Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th July 2009, 01:25   #271
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
just checked again and i got 2.7mbps. funny stuff
Yeah, I think Photon+ doesn't like gangly school kids too much!
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 07:39   #272
Senior - BHPian
 
speedmiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,295
Thanked: 775 Times
Default

I have been using BSNL EVDO connection for past 2 months. I must say it is the best wireless broadband solution available in India till date. I have earlier tried my friend's reliance and tata indicom products but was never quite satisfied with the speeds and the service offered.
In the past 2 months, only once did I have a problem with my connection, which was promptly acknowledged by BSNL as their fault and was rectified within 24 hours.
I am lucky enough to get full network coverage and speed. The speeds are usually in the range of 1.2 to 1.9 MBPS occasionally reaching upto claimed 2.4 MBPS.
Besides this the download limit is unlimited and since I use the connection 24x7, I prefer it this way. Last month my net usage was over 50GB.

I would advice anyone opting for BSNL EVDO to first check for network coverage in their area before buying one or else opt for the rental plan. Atleast you wont be stuck with the useless modem if it doesn't work near your place.

The only disadvantage with BSNL is that they provide shared IPs and this makes it downloading from torrents next to impossible and also from file hosting sites like rapidshare (unless you have a premium account).
speedmiester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 11:47   #273
Senior - BHPian
 
sajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,529
Thanked: 731 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedmiester View Post
I am lucky enough to get full network coverage and speed. The speeds are usually in the range of 1.2 to 1.9 MBPS occasionally reaching upto claimed 2.4 MBPS.
I plan to get a BSNL EVDO connection soon.
Can anyone tell me how is the network coverage for Pune ? I have heard some conflicting reports about the network coverage here. And hows the availability of the same ?

I use a company provided Tata Indicom USB/PCMCIA connection for official work at home, and I can say that the quality is no great shakes, especially for the price (which, thankfully, is not being paid by me). Also have an old reliance card, and its noticeably slower than the Tata Indicom as well.
sajo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 12:03   #274
BHPian
 
woof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 126
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Got a reliance netconnect+ card for Rs. 3500. Speed is pretty decent so far, around 0.8 to 1.5 Mbps. Better than my home broadband connection from Airtel (UL 256kbps).

I got the 1099 plan, which offers 5GB data transfer nationwide. The reliance chap gave me 200 bucks off each month on this plan for an year
woof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 19:30   #275
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

For those, who are on BSNL EVDO, can you confirm that your workplace VPN works fine on that. I have seen that listed as one of the major issues on EVDO connection on offer by BSNL.
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 19:51   #276
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

The only problem with Photon+ is that Tata Indicom does not offer any unlimited plan (with or without FUP) in our region. If it would, I would get it for my wife. I tested it at my place and I got sustained speeds of above 2Mbps on torrents, http and ftp. I may still get her this thing if BSNL does not introduce EVDO in Shillong soon.
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2009, 12:55   #277
BHPian
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 414
Thanked: 61 Times
Default

Need some advice:
I might be moving to Ahmedabad temporarily. I need comprehensive internet access (for around 3 months).
Tried Idea and there GPRS25 scheme. Could not log in at all within a 24hr period.
Currently using Airtel, good connection but expensive (Rs20 for 8MB).
I don't think Vodafone offers any unlimited options?

What are the CDMA networks like in Ahmedabad?
I would be using 100-200mb daily. I need a true unlimited package if available.
Any suggestions?
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2009, 14:07   #278
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 100
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

I'm using Photon+ for over 4 months now. I guess I am one of the few who actually got truly unlimited plan. There is no data cap and I get excellent speeds (lowest 1mbps, to max 3mbps+ as advertised).

I've been travelling quite a bit and currently using it in Mumbai. BSNL comes close to this, but this has some added advantages for me since I travel quite a bit and I need network in the places I go.
Sks_Biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2009, 01:11   #279
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,179
Thanked: 1,109 Times
Default

Photon+ has worked awesome for me. 1500bucks for unlimited with no FUP. This is the kind of speed I get

reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2009, 20:35   #280
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 651 Times
Default

I've a reliance CDMA data card that is supposed to have a working speed of 144kbps. Well, it never has, but, I do get decent connects everytime and though slow manage my work when on the move.

I've been wanting to upgrade to a broadband high speed data card/USB and have been looking at the Reliance Netconnect & Tata Photon+.

I tried talking to reliance to take back the CDMA and after adjusting the difference give me a Netconnect. But they refused. So, if I upgrade, then I've a dud by way of the reliance CDMA with me.

One of my friends who is power user of the net, dissuaded me from going for the Netconnect. Instead, I was advised Phton+.

I asked for a demo and the guy came to my workplace in Gulmohar Park, New Delhi. His unit would connect and display HSIA, that was supposed to be the high speed, but then after sometime used to display CDMA and fall back on speeds. Once on CDMA, it seldom used to go back to HSIA. Inside my cabin, it hardly had any signal strength. My laptop was taken outside, then on the road in front of my office, but it didn't get a steady HSIA mode.

The executive, mumbled something about network problem or coverage and went, promising to return on Monday. Well, I haven't heard anything from him or TATA. Of course, he mentioned that this is the first problem of this sort he has encountered, while till date the n number of Photon+s that he had sold never had this kind of problem.

Well, I've this thingy with electronics/gadgets - they don't work the first time. And Murphy's also plays a very significant role.

Can anyone here lay a finger on the problem and advise what should I do? And, I'm not any gangly school/college going kid..
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 11:19   #281
BHPian
 
FATAL3RROR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gurgaon, India
Posts: 114
Thanked: 0 Times
Lightbulb

Hi GD!

I have recently been using Reliance Netconnect and am pretty satisfied with it. Nowhere close to the 3.1 mbps as advertised but good enough for general browsing, an occasional download or some video streaming. Haven't used Photon+ so can't really comment on that.

I think there is some separate network for the HSIA. Just being in an Indicom/Reliance network doesn't guarantee broadband access. Now that you know Photon+ is not going to work for you, it will be a good idea to try Reliance (from the retailer/a friend) and try it out at your place.

Let me make your day anyways - Here goes!
Broadband+ Upgrade.pdf

I think you might have to wait for a few days before it is available at the stores though.

Source of PDF: Upgrade Offer - Netconnect 1x To Broadband+ - Reliance Mobile (CDMA & GSM) - Discussion Forums

Quote:
Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
I've a reliance CDMA data card that is supposed to have a working speed of 144kbps. Well, it never has, but, I do get decent connects everytime and though slow manage my work when on the move.

I've been wanting to upgrade to a broadband high speed data card/USB and have been looking at the Reliance Netconnect & Tata Photon+.

I tried talking to reliance to take back the CDMA and after adjusting the difference give me a Netconnect. But they refused. So, if I upgrade, then I've a dud by way of the reliance CDMA with me.

One of my friends who is power user of the net, dissuaded me from going for the Netconnect. Instead, I was advised Phton+.

I asked for a demo and the guy came to my workplace in Gulmohar Park, New Delhi. His unit would connect and display HSIA, that was supposed to be the high speed, but then after sometime used to display CDMA and fall back on speeds. Once on CDMA, it seldom used to go back to HSIA. Inside my cabin, it hardly had any signal strength. My laptop was taken outside, then on the road in front of my office, but it didn't get a steady HSIA mode.

The executive, mumbled something about network problem or coverage and went, promising to return on Monday. Well, I haven't heard anything from him or TATA. Of course, he mentioned that this is the first problem of this sort he has encountered, while till date the n number of Photon+s that he had sold never had this kind of problem.

Well, I've this thingy with electronics/gadgets - they don't work the first time. And Murphy's also plays a very significant role.

Can anyone here lay a finger on the problem and advise what should I do? And, I'm not any gangly school/college going kid..
FATAL3RROR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 15:58   #282
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 137
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lejhoom View Post
The BSNL ad come on the Deccan Chronicle newspaper on 26 June. It quotes the sale price of NIC card at Rs. 2800 and EVDO at Rs. 3500.
BSNL reduced sale price or this is something different?

Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd- Latest News
smnrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 16:10   #283
BHPian
 
woof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 126
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FATAL3RROR View Post
Hi GD!

I have recently been using Reliance Netconnect and am pretty satisfied with it. Nowhere close to the 3.1 mbps as advertised but good enough for general browsing, an occasional download or some video streaming. Haven't used Photon+ so can't really comment on that.

I think there is some separate network for the HSIA. Just being in an Indicom/Reliance network doesn't guarantee broadband access. Now that you know Photon+ is not going to work for you, it will be a good idea to try Reliance (from the retailer/a friend) and try it out at your place.

Let me make your day anyways - Here goes!
Attachment 162523

I think you might have to wait for a few days before it is available at the stores though.

Source of PDF: Upgrade Offer - Netconnect 1x To Broadband+ - Reliance Mobile (CDMA & GSM) - Discussion Forums
It's there on Reliance's website

Reliance Netconnect

They are giving Rs. 250 off on the plan for 1 year, in case you switch to Netconnect+.

But, in my case, I got that discount even on getting a new connection (not an upgrade from 1x).

Last edited by woof : 22nd July 2009 at 16:21.
woof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 11:01   #284
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 106
Thanked: 17 Times
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by smnrock View Post
BSNL reduced sale price or this is something different?

Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd- Latest News
That is because PCMCIA cards are being phased out. Hence they are giving out the last pieces in stock available with them at a discount. Almost for the past 3 years, laptops have stopped shipping with PCMCIA slots except a very few boring models. Even my laptop Dell which is almost 3 years old does not have a PCMCIA slot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
I've been using the Photon+ for a few days now & its absolutely fantastic. Download speeds I got last night were in the region of 150 kbps on torrents.
I second that. Whatever said and done, even when only 1X was there, Reliance used to have better coverage and Tata used to have better speeds. With the Evdo too, it should be the same. I've been using Photon+ since the last 4 months. Initially when I took the connection, there was a lot of problems. First it will show HSIA, then it will show 1X, sometimes it won't shift back to HSIA at all. But sometimes, when you disconnect and reconnect it will latch on to HSIA. Now, it has improved a lot. There is constantly a HSIA signal in my office. Even when I was roaming in Bangalore, there was a constant HSIA signal. Unless you are travelling to a lot of non-metros, Tata Photon+ will serve you well. Like it has for me and raghava.
deepakchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2009, 12:38   #285
Senior - BHPian
 
sajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,529
Thanked: 731 Times
Default

This saturday, I had been to BSNL's Karve Road exchange (MKR) , to inquire about the EVDO cards, and if possible, to buy one.
However, I was told that they are unavailable and would take atleast 2 months more to arrive there. They didnt even have the required forms. Is availability indeed such a problem in Pune? Can anyone let me know any exchange/authorised reseller where they are readily available in Pune ?

Last edited by sajo : 3rd August 2009 at 12:40. Reason: Removed smiley
sajo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reliance Broadband on Data Card !! emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 12th March 2009 13:54
Reliance data card goes kaput ! Help needed emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th January 2009 15:29
Anyone tried connecting both USB and ethernet interface to Beetel 220 modem ? joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 14th August 2008 19:40
Found a Tata Indicom USB Modem. How do I use it? Dippy Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 7th December 2007 11:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:17.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks