Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th July 2011, 16:28   #511
BHPian
 
Cayman360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 76
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by markiv View Post
You can check out airtel 3G data card.
Hi, how much does the airtel 3G usb dongle cost?
Cayman360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2011, 21:22   #512
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

@DERALTE:- Service tax is 10.3% isn't it. How come 9.3% is being charged by BSNL.
rki2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 00:42   #513
BHPian
 
markiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 183
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayman360 View Post
Hi, how much does the airtel 3G usb dongle cost?
You will get it for Rs. 1600 at most Croma stores! and 1st month's plan is free along with extra 3 GB !
markiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 20:06   #514
BHPian
 
Cayman360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 76
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by markiv View Post
You will get it for Rs. 1600 at most Croma stores! and 1st month's plan is free along with extra 3 GB !
Thanks! I bought it last week, and its fairly good for surfing. What I need help on is to understand how to find out the remaining balance(in Mb) of my current recharge. There isnt a dial facility in the Airtel 3G program that you run to connect, to dial the number to get the balance. Do you know of the way to do this?
Cayman360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2011, 12:12   #515
PPS
Senior - BHPian
 
PPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,912
Thanked: 1,813 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Have been using Reliance Netconnect usb dongle since more than a year now, but since past many months speeds have gone down! It was never too fast to begin with,nowhere near the claimed 3.1mbps.
I'm currently paying Rs 1,200 per month for 10gb data usage. Speeds are pathetic in South Mumbai & they are marginally better in the Suburbs depending on the time of the day.
Has anybody tried the 3G dongle's in Mumbai ? Are they any faster? I'm wondering if i should switch to Tata !
PPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2011, 15:05   #516
BHPian
 
sumannandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: 208 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

I have an unlocked data card, which I am using with BSNL 3G SIM, 10GB Rs. 1102 prepaid plan with a regular 3G SIM. While the speed is very good, around 2 Mbps at my house and many other places, Tata docomo is better at my office.

So I am planning to switch to Tata Docomo (mine is a prepaid connection). However, according to Tata Docomo, I need to buy a USB modem in order to use their Rs. 1250 unlimited 10GB plan. The same is not applicable on regular 3G SIM.

Seems to be the same story with Airtel?

Can anybody please confirm?

Also, what are the plans for Airtel? The website does not show unlimited 5GB/10GB plans. I went to Croma today but the concerned person was not available.

Thanks.
sumannandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2011, 00:03   #517
BHPian
 
markiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 183
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PPS View Post
Have been using Reliance Netconnect usb dongle since more than a year now, but since past many months speeds have gone down! It was never too fast to begin with,nowhere near the claimed 3.1mbps.
I'm currently paying Rs 1,200 per month for 10gb data usage. Speeds are pathetic in South Mumbai & they are marginally better in the Suburbs depending on the time of the day.
Has anybody tried the 3G dongle's in Mumbai ? Are they any faster? I'm wondering if i should switch to Tata !
I am using 3G dongle of airtel. Its superfast compared to photon n reliance netconnect+. Have tried all 3.
markiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2011, 14:32   #518
BHPian
 
markiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 183
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by markiv View Post
You will get it for Rs. 1600 at most Croma stores! and 1st month's plan is free along with extra 3 GB !
this price is for Mumbai btw. Don't know about other cities
markiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2011, 19:33   #519
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Hi friends i am tried of using Reliance netconnect. It is the worst as far as my experience is concerned. Now i am planning to go back to airtel itself with the unlimited plans.

Can anyone suggest whether the reliance data card stick which i have purchased can be used for any other network. I do not understand these 3G sim cards been used in the data card sticks . Please explain me.
rki2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2011, 20:48   #520
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: US/India
Posts: 232
Thanked: 10 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rki2007 View Post
Hi friends i am tried of using Reliance netconnect. It is the worst as far as my experience is concerned. Now i am planning to go back to airtel itself with the unlimited plans.

Can anyone suggest whether the reliance data card stick which i have purchased can be used for any other network. I do not understand these 3G sim cards been used in the data card sticks . Please explain me.
Can't agree with you more. I have been using Reliance Net Connect for the past almost 1.5 years. Off late, the performance has become very bad. I got a wired line now and am thing what of do with this USB modem.
naveenvenkatesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2011, 10:40   #521
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 106
Thanked: 17 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rki2007 View Post
Can anyone suggest whether the reliance data card stick which i have purchased can be used for any other network. I do not understand these 3G sim cards been used in the data card sticks . Please explain me.
The reliance data card is based on the CDMA technology and hence does not require a SIM Card. The device is programmed to latch on only to the Reliance CDMA network. Similarly with the devices sold by TATA Indicom Photon and MTS Blaze. In case of the 3G SIM Cards, they are based on the GSM technology and if you buy an unlocked 3G modem from say Huawei or Micromax, you can use any 3G GSM card on it. I am currently using a Huawei based 3G modem with a BSNL 3G sim card. I bought this modem from a My Idea showroom. It has the Idea 3G logo on it, but it is actually unlocked. So I can use it with any 3G operator I want to.
deepakchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2011, 10:49   #522
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Has anyone faced problems using a Reliance Netconnect dongle (ZTE) with MacOS? It is crashing my Macbook Pro sometimes.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2011, 13:57   #523
Senior - BHPian
 
khoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dilli
Posts: 2,722
Thanked: 1,250 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Has anyone faced problems using a Reliance Netconnect dongle (ZTE) with MacOS? It is crashing my Macbook Pro sometimes.
I have a similar issue with my Photon + dongle. Per the apple expert at Croma all dongle's made by Epi Valley have this issue irrespective of the service provider. I get the 'ring of death' at times usually while disconnecting and shut down. The whole thing hangs and then I either have to wait for an eternity or force shut down. I have not faced a complete crash though but have been left hanging maybe twice in 4 months of ownership on attempts to connect to the photon+ network. Had to wait for maybe 5~10 minutes for the machine to stabalise and regain its senses.

My Dell latitude using the same dongle has no issues of any sort. Also when I boot the same Macbook Pro on Windows 7 again there are no issues at all, the dongle remaining the same. It is definitely a problem with the OS X 10.6.8 on which my machine is currently running.
khoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2011, 15:40   #524
Senior - BHPian
 
Swanand Inamdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,649
Thanked: 571 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Any idea which Service Provider is good in Mumbai/Maharashtra cricle?
I need one with 3g services. The connection would need to have good speeds, that would enable a Skype/ Video Call.
Swanand Inamdar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2011, 16:22   #525
Senior - BHPian
 
khoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dilli
Posts: 2,722
Thanked: 1,250 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

@Swanand Inamdar
Photon + has enough speed to allow one to hold skype sessions. Have done this mostly in New Bombay and Thane.

Quote:
Originally Posted by markiv
I am using 3G dongle of airtel. Its superfast compared to photon n reliance netconnect+. Have tried all 3.
markiv, I trust you do mean photon and not photon+.
I am in the process of getting a new connection and going with photon+ again but now will hold for your clarification.

Last edited by khoj : 2nd August 2011 at 16:23.
khoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reliance Broadband on Data Card !! emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 12th March 2009 13:54
Reliance data card goes kaput ! Help needed emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th January 2009 15:29
Anyone tried connecting both USB and ethernet interface to Beetel 220 modem ? joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 14th August 2008 19:40
Found a Tata Indicom USB Modem. How do I use it? Dippy Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 7th December 2007 11:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:24.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks