Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th June 2006, 11:55   #1
BHPian
 
sk456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: @Noida/Gurgaon
Posts: 570
Thanked: 7 Times
Default The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata)

hey all,
Any one use the Reliance data card for wireless connectivity ? I would love to get soem feedbacks?
sk456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2006, 11:59   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

You mean the PCMCIA card ?

Last time i checked it was around 11,000Rs !!!! Is it still that expensive?

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2006, 12:02   #3
BHPian
 
sk456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: @Noida/Gurgaon
Posts: 570
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

its for 6500 only now...!!! it originally started out for 22K i think...
sk456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2006, 12:09   #4
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sk456
its for 6500 only now...!!! it originally started out for 22K i think...
yah its just 6500. You can get similar PCMCIA cards on ebay and use you airtel sim and browse.

Speeds should be better than regular dial up with reliance. Also, my experience with airtel shows that airtel is much much faster in big towns/cities than when you browse from small towns.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2006, 13:35   #5
BHPian
 
Mad Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 260
Thanked: 308 Times
Smile

been using the reliance card for one and a half years and i must say aprat from the intial problems with regards to the paperwork the service is very good .no problems with connectivity till now .
get good download speeds of about 18

free roaming and works in most remote villages in india
Mad Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2006, 13:43   #6
BHPian
 
sk456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: @Noida/Gurgaon
Posts: 570
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastest lakshya
yaa thatz true + airtell gives u unlimited free download in just 499 rs/M !!!
Is it for 499 pm only ?? but doesnt airtel use GPRS for connectivity.. i had read that GPRS connectiviy is much slowre than CDMA...

http://www.mobilepundit.com/category/reliance/

Moreover, isnt using ur cell SIM a bit of a bother as u cant recieve calls on that SIM while u are online?? and wont GPRS charges be deducted whiel u are online?? Reliance CDMA option seems much more hassle free althogh a wee bit exp as to teh runnign costs per mth.
sk456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2006, 13:47   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

I have been using the TATA card which is basically the same as Reliance/Airtel and got it for only 2k in a corporate scheme.

The connectivity is good especially if you travel a lot and the internet access outside home circle does not attract any roaming charges. Downloads speed are about 18 kbps. Also one feature not highlighted is that it is also a normal phone/sms machine and can be used as such with your laptop with the supplied ear phone/mic.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2006, 04:49   #8
BHPian
 
Fuelled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: delhi
Posts: 252
Thanked: Once
Default

I have the reliance card and I use it every day to log on to TBHP so cant really complain.

Still i find the download speeds rather unpredictable... from 22k to 11k.
I also has a tendency to disconnect for no apparent reasons.

Other than It serves my purpose well. No regrets
Fuelled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2006, 12:25   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastest lakshya
yaa thatz true + airtell gives u unlimited free download in just 499 rs/M !!!
oho, its just 1500Rs for one year here; unlimited

and 250rs/month ; unlimited option too exists.

and in case your lap dont support PCMCIA
http://www.expansys.com/product.asp?code=129413&tab=2

and EDGE is definetly faster than CDMA.

Last edited by jkdas : 11th June 2006 at 12:27.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2006, 10:29   #10
BHPian
 
sk456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: @Noida/Gurgaon
Posts: 570
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
oho, its just 1500Rs for one year here; unlimited

and 250rs/month ; unlimited option too exists.

and in case your lap dont support PCMCIA
http://www.expansys.com/product.asp?code=129413&tab=2

and EDGE is definetly faster than CDMA.
Hey JKD,
Can we get the USB card bus in india?? and if so at what price.... in fact i was wanting to buy a DELL laptop...one of the reasons that was hampering my decision to buya DELL laptop was that it does not support PCMCIA cards... this wud be a saviuor.....
sk456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2006, 13:46   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
khanak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai/Toronto
Posts: 2,735
Thanked: 127 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sk456
Hey JKD,
Can we get the USB card bus in india?? and if so at what price.... in fact i was wanting to buy a DELL laptop...one of the reasons that was hampering my decision to buya DELL laptop was that it does not support PCMCIA cards... this wud be a saviuor.....
was it that particular model? cos i have used a wireless card in a pcmia slot of a dell laptop
khanak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2006, 14:30   #12
BHPian
 
sk456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: @Noida/Gurgaon
Posts: 570
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

well i was wanting to buy the DELL Inspiron 640M or the 9400..they are bothe new laptops... DELL people hae specifically mentioned in there quotes that the express card slots cannot be used with PCMCIA cards...
sk456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2006, 14:06   #13
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,137
Thanked: 1,895 Times
Default Wireless Data Cards

Am looking to get an internet data card put into my laptop. I have never used this service before, would be great if someone can give me some views of which is the best one. I am located in Mumbai and i belive Reliance is the best one offered here from what i hear, long with Airtel and Tata
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2006, 14:31   #14
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 207 Times
Default

Threads merged. Please do a search before starting new threads!
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2006, 16:44   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava
I have been using the TATA card which is basically the same as Reliance/Airtel and got it for only 2k in a corporate scheme.

The connectivity is good especially if you travel a lot and the internet access outside home circle does not attract any roaming charges. Downloads speed are about 18 kbps. Also one feature not highlighted is that it is also a normal phone/sms machine and can be used as such with your laptop with the supplied ear phone/mic.
Same here .. TATA Indicom card works fine. I've got a corporate scheme too, with 1GB cap on downloads. Phone/SMS too. No extra data charges when roaming. Am quite happy with it.
shuvc is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reliance Broadband on Data Card !! emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 12th March 2009 13:54
Reliance data card goes kaput ! Help needed emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th January 2009 15:29
Anyone tried connecting both USB and ethernet interface to Beetel 220 modem ? joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 14th August 2008 19:40
Found a Tata Indicom USB Modem. How do I use it? Dippy Gadgets, Computers & Software 21 7th December 2007 11:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks