Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th May 2012, 11:50   #601
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajman28 View Post
... Prithvisolutions UE 100 ...
Easlink UE 100! Prithvi is just a bulk importer for BSNL - usual modus operandi.

Maybe this helps? [ubuntu] BSNL EVDO UE 100 Linux installation - Ubuntu Forums
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2012, 23:09   #602
Senior - BHPian
 
amtak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai - The city of Sea Link!!!
Posts: 2,772
Thanked: 331 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

I am getting miserable speed on my IDEA 3G net setter card. Any suggestions to improve this? When I call the customer care, they ask me to dial 12345XXXX from an Idea phone! How weird! No solutions from their side.
amtak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2012, 04:26   #603
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amtak
I am getting miserable speed on my IDEA 3G net setter card. Any suggestions to improve this? When I call the customer care, they ask me to dial 12345XXXX from an Idea phone! How weird! No solutions from their side.
Are you sure u are using wcdma mode in your dailer?
If not ho to settings and under network mode select wcdma
Normally a USB modem should give blue flashing lights when in 3G mode.

If connection shows edge then you are on 2G network.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2012, 20:23   #604
BHPian
 
ajman28's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chennai
Posts: 281
Thanked: 22 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Easlink UE 100! Prithvi is just a bulk importer for BSNL - usual modus operandi.

Maybe this helps? [ubuntu] BSNL EVDO UE 100 Linux installation - Ubuntu Forums
Thanks, unfortunately still not working.
I am not able to unpack wvdial itself. I couldn't find the drivers on the net either (Easlink does not give many results).
Any other way to detect the usb modem? I am on Ubuntu 11.10
ajman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2012, 10:37   #605
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Assuming that most of such low-cost 3G dongles are made from the same chipset as a more famous one (ab initio creation of a 3G modem is not a trivial job), you can perhaps try out the hackers' method: patiently try with drivers for other such dongles. One of them will definitely work. As a start, try drivers of older Huawei models.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2012, 23:53   #606
Senior - BHPian
 
amtak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai - The city of Sea Link!!!
Posts: 2,772
Thanked: 331 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
Are you sure u are using wcdma mode in your dailer?
If not ho to settings and under network mode select wcdma
Normally a USB modem should give blue flashing lights when in 3G mode.

If connection shows edge then you are on 2G network.
I am on WCDMA Mode. My blue light is stable and it shows that I am on 2G network. I had an MTS dongle and I used to get fantastic speeds on that; somehow I am not happy with Idea. I guess it was a bad Idea to purchase this one.

Worst of all, they want me to connect to their call center using IDEA number!
amtak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 02:02   #607
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amtak View Post
I am on WCDMA Mode. My blue light is stable and it shows that I am on 2G network. I had an MTS dongle and I used to get fantastic speeds on that; somehow I am not happy with Idea. I guess it was a bad Idea to purchase this one.

Worst of all, they want me to connect to their call center using IDEA number!
Bluelight means you are getting 3G, what makes you say you are on 2G network ?
if it was a 2G network, your modem would flash green Light and it would show GPRS/EDGE as network name, and it won't connect on wcdma mode.

for mumbai you can call IDEA on
Contact No - 91 9702012345
Fax - 91 95940 04999
you need to select 3G on IVRS and then explain the problem to the executive.

Idea has good 3G speeds, don't know what exactly your problem may be.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 10:56   #608
Senior - BHPian
 
amtak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai - The city of Sea Link!!!
Posts: 2,772
Thanked: 331 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
Bluelight means you are getting 3G, what makes you say you are on 2G network ?
if it was a 2G network, your modem would flash green Light and it would show GPRS/EDGE as network name, and it won't connect on wcdma mode.

for mumbai you can call IDEA on
Contact No - 91 9702012345
Fax - 91 95940 04999
you need to select 3G on IVRS and then explain the problem to the executive.

Idea has good 3G speeds, don't know what exactly your problem may be.

I have already logged a complaint with the Idea guys. A normal site like yahoo shows "loading". I am saying I am on 2G as the network preferences, it is showing IDEA 2G. The network strenght is good (it shows HSPA Idea) but net speed is between 2-120 KBPS at the max.

It is reminding me of old internet days!
amtak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 11:28   #609
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 242 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amtak View Post
I have already logged a complaint with the Idea guys. A normal site like yahoo shows "loading". I am saying I am on 2G as the network preferences, it is showing IDEA 2G. The network strenght is good (it shows HSPA Idea) but net speed is between 2-120 KBPS at the max.

It is reminding me of old internet days!
Slow speeds are also possible if you have exceeded your download limits and are now on the free to use plan at lower speeds, a lot of providers use this method.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 12:51   #610
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amtak View Post
I have already logged a complaint with the Idea guys. A normal site like yahoo shows "loading". I am saying I am on 2G as the network preferences, it is showing IDEA 2G. The network strenght is good (it shows HSPA Idea) but net speed is between 2-120 KBPS at the max.

It is reminding me of old internet days!
Very strange experience !!!

If you are on 3G plans, it should no where show 2G.
try changing the network mode to "wcdma only"

Speeds you have mentioned is of 2G network for sure, it doesn't show any signs of 3G.

Did you recharged with a 3G plan ?
Is it a prepaid or postpaid connection ?
If this is a prepaid conn. Have you sent sms to activate 3G.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 13:17   #611
Senior - BHPian
 
lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tura
Posts: 1,293
Thanked: 582 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amtak View Post
I am getting miserable speed on my IDEA 3G net setter card. Any suggestions to improve this? When I call the customer care, they ask me to dial 12345XXXX from an Idea phone! How weird! No solutions from their side.
If you have not recharged with a 3G amount then the connection automatically downgrades to 2G. I had once recharged with 999 unlimited 3 months and they downgraded me to 2G.
lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 14:40   #612
Senior - BHPian
 
amtak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai - The city of Sea Link!!!
Posts: 2,772
Thanked: 331 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadu View Post
Slow speeds are also possible if you have exceeded your download limits and are now on the free to use plan at lower speeds, a lot of providers use this method.
I agree. However, I have just refilled it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
Very strange experience !!!


Did you recharged with a 3G plan ?
Is it a prepaid or postpaid connection ?
If this is a prepaid conn. Have you sent sms to activate 3G.
It is a pre-paid plan. No one has informed me about sending an sms to activate 3G? I guess the mobile store guy who did must have done something?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker View Post
If you have not recharged with a 3G amount then the connection automatically downgrades to 2G. I had once recharged with 999 unlimited 3 months and they downgraded me to 2G.
What is the minimum recharge for 3G? I am thinking of moving back to MTS if the 3G issue is not resolved.
amtak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 14:47   #613
Senior - BHPian
 
lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tura
Posts: 1,293
Thanked: 582 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

It's 104 for 300 MB as per latest tariff plan. But if you still do not manage to remove the downgrade to 2G just call the idea guys and they will upgrade your id within 12 hours. They seem to be pretty responsive.
lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 14:58   #614
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

If you have not activated 3G you need to send sms as "ACT3G" to 12345
if you wish you can contact customer care and seek help.

you can take the sim out and put it in mobile and call if needed, that would be one time requirement.

I've better experience with Idea 3G and that's what pushing me to resolves your too :-)

Edit: I and happy with Voda and Idea 3G along with Reliance netconnect +, for airtel, Yeah that's lots of internet...
I don't know why its 3G puts me on roaming when on hometown/home-network, once I get signals from other provider
they put me away from making and receiving many calls, the number does not exists makes me look shady to callers

Last edited by ghpk : 30th May 2012 at 15:02.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 15:25   #615
Senior - BHPian
 
amtak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai - The city of Sea Link!!!
Posts: 2,772
Thanked: 331 Times
Default Re: The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker View Post
It's 104 for 300 MB as per latest tariff plan. But if you still do not manage to remove the downgrade to 2G just call the idea guys and they will upgrade your id within 12 hours. They seem to be pretty responsive.
300 MB is quite less? what if my usage is more? I usually consume about 2GB a month. I guess my last recharge was for 350 Rs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
If you have not activated 3G you need to send sms as "ACT3G" to 12345
if you wish you can contact customer care and seek help.
I find them weird. Atleast in Mumbai circle. They always tell me to call on 12345 from any phone! I have a Voda connection and if I dial 12345, i'll be connected to Voda Live and not Idea!
amtak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reliance Broadband on Data Card !! emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 12th March 2009 13:54
Reliance data card goes kaput ! Help needed emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th January 2009 15:29
Anyone tried connecting both USB and ethernet interface to Beetel 220 modem ? joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 14th August 2008 19:40
Found a Tata Indicom USB Modem. How do I use it? Dippy Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 7th December 2007 11:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:51.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks