows how to configure GPRS on a 6600 ..i am using airtel.
turbo_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The latest fashion from Nokia - new Nokia 8800 khanak Gadgets, Computers & Software 29 26th March 2008 00:56
How to move pictures from Nokia 6600 moralfibre Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 21st July 2006 00:21
A decent organiser/reminder for Nokia 6600 adya33 Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 19th October 2005 13:49
Email rules for Nokia 6600 adya33 Gadgets, Computers & Software 8 5th October 2005 23:56
nokia 7610 v/s nokia 6600 normally_crazy Shifting gears 2 21st August 2004 18:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:41.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks