Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st May 2010, 09:20   #376
BHPian
 
asdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 950
Thanked: 292 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCR View Post
Hi Guys,
I am planning to buy Tata Photon Plus post paid connection. I am looking at their 5 GB plan which has a monthly rental of 950/-. Is Tata Photon+ good? On some other forums, there are complaints reagarding the billing. Is this true?
Hi, I am using TATA Photon+ and its really fast, just one info, why you are going with 5 GB plan @950/- when you can get 10 GB@1000? I am using 10 GB data plan and monthly rental is 1000/- and no issues with billing till now.
asdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2010, 10:21   #377
MCR
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 709
Thanked: 185 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asdon View Post
Hi, I am using TATA Photon+ and its really fast, just one info, why you are going with 5 GB plan @950/- when you can get 10 GB@1000? I am using 10 GB data plan and monthly rental is 1000/- and no issues with billing till now.
Hi asdon,
Thanks for the reply. I have attached the tariff image.
I would be using this for youtube and viewing live TV on internet. Since you have told that the speed is good, I think the buffering time will be minimum.
Attached Images
 
MCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2010, 16:43   #378
BHPian
 
dr.faramroze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Valsad/Mumbai
Posts: 155
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

We were having a BSNL EVDO ZTE dongle with a monthly package of Rs 350 pm for unlimited usage. Suffered a loss of peace of mind and enthusiasm, got rid of it due to utter low bandwidth. Even my Airtel Mobile office gives more speed. Finally got a Reliance ZTE dongle prepaid with Rs 801 recharge with 230 kbps for one month and a usage limit of 15 GB. Though it not very comfortable for downloading large files. Normal browsing is achieved.
dr.faramroze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2010, 10:56   #379
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Has anyone got any idea about Vodafone coming up with 3G / high speed internet connection for their mobile subscirbers yet?

I have got highspeed broadband connection at home.
I use internet using my cellphone whenever I travel, not so frequently in a year. However, while on long trips or away from home/work, I need a mobile network aorund 512kbps - 1mbps to connect my VPN and access stuff at work.

What options I have if I dont want to buy a USB modem or data card just for those few long trips / instances in a year. I understand that once I go for data card / USB modem, it will be charged every month, I cant put it to sleep.
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2010, 13:29   #380
BHPian
 
asdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 950
Thanked: 292 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketan View Post
Has anyone got any idea about Vodafone coming up with 3G / high speed internet connection for their mobile subscirbers yet?

I have got highspeed broadband connection at home.
I use internet using my cellphone whenever I travel, not so frequently in a year. However, while on long trips or away from home/work, I need a mobile network aorund 512kbps - 1mbps to connect my VPN and access stuff at work.

What options I have if I dont want to buy a USB modem or data card just for those few long trips / instances in a year. I understand that once I go for data card / USB modem, it will be charged every month, I cant put it to sleep.
I have used Vodafone 3G stick, very poor performance, currently using TATA Photon+, and on the go also I am getting speed over 1 mbps, you can try it.
asdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2010, 00:04   #381
Senior - BHPian
 
tsk13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,233
Thanked: 277 Times
Default

Has anyone used World Phone Internet? I came across their services in Ghaziabad and their review from the users has been good so far. I'm thinking of getting this against BSNL, please suggest.

World Phone
tsk13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2010, 11:37   #382
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajo View Post
I plan to get a BSNL EVDO connection soon.
Can anyone tell me how is the network coverage for Pune ?
Moved recently to Pune on transfer. I need a internet card for my computer. What are the options open to me? Could you throw some light.


P.S - Did you get your EVDO card? Damage?
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2010, 11:57   #383
BHPian
 
bharatbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 113
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

I am using TATA Photon +. And once in a while i connect using my phone as modem on Aircel network.Tata Photon + is no doubt good.Amazing speeds but surprisingly my Aircel connection is also very good.
bharatbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2010, 19:04   #384
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,214
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

Anyone from Delhi using Tata Photon + ?
Are there billing fair?
What are the speeds you are getting?

KIndly reply asap.
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2010, 20:19   #385
BHPian
 
asdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 950
Thanked: 292 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Anyone from Delhi using Tata Photon + ?
Are there billing fair?
What are the speeds you are getting?

KIndly reply asap.
as fas as billing its fine with me with Tata Photon+, though I use it in Bangalore, but used it while on the go in some places in TN & AP, works fine, but not sure about connectivity in NCR. But as NCR gets best of all things, I am sure there will be no issue with that too.
asdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2010, 21:07   #386
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,045
Thanked: 3,591 Times
Default

I got a Photon+ Prepaid last month. A great relief after almost 3 years of BSNL BB. I went for prepaid since I use it for light work and I was advised that prepaid works out more economical. Charge as you go. On a postpaid either you pay for usage you do not do, or are charged heavily if you go over the top.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2010, 21:43   #387
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai/BLR/USA
Posts: 927
Thanked: 183 Times
Default

I am planning to buy a Tata Photon/Reliance, as my wife needs connectivity to check mails during our holidays break in Kerala mainly (Cochin & central Kerala).
Guys suggest me which connection works well in that part of the country ?
tj123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2010, 21:51   #388
BHPian
 
asdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 950
Thanked: 292 Times
Default

TATA Photon+ & Reliance Net Connect and too some extent BSNL EVDO are similar services at almost same speed. But it depends on the area where you will use it, if that area has a EVDO enabled high bandwidth tower from your connection provider, it will work real fast. So before taking it you need to check with service provider, where I found BSNL is more transparent as they will inform you if your area does have an EVDO exchange or not(most cases they don't have), but they do inform to the customer. But with Tata & Reliance its your luck as they will never disclose their tower details.
asdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2010, 23:59   #389
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,582
Thanked: 3,244 Times
Default

Folks, here is my problem and it really needs tech help. any networks guys here?



Here's the thing - I'm happy with the speeds, but occasionally, after a resume from hibernation, or just like that (say an auto reconnect), it will transfer nothing.

Here's the screen:


The darned thing just won't go further. if i setup pings, the "Send" data counter increases, but it just won't receive ANYTHING. I mean, anything.

Try what you will, logoff, kill the app, unplug n plug modem - nothing works - save rebooting the computer.

Now this is pissing. Having to do this in meetings is downright painful n embarassing.

Anyone has any ideas?

maha thanks in advance

Incidentally, the EXACT same behavior occured on a tata photon+ as well, so Im thinking its the laptop not a datacard issue!!
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2010, 10:12   #390
BHPian
 
Abeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UP-16
Posts: 200
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

I have seens such issues with Reliance and Tata Cards in my laptop. Earlier, I thought that it was a Reliance card issue so asked my company to change it to TATA.
But then the same issue with TATA also, but the frequency is less.
What makes me belive it is not a laptop issue it that it could be a software issue because both the card use the same Huawei software/hardware
Abeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reliance Broadband on Data Card !! emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 12th March 2009 13:54
Reliance data card goes kaput ! Help needed emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th January 2009 15:29
Anyone tried connecting both USB and ethernet interface to Beetel 220 modem ? joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 14th August 2008 19:40
Found a Tata Indicom USB Modem. How do I use it? Dippy Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 7th December 2007 11:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:10.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks