Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th December 2013, 22:48   #91
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 297
Thanked: 179 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoAficionado View Post
It has been more than a week since I had installed Sygic India (Maps of 4 states) on my android and am still trying to figure out how to key in the Start point. The GPS takes my current location as Bangalore and I get option of 'Navigate to' to enter the destination. I tried it for few routes within Karnataka and it worked well. But how does the user select a starting point apart from Bangalore. Does Sygic provide an option of entering a starting point ?

For Eg: User wants to know the distance from Chennai to Hyderabad with user seated in Bangalore, does Sygic give you the option of selecting the starting point as 'Chennai'?

I have fiddled with the apps and was unsuccessful in finding it.

Any help/pointers to my query would be appreciated.

Cheers!!!!
Not sure if your question was answered previously. Once you press the Navigate button, if GPS is not already active (location services off), then Sygic provides you an option : Select a point on map. You can select any point and plot a route.
bsdbsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2013, 22:51   #92
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 297
Thanked: 179 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRIV3R View Post
I have the paid version of MapMyIndia Sygic and funnily enough I do not get the HUD option while the free version gets it. Wonder why.
Just download the free version. Both the executables can live side by side. Seems like the Sygic app (not the MMI Sygic app) is directly provided by Sygic Vs a collborative app from MMI.

My Nexus has both the apps now.
bsdbsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2013, 23:10   #93
BHPian
 
Safety is Param's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cosmopolitan
Posts: 297
Thanked: 186 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsdbsd View Post

In Google Play Store you have two apps. One is MapMyIndia Sygic and the second is Sygic. What you need to do is download the Sygic app and then download the needed state maps
Appreciate your response, thanks!

I have the Sygic-MMI app in my mobile along with the maps of certain states. Now, for the HUD part, when I download the Sygic -(only) - app from Google Play Store, do I need to download the maps again?
I guess so because the maps in Sygic-MMI are provided by MMI, whereas in Sygic - (only) - the maps are from Tomtom? Is that correct?

Last edited by Safety is Param : 4th December 2013 at 23:12.
Safety is Param is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2013, 23:38   #94
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,353
Thanked: 8,169 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsdbsd View Post
You have to thoroughly review the plans suggested, plot an optimal path, save it, activate it and do ded reckoning, all along the way.
That is one of the reason, I always prefer trip/route planning on a PC than on the device. And that basically means one needs a consistent and congruent map/routing installed on PC and the device. Solutions like Garmin have an approach in that regard where we can install maps on the PC, perform planning and then transfer the "plan" to the device. And just ask the device to "follow" the plan.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2013, 08:04   #95
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 297
Thanked: 179 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safety is Param View Post
Appreciate your response, thanks!

I have the Sygic-MMI app in my mobile along with the maps of certain states. Now, for the HUD part, when I download the Sygic -(only) - app from Google Play Store, do I need to download the maps again?
I guess so because the maps in Sygic-MMI are provided by MMI, whereas in Sygic - (only) - the maps are from Tomtom? Is that correct?

Yes, you will have to download the maps again once after download the Sygic only app. For South, its not more than 300MB, and you should be done in a jiffy.The maps are always from MapMyIndia, not from TomTom for any of the app.
bsdbsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2013, 08:18   #96
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 297
Thanked: 179 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
That is one of the reason, I always prefer trip/route planning on a PC than on the device. And that basically means one needs a consistent and congruent map/routing installed on PC and the device. Solutions like Garmin have an approach in that regard where we can install maps on the PC, perform planning and then transfer the "plan" to the device. And just ask the device to "follow" the plan.
Thank you for your useful post earlier. Again, not sure why Thank you buttons are not activated.

I am interested to know more about your approach. Can you please elaborate?
bsdbsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2013, 08:57   #97
BHPian
 
Safety is Param's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cosmopolitan
Posts: 297
Thanked: 186 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsdbsd View Post
Thank you for your useful post earlier. Again, not sure why Thank you buttons are not activated.
Thanks for your earlier post in response to my query.

Thanks Button is unavailable in topics not related to Motor Vehicles, IIRC. If you pay close attention, even the number of posts won't increase, if I am not wrong.
Safety is Param is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2013, 09:08   #98
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,353
Thanked: 8,169 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsdbsd View Post
I am interested to know more about your approach. Can you please elaborate?
Its been discussed in the other GPS thread.

To summarize:

If for example you are off to a week long holiday visiting multiple places, then how do you keep track of the routing details? Most people sit in the car, key in the destination and ask the device to navigate. Some people may know on a high level where and how to go. So they may drive their known route and the device would keep re-calculating the route to the destination.

So the idea is to exactly create these routes that you would be taking during your 7-day vacation between multiple start and end points on your PC. You might do research on where all to go, where to break or re-fuel your car etc. All these details can be added as a part of your routing information too. And finally once you are done with your "plan" you can transfer the "plan" from the PC to the device.

But what enables this approach ?

- You need to have a S/W which enables you to plan on PC.
- The S/W should "see" the same map that you have on your GPS device.
- The routing algorithm on the device and on your PC should be congruent.


Garmin provides such an eco-system between its devices and trip planning S/W on PC (Mapsource for Windows and Basecamp for Mac). The only fly in the ointment is making the Garmin S/W on PC "see" the same map as the one you have on your device. Given a price you can achieve that with Garmin's own maps very easily. But when you have third party maps like MMI, you need different methods. But once done, its quite seamless.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2013, 10:13   #99
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 297
Thanked: 179 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Its been discussed in the other GPS thread.

To summarize:

If for example you are off to a week long holiday visiting multiple places...
Thank you and Agree with you. I do most of the things as you have mentioned, except that I use Sygic for most of my planning. I have been using this since 2009(!) on my iPhone and later on my iPad. Cant believe that we used to do this using printed Yahoo maps during early 2000's.

Sygic's waypoint navigation and alert system is very powerful and useful. Coupled with Google, navigation has technically matured, but we as users should have the maturity to live within its limitations.

Also, have you ever tried MotionX GPS for iOS. If not, please explore the same. Its awesome!
bsdbsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2013, 10:54   #100
BHPian
 
vu2pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kozhikode
Posts: 93
Thanked: 32 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

Hi,

If you have a map data as a IMG file, be it from Garmin or MMI, you can convert that .img file to installable files on Mapsource using GMAP tool in combination with Unlock tools.

[. But when you have third party maps like MMI, you need different methods. But once done, its quite seamless.[/quote]
vu2pmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2013, 13:17   #101
BHPian
 
TheTeacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Space-Time
Posts: 477
Thanked: 314 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Garmin provides such an eco-system between its devices and trip planning S/W on PC (Mapsource for Windows and Basecamp for Mac). The only fly in the ointment is making the Garmin S/W on PC "see" the same map as the one you have on your device. Given a price you can achieve that with Garmin's own maps very easily. But when you have third party maps like MMI, you need different methods. But once done, its quite seamless.
I have an MMI standalone GPS device. Any pointers on how I can accomplish planning on a PC / xfr to the MMI? Thank you very much.
TheTeacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2013, 18:39   #102
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Paradise (wish it was)
Posts: 310
Thanked: 90 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

The damn application stopped working on my phone. Anyone else facing this problem? I downloaded it again (44MB) still it is not working.
null is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2013, 19:17   #103
BHPian
 
vu2pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kozhikode
Posts: 93
Thanked: 32 Times
Default

Working perfect on my phone
vu2pmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2013, 02:02   #104
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 26
Thanked: 32 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by null View Post
The damn application stopped working on my phone. Anyone else facing this problem? I downloaded it again (44MB) still it is not working.
I have this on both my Nexus 5 and Xperia Z Ultra. Working beautifully on both, though it is far more comfortable to see on the Z ultra with its 6.3 inch screen.
smahesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2013, 14:12   #105
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 39
Thanked: 8 Times
Default re: Sygic India GPS Navigation

Not working on my iPhone 4 also. Gets stuck on the MySygic page. I have to remove and then install 1 of the maps again to start it.
I wrote to Sygic about this and they gave some steps to sort it out but the problem stays.
It works beautifully on 5 though.
prateekpsingh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash Navigation vs Navigation Module vs Separate Navigation SirAlec In-Car Entertainment 27 20th January 2014 22:19
Satnav Launches GPS Navigation Software navdeep Modifications & Accessories 119 16th November 2010 15:48
Airtel Announces GPS Navigation navdeep Modifications & Accessories 14 14th July 2007 12:03


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:10.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks