Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th May 2010, 05:00   #361
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jocreative View Post
Hey guys, just in case you have not noticed. Reliance HSD USB cards and Net Cards have serious virus issues. The best way to try this out is, Share a folder with modify access, and connect to your reliance net broadband. Within a few minutes you can find random .Exes and files called "khw" or "dhm" etc with no extension.
Well, I did a share will full permissions & no khw or dhm files till now.
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2010, 10:18   #362
BHPian
 
jocreative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 179
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carboy View Post
Well, I did a share will full permissions & no khw or dhm files till now.
Wait for it... they will come
Make sure you have enabled viewing Hidden files and System Protected Files too. Keep it on for a few days and you will be surprised.
jocreative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2010, 10:44   #363
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,581
Thanked: 3,241 Times
Default

Interestingly, ICICI has begun using reliance net connect for their ATMs. That's a testament to their reliability really!
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2010, 10:54   #364
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: kolkata
Posts: 927
Thanked: 24 Times
Default

Using Reliance Net connet, works fine.
musicmanaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 20:31   #365
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carboy View Post

One thing though is that USB based connectivity is good in terms of being portable, but I still don't enjoying using USB on my laptop - I so much prefer wireless connectivity where I don't have to plugin anything to the laptop itself. Is there anyway by which when I am at home I can connect the USB to some device which will then beam wireless by which i can connect to my laptop. I know I can connect the USB to my Windows desktop and make the desktop a wireless HUB - but this would mean that I would have to have the Desktop on & running when I want to use the Laptop. Is there any better solution for this?
I am almost 100% using the Reliance Netconnect+ USB only at home. So does anyone have any creative solution to plug it into my Wireless Modem so that I don't have to plug it into my laptop.
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 22:31   #366
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 905
Thanked: 353 Times
Default

I visited the BSNL billing section and asked the executive, whether I can convert my EVDO postpaid to prepaid. His simple answer is "Sir, that is not allowed". I guess a lot depends on the executive that you talk to, so I am planning to talk to some other officer.
jinojohnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 22:57   #367
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,463
Thanked: 688 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carboy View Post
I am almost 100% using the Reliance Netconnect+ USB only at home. So does anyone have any creative solution to plug it into my Wireless Modem so that I don't have to plug it into my laptop.
I just hope that laptop makers find a way of providing a hollow opening where you can plug these usb devices without them protruding outside. Its not easy to move around with these usb devices.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 23:07   #368
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
I just hope that laptop makers find a way of providing a hollow opening where you can plug these usb devices without them protruding outside. Its not easy to move around with these usb devices.
Yup. Something like the PC-MCI card slot in laptops.
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 23:14   #369
BHPian
 
jocreative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 179
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
I just hope that laptop makers find a way of providing a hollow opening where you can plug these usb devices without them protruding outside. Its not easy to move around with these usb devices.
Onkyo DX DX1007A5 is a netbook that has an "in"-built USB port. You have to remove screws to get to it though but I think netbook/laptop manufacturers need to capitalize on this further. It could be useful. Also its has dual screen .

Its not actually relevant to this thread, but here is the youtube video that shows this. (Scroll to 8:00)

jocreative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 14:45   #370
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Marlborough, MA/Bangalore
Posts: 282
Thanked: 9 Times
Default On travel. Need Net connectivity for a week. What is the best option?

I'll be traveling out of town for a week and I need to be connected. I will need to check mails and probably access some work related tools while I'm away from home. What is the best option available for me?

I looked at Reliance/TATA USB sticks. They are not cost-effective for short term usage.

Regards
Rex
rex_varghese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 14:48   #371
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jocreative View Post
Wait for it... they will come
Make sure you have enabled viewing Hidden files and System Protected Files too. Keep it on for a few days and you will be surprised.
Been a few days now. Still not surprised!
Thankfully.
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 14:50   #372
BHPian
 
jocreative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 179
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carboy View Post
Been a few days now. Still not surprised!
Thankfully.
Another possibility is that you need Default User accounts. Administrator login with no password.
jocreative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 14:56   #373
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jocreative View Post
Administrator login with no password.
Wow!
That's like leaving your home open & then blaming the road on which the burglar walked to your home.
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 15:09   #374
BHPian
 
jocreative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 179
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carboy View Post
Wow!
That's like leaving your home open & then blaming the road on which the burglar walked to your home.
Well you know what they say...if you don't use protection you can get infected

But the point is, I have used TataIndicom broadband and other connections and this happens only through Reliance. Doesn't that say there is something missing in how its configured?
jocreative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2010, 09:14   #375
MCR
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 709
Thanked: 185 Times
Default

Hi Guys,
I am planning to buy Tata Photon Plus post paid connection. I am looking at their 5 GB plan which has a monthly rental of 950/-. Is Tata Photon+ good? On some other forums, there are complaints reagarding the billing. Is this true?
MCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reliance Broadband on Data Card !! emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 12th March 2009 13:54
Reliance data card goes kaput ! Help needed emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th January 2009 15:29
Anyone tried connecting both USB and ethernet interface to Beetel 220 modem ? joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 14th August 2008 19:40
Found a Tata Indicom USB Modem. How do I use it? Dippy Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 7th December 2007 11:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:50.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks