Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th February 2010, 12:22   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
Red Liner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,985
Thanked: 647 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Bumping up an old thread.

Just installed on my Asus P527.
Google Maps for mobile

All I did was goto m.google.com/maps
Click on install.

Maps a really good and it found my location in less than a second.
However I am connected via my LAN network and not gprs.

Will test GPS & GPRS later today.

But if you have a phone that can install it. Then do it. Its really neat.

Latitude will allow you to sign in and others to see where you are.
Am never gonna sign in.
hey! Let us know. Am really keen on this one.
Red Liner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 12:31   #17
BHPian
 
praful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 977
Thanked: 410 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Latitude will allow you to sign in and others to see where you are.
Am never gonna sign in.
Latitude is like a social networking service, it allows only those allowed by you to see your location!
praful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 12:33   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
mjothi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,252
Thanked: 216 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
hey! Let us know. Am really keen on this one.
I have been using this for the past 2 years. Google recently had the newer version which allows you to broadcast to your friends about your location

And it works perfect.
mjothi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 12:37   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
Red Liner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,985
Thanked: 647 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
I have been using this for the past 2 years. Google recently had the newer version which allows you to broadcast to your friends about your location

And it works perfect.
You use this on GPRS? Thats what I am keen to know. And does it HAVE to connect to GPRS to work? Can I download pre-mapped gMaps and use on the go?
Red Liner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 12:38   #20
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,552
Thanked: 6,310 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
You use this on GPRS? Thats what I am keen to know. And does it HAVE to connect to GPRS to work? Can I download pre-mapped gMaps and use on the go?
That is possible via http://www.mgmaps.com/
But I have not been able to install it on my mobile.
I have preloaded maps from Satnav in my phone. For more detailed information these google maps will come in handy.



Quote:
Originally Posted by praful View Post
Latitude is like a social networking service, it allows only those allowed by you to see your location!
Praful, I think you are not married yet and hence this question.

Some features I really liked.
It claims to find my location within 600 m.
In reality it found it within 100m.
But that is based on cell tower coverage. So it will change based on where I am.

I then did a search for FOOD. It listed almost all the restaurants near my office. Then I did a route check.
Hyderabad to Chennai and also My office to Charminar.
It performed well.

The layers can be changed. I also added a Wiki layer. IT gives more info from wiki for a selected spot.

So far so good.

Now to get that Rs 98 a month 2GB limit Airtel GPRS top up card.

Last edited by bblost : 18th February 2010 at 12:55.
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2010, 13:12   #21
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

I have been using it since past 1.5 years. Its a great app. Sadly it doesnt show 'My location' with N72. If you want to use less data then use map view instead of satellite view.

@BB - damn you guys get GPRS for so cheap we have Rs399/500mb or 499/1gb options with Idea.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2010, 16:09   #22
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default

Let us come back to the original point.

I have a postpaid BSNL 3G connection.

In my E72 I have got pre-loaded Ovi Map (updated by me from time to time). Since usage of Ovi is free now I do not have to spend anything if I stay offline.

I have also loaded Google Map into my phone as it is more content rich and easy to use. But Google Map tries to hook on to net whenever I am out of the cached area and attempt to connect to it. This leads to 3G charges.

My query is that is there some way by which I can download Google map's database via my PC, like Ovi Map, and load it to my mobile so that I can connect to Google Map while remaining offline.

Mod - This post was erroneously posted by me in another thread. My apologies.
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2010, 16:58   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
naveenroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,311
Thanked: 679 Times
Default

Been using Google maps for more than 2 years now and love it. Has helped me a lot within the city and when travelling on the bike and car. And to top it all, I have no problems with GPRS as I have a no-limit GPRS access and I pay only 99 bucks a month for it. And no, this plan is no longer available.
naveenroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2010, 17:16   #24
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

@skdking- Yes, this can be done, please install MGmaps, once it is installed you can download yahoo, google etc maps from net to your pc & then transfer them to your phone which can then be used while being offline
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2010, 17:27   #25
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 334
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Been using google map for the last 1.5 years.My E51 doesnot support GPS,otherwise it would have been extra cool about my location.If we switch on the latitude option it'll continously try to find our location using GPRS and this takes a lot of battery charge.
kphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2010, 23:49   #26
BHPian
 
harishnair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Quilon/ Sharjah
Posts: 512
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
@BB - damn you guys get GPRS for so cheap we have Rs399/500mb or 499/1gb options with Idea.
Google maps actually works well with the Airtel NOP service, it cost only 96rs/month(unlimited usage) here in Kerala.

Last edited by harishnair : 19th February 2010 at 23:51.
harishnair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2010, 01:05   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Latitude will allow you to sign in and others to see where you are.
Am never gonna sign in.
depends on how you use it. I can set it to show i am in office when i may be sipping a margarita somewhere
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2010, 15:01   #28
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
@skdking- Yes, this can be done, please install MGmaps, once it is installed you can download yahoo, google etc maps from net to your pc & then transfer them to your phone which can then be used while being offline
@Technocrat, I saw some site related to MGMaps yesterday where it was mentioned that Google Maps no longer allowed itself to be downloaded through third party applications (like MGMaps I guess) and that the issue was being sorted out.

Is it likely?
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2010, 17:52   #29
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default

I will elaborate further.

When I went to MGMaps site I found the following claim in the very first sentence.

I quote.

"Mobile GMaps is a FREE application that displays maps from Google Maps (scored out), Yahoo! Maps, Windows Live Local (MSN Virtual Earth), Ask.com, Open Street Map and other sources on Java J2ME-enabled mobile phones, PDAs and other devices."

Though it is not reproduced exactly here, "Google Map" in the sentence quoted above has been struck through or scored out in MGMaps Home page.

Does it mean that I will not be able to use Google Maps on my mobile even if I download and install it.
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2010, 20:37   #30
Team-BHP Support
 
.anshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Good-Gaon
Posts: 7,677
Thanked: 8,704 Times
Default

I have been using google maps for more than a year now, this application is very useful at time and connects instantly. Even for small towns its nicely detailed. The downside is it needs a constant data connect, though not a problem for me.
.anshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sygic Maps Vs MMI maps, what's the difference? rkbharat Gadgets, Computers & Software 38 1st July 2014 07:43
Google maps water canal as road SAHIR.KITTUR Route / Travel Queries 11 16th August 2009 10:15
Google India added Driving Directions feature with facility to print detailed maps samdarshi.pali Route / Travel Queries 13 25th May 2009 21:12
Using Google & Yahoo India Maps on standalone GPS Device Haste Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 30th September 2008 19:59
Google maps mobile 2.0 - poor man's GPS tachobells Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 1st December 2007 11:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:46.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks