Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd August 2011, 18:55   #526
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by khoj View Post
@Swanand Inamdar
Photon + has enough speed to allow one to hold skype sessions. Have done this mostly in New Bombay and Thane.



markiv, I trust you do mean photon and not photon+.
I am in the process of getting a new connection and going with photon+ again but now will hold for your clarification.
My friend who is using the photon+ here in Bangalore says that the average speed is around 0.5 MBPS.I am not aware of the speed at Delhi. I believe that this average speed should be prevalent at most of the places off course sometimes it may exceed. Based on this you can decide. I made a mistake by choosing the Reliance netconnect+ data card which cannot be used for any other network.

As Deepakchan explained about the 3g based data cards which seems to be the best at this point of time. You can change networks whenever required.

Last edited by rki2007 : 2nd August 2011 at 18:57.
rki2007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2011, 21:53   #527
BHPian
 
sumannandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: 208 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

It is not possible to use Docomo 3G plans with an unlocked data card. Looks like it works only with Tata Docomo USB modem.

BSNL works fine.
sumannandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2011, 23:06   #528
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumannandy View Post
It is not possible to use Docomo 3G plans with an unlocked data card. Looks like it works only with Tata Docomo USB modem.

BSNL works fine.
Hi Suman can you tell me what is the cost of the unlocked data card that can be used for BSNL 3G and what is the speed that you are getting with the BSNL 3G.
rki2007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2011, 07:03   #529
BHPian
 
sumannandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: 208 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

I bought Alcatel unlocked data card from Letbuy for about 1600. The max. speed is 3.6 Mbps. You could possible get more expensive unlocked models as well.

The data card does not support calling. Profile are mostly automatically created (except Idea).

Speed depends on the location and time of day. The max. speed I got was around 2 Mbps. It could be as low as 300 kbps. The average is more than 1 Mbps.
sumannandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 16:08   #530
BHPian
 
Xryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Banana Republic
Posts: 207
Thanked: 75 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Can anyone help me decide on which 3G USB data modem I should go for ? Vodafone, Airtel... ??
Xryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2011, 22:38   #531
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: mumbai
Posts: 448
Thanked: 32 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

How do we use an unlocked data card? I have an alcatel data card & want to use BSNL3G with this. Do we have to configurethe data card?

Thanks

Kiran
kiren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2011, 20:44   #532
BHPian
 
sumannandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: 208 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

I also have an alcatel data card.

All you need to do is put the sim, in my model it automatically configures the access point for most of the networks.

In case it does not, get the access point name. Online search would be helpful, you could also ask for manual settings from the helpdesk. The settings for mobile phones should work fine.

In my case, BSNL 3g works out of the box. It automatically creates a bunch of profiles based on where you are located. BSNL South 3g works fine for Bangalore.

If you need any help, feel free to PM me.

Thanks.
sumannandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2011, 12:45   #533
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,015
Thanked: 441 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Have ordered the SIM unlocked data card from Letsbuy:
Alcatel X090

Am planning to use it with BSNL 3G, since i suppose it has the cheapest 3G prepaid plans going at the moment (Please correct me if i am wrong).
DCEite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2011, 19:26   #534
BHPian
 
doxinboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 44
Thanked: 58 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Good day people!

I am in the Market for a data card. The fact is it will be primarily used outside Bangalore where there is no 3G cover. So which one?

Regards

Doxinboy
doxinboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2011, 21:16   #535
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Any reviews / views on Vodafone mifi guys ?
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2011, 19:11   #536
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 34
Thanked: 11 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Sometime back we had bought unlocked 3G USB Modem + router from a place called 3Gstore.in from RT Nagar Bangalore. Unfortunately the router to which this 3G USB stick plugs into did not provide good features fit enough for a small office like the restore configuration and backup did not work on a second device as well.

We later swapped it with a BIG Pond 3G router, to which I can simply plug the 3G SIM and we have hit the highway. This Big Pond router comes with 2 external antennas for 3G reception and single antennae for wifi. Pretty good features including dynamic DNS support, Guest LAN, Backup/restore router configuration etc. Default settings can be overwritten so this might not pose a security issue as well. I would have posted the pics, but looks like its disabled (?)
pranxter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2011, 17:32   #537
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Has anyone been able to make the BSNL 3G datacard (Teracom LW722 or 723) work with Mac OS Snow Leopard or Lion? Peculiarly, the driver UI provided crashes on these OS versions, and it does not connect via direct network connection either.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011, 12:21   #538
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,074
Thanked: 2,015 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Guys, Planning to buy a USB modem. I am a noob in this. I have heard of USB modems from Reliance Net Connect, Vodaone 3G, Airtel, Idea & Tata Photon.

My usage would be very very minimal, its a substitute to the broadband connection in my office (maybe I would go for a zero rental postpaid plan if available). Requirements are good & strong connectivity, fast browsing & of course, the price. It should be value for money. free roaming would be icing on the cake!

Which one would be apt for me?

Last edited by raj_5004 : 15th November 2011 at 12:44.
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2011, 13:04   #539
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default Buying help - 3G USB Modem Unlocked

So I'm looking to replace my (stupid) Tata Photon+ data card with a more reliable and faster 3G data card.

Since I do a lot of road trips, which takes me to many non-metro and Tier 3/4/5 locations, I feel a service provider like MTNL would suit me best, since they have have BSNL's infrastructure to latch on to. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Anyway, I think it would be cheaper to buy an unlocked device and plonk in any SIM that I want. So I have discovered these USB modems and I need advice on which is best and also where to buy (Ebay?)

1. Huawei E1750
2. Huawei E1762
3. Huawei UMG1831

Please suggest keeping in mind that I want a modem comptible with Win 7 Starter AS WELL AS Ubuntu.
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2011, 15:05   #540
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,045
Thanked: 3,591 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

@raj_5004; All can be equally good or bad. A lot depends on the signal level and load in your area. I have a Photon+ for two years. No real problems, and I normally get 500+kbps peaking at 1.9kbps. However, in Bangalore recently while the signal level was full, I barely got 25kbps. Must be congestion.

In our area (fringe on all) Reliance was supposed to be bad, but last night on my phone (EVDO) I saw 1.8+Mbps. I will not commit until I see similar performance a few more times.

My suggestion is to borrow a few units, and actually test them out in your location.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reliance Broadband on Data Card !! emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 12th March 2009 13:54
Reliance data card goes kaput ! Help needed emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th January 2009 15:29
Anyone tried connecting both USB and ethernet interface to Beetel 220 modem ? joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 14th August 2008 19:40
Found a Tata Indicom USB Modem. How do I use it? Dippy Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 7th December 2007 11:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:03.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks