Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th June 2011, 18:41   #481
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 242 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Airtel 3G goes upto 3.2 mbps speeds and is quite fast, Rs.675 for 1GB and then 10p per 100kb.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2011, 17:41   #482
BHPian
 
sumannandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: 208 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Regarding data card, I have met with the person in Indiaranagar (Leoxsys or so). They sell imported T-Mobile data card, but no warranty (Warranty is provided by him only).

I bought an unlocked data card (Alcatel) from letsbuy, with one year warranty. It is working great as of now.
sumannandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2011, 23:06   #483
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

I recently bought the Reliance datacard. It works good. The speed test.net website shows a download speed of .40 to.50 Mbps only. But i am feeling that the connection is not very slow.

Earlier i was using Airtel. The speed test.net website showed a download speed of 4 mbps. But now reliance is .40-.50 MBPS only. There is a drastic differernce in the speed, but i feel only a small change as far as usage experience is concerned.

Can anyone help on this issue?
rki2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 01:37   #484
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rki2007 View Post
I recently bought the Reliance datacard. It works good. The speed test.net website shows a download speed of .40 to.50 Mbps only. But i am feeling that the connection is not very slow.

Earlier i was using Airtel. The speed test.net website showed a download speed of 4 mbps. But now reliance is .40-.50 MBPS only. There is a drastic differernce in the speed, but i feel only a small change as far as usage experience is concerned.

Can anyone help on this issue?
What mode are you running it in?
There are 3 modes - Hybrid, Broadband+ & HSD - I think.
You get full speeds only in Broadband+.
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 02:00   #485
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carboy View Post
What mode are you running it in?
There are 3 modes - Hybrid, Broadband+ & HSD - I think.
You get full speeds only in Broadband+.
I am operating on the netconnect+.
rki2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 04:05   #486
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rki2007 View Post
I am operating on the netconnect+.
Netconnect+ runs on 3 different modes as I mentioned earlier.
Check settings in your connection manager.
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 21:54   #487
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carboy View Post
Netconnect+ runs on 3 different modes as I mentioned earlier.
Check settings in your connection manager.
Under Network type menu, i see three options:

> Netconnect+
> High speed 1x
> Hybrid (Netconnect+High speed 1x)

First option is the selected one.
rki2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 22:02   #488
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,015
Thanked: 441 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Been using reliance netconnect+ for the past 3 months.

Pathetic network coverage in my area - Indirapuram Ghaziabad. Almost 90% downtime.

Shifted to MTS MBlaze, and its unexpectedly performing better than Reliance. Not faced any downtime since last 1 and a half weeks.

cheers
DCEite is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2011, 13:20   #489
BHPian
 
sumannandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: 208 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

We also get about 0.2 to 0.5 Mbps in Reliance netconnect. We generally use it in Banashankari and J.P.Nagar in Bangalore.

We have tried Tata photon plus, but the speed is about the same.

BSNL 3G is better.
sumannandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2011, 16:49   #490
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

I very recently purchased the Reliance Netconnect+ datacard. The connectivity is good,but the speed is only around 0.4 to 0.5 mbps. Normal browsing is ok but you tube content or online movie watching is irritating. Is there any solution for this. The customer care people say that 0.2 to 0.5 is the average speed and more than cannot be expected.
rki2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2011, 16:51   #491
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
Been using reliance netconnect+ for the past 3 months.

Pathetic network coverage in my area - Indirapuram Ghaziabad. Almost 90% downtime.

Shifted to MTS MBlaze, and its unexpectedly performing better than Reliance. Not faced any downtime since last 1 and a half weeks.

cheers
Then in that case what will you do the data card. Will you have to purchase one for MBlaze?
rki2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2011, 17:09   #492
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rki2007 View Post
Under Network type menu, i see three options:

> Netconnect+
> High speed 1x
> Hybrid (Netconnect+High speed 1x)

First option is the selected one.
Then setting isn't a problem. You should talk to the customer care & complain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rki2007 View Post
I very recently purchased the Reliance Netconnect+ datacard. The connectivity is good,but the speed is only around 0.4 to 0.5 mbps. Normal browsing is ok but you tube content or online movie watching is irritating. Is there any solution for this. The customer care people say that 0.2 to 0.5 is the average speed and more than cannot be expected.
Do you have an unlimited plan. Unlimited plan speeds are capped.

I have a limited plan. I get download speed anywhere between 1.3 to 2.7 Mbps depending on the day/time. Even the upload speed is 0.5 to 07. Mbps
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2011, 22:14   #493
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,015
Thanked: 441 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rki2007 View Post
Then in that case what will you do the data card. Will you have to purchase one for MBlaze?
I had purchased Reliance Netconnect+ for 1599 and opted for postpaid unlimited plan.

Since MTS was giving free device, i did not spend extra on purchasing MTS data card, and have asked Reliance to terminate Netconnect+ postpaid connection.

Also to be on safe side with MTS, i have opted for Prepaid this time, so that if i am not happy with the service i will simply stop recharging it.
DCEite is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2011, 07:47   #494
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carboy View Post
Then setting isn't a problem. You should talk to the customer care & complain.



Do you have an unlimited plan. Unlimited plan speeds are capped.

I have a limited plan. I get download speed anywhere between 1.3 to 2.7 Mbps depending on the day/time. Even the upload speed is 0.5 to 07. Mbps
Yes i have selected unlimited plan in which upto 5 GB the speed is said to be upto 3.1MBPS and thereafter it is at 1x speed unlimited.

Yes i spoke to the Customer care also and what they say is, the average speed is 0.2 to 0.5 MBPS and i am getting it properly and nothing can be done in this regard.

Last edited by rki2007 : 10th July 2011 at 08:11.
rki2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2011, 07:50   #495
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
I had purchased Reliance Netconnect+ for 1599 and opted for postpaid unlimited plan.

Since MTS was giving free device, i did not spend extra on purchasing MTS data card, and have asked Reliance to terminate Netconnect+ postpaid connection.

Also to be on safe side with MTS, i have opted for Prepaid this time, so that if i am not happy with the service i will simply stop recharging it.
So this Reliance data card cannot be used for any other connection in future except reliance isnt it?
rki2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reliance Broadband on Data Card !! emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 12th March 2009 13:54
Reliance data card goes kaput ! Help needed emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th January 2009 15:29
Anyone tried connecting both USB and ethernet interface to Beetel 220 modem ? joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 14th August 2008 19:40
Found a Tata Indicom USB Modem. How do I use it? Dippy Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 7th December 2007 11:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:06.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks