Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th August 2007, 00:39   #76
Senior - BHPian
 
rahul_intlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,577
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Is there a way to connect these 'data cards' to a router?
There are 3g mobile routers[supports 1xEV-DO PC Card/ UMTS TD-CDMA PC Card],not sure if they support the airtel/reliance data cards however.

Last edited by rahul_intlad : 19th August 2007 at 00:43.
rahul_intlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2008, 20:56   #77
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default Tata Indicom Plug2Surf USB modem

I lost my Plug2Surf USB Modem - luckily, I had removed the SIM Card from
the Modem soI still have the Modem SIM Card with me?
Do TataIndicom sell the modem separately? How much does it cost?

Also, I earlier had the PC-MCI card - I found that much more
convinient - is it possible to buy a PC-MCI card from them & use this
SIM card in it? How much will it cost, if available separately?
carboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2008, 21:13   #78
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,254
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

You should be able to buy plug2Surf Modem seperately, it should cost 2850/- although MRP shows 3700/- I suggest plug2Surf instead of PC-MCI card.

Regards,

Ravi.
ravibhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2008, 18:00   #79
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ravibhat View Post
You should be able to buy plug2Surf Modem seperately, it should cost 2850/- although MRP shows 3700/- I suggest plug2Surf instead of PC-MCI card.
I have used both a USB Modem & the PC-MCI card. The PC-MCI card
is far better. Once you insert the PC-MCI card into the slot, it can remain
there forever - there is never a need to remove it. Whereas the USB modem
juts out of your laptop - so you have remove it & store it somewhere
each & every time you need to carry your laptop around. When you
rest the laptop on your lap, the poorly built USB modem gets bent &
starts developing loose contact issues. The USB modem has a cap - like
a cap for the ball point pen. But the difference is that a ball point pen
cap design isn't a brain dead design. When you want to use the pen, you
can remove the cap & fix it at the back of the pen. The USB modem cap
doesn't fit in the back of the modem - so it's liable to get misplaced.
All these shortcomings are OK if you are planning to connect it to a
desktop, but for a laptop it's a major pain.

Anybody wants to sell an old, unused PC-MCI card without SIM card to
me in Pune, do let me know.
carboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2008, 18:06   #80
BHPian
 
thebagchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 92
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

The device is available for 2850/-
but speed is very sluggish

other option is from Reliance.
Faster than Tata Indicom
thebagchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2008, 19:27   #81
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 281 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebagchi View Post
The device is available for 2850/-
but speed is very sluggish

other option is from Reliance.
Faster than Tata Indicom
Are you saying that using a PC-MCI card from Tata Indicom would
be slower than using a USBModem from Tata Indicom?
carboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2008, 21:15   #82
Senior - BHPian
 
kuttapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,155
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

There should not be much of a difference in speed between USB and PCMCIA from Tata Indicom. I chose the PCMCIA for the reasons carboy mentioned + it has an external antenna(better reception where the signal is weak).

At least in Bangalore, Reliance data card sucks...Sucks as in SUCKS !! Forget pictures, even plain text is hard to come by. I could never manage to connect to my office network using reliance, whereas it was possible even in my archaic BSNL dialup.

So thumbs down for reliance. Actually, I have been to DAKC, Vashi, which is the HQ for Reliance Communications and guess what? The internet speed over LAN there is slower than my Indicom PCMCIA card gives....Beat that !!
Ultimately, we had to use the PCMCIA Card instead of the LAN !!
kuttapan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2008, 13:22   #83
BHPian
 
thebagchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 92
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carboy View Post
Are you saying that using a PC-MCI card from Tata Indicom would
be slower than using a USBModem from Tata Indicom?
Am using the USB Modem
Speed is very sluggish.
but am not a big time net surfer. only vist few wesites and update my blog so i dont bother much.
thebagchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2008, 13:24   #84
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

Quote:
Anybody wants to sell an old, unused PC-MCI card without SIM card to
me in Pune, do let me know.
I have one with me, PM me for details

EDIT: Oops I have a spare Plug To Surf modem not PC-MCI

Last edited by Technocrat : 27th February 2008 at 13:25.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2008, 13:47   #85
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Slightly off topic, Has anyone tried getting BSNL EVDO connection in Pune? BSNL EVDO - Unofficial Website
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2008, 14:21   #86
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

I use TataIndicom PCMCI card. Speed is pretty slow. Though connected speed says 230.4kbps. Signal is erratic, there's only one room in my apartment where I get 5 bars - and this is not really the city outskirts. Most rooms have no signal.

I get more consistent network connecting the laptop through Vodafone Mobile Connect (on my cell). This says 115.xx kbps. Speeds are similar to TataIndicom data card.
shuvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2008, 15:24   #87
BHPian
 
Mr.Bangalore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 358
Thanked: 38 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadival View Post
Slightly off topic, Has anyone tried getting BSNL EVDO connection in Pune? BSNL EVDO - Unofficial Website

check out the official website..
Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited - BSNL Data Card - High Speed Internet - Anywhere - Home Page
Mr.Bangalore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2008, 15:46   #88
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bangalore View Post
ahem... its unofficial.. Check at the bottom - " Un-Official website of BSNL Data Card 2007 - 2010"

Interested to know if anyone has used it in Pune..
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2008, 11:57   #89
BHPian
 
BurningHeart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 427
Thanked: 54 Times
Default Am looking for a data card with good xfer rates

Need to work from home (in Trivandrum) for the next four months. Looking for a data card with good xfer rates.

Have a home broad band from Asianet Data Services already. But I would like a data card for my laptop (to keep the personal and professional lives separate!!) as it gives me flexibility to move about.

Reliance would have been my choice. But after reading mouthshut reviews on Reliance and Airtel, both seem to be offering dismal performance.

Has anyone here used/bought a data card in the past? What do you recommend?

BH.
BurningHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2008, 12:50   #90
Senior - BHPian
 
ram_hyundai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Calicut ,trisur
Posts: 2,019
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

IMO all the cards available now offers similar speeds.I am using a reliance card which is ok but not at all fast compared to broad band.
ram
ram_hyundai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reliance Broadband on Data Card !! emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 12th March 2009 13:54
Reliance data card goes kaput ! Help needed emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th January 2009 15:29
Anyone tried connecting both USB and ethernet interface to Beetel 220 modem ? joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 14th August 2008 19:40
Found a Tata Indicom USB Modem. How do I use it? Dippy Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 7th December 2007 11:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks