Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th May 2004, 20:57   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
S350L-E240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: India
Posts: 1,416
Thanked: 371 Times
Default

Guys,
I need help with my machine i just got a IBM thinkpad which has something called as Speedstep. Which slows down the processor when it's not needed. But somehow even when im using photoshop or some nice game the processor still runs at 790 mhz instead of 1.6 Ghz! how can i disable this feature and ensure it runs at 1.6 always??
Damn now i know why i prefer OSX!!
S350L-E240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2004, 21:24   #2
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,537
Thanked: 80,271 Times
Default

Hey S350,

Welcome to the Centrino family, I am also using a centrino-chipped Laptop since a year now, and am happy to the point where I really wont touch any other.

Okay, Speedstep is basically an inbuilt utility that brings down the processor speeds when you dont need that much power. This helps to significantly increase the laptop battery life.

I wouldnt want to mess with the standard chip management settings but if you badly want to mod it - Download speedswitchxp from here by right-clicking and save as.

Its a well-renowned software for Centrinos and lets you choose the processor speed.

GTO
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2004, 21:33   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
S350L-E240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: India
Posts: 1,416
Thanked: 371 Times
Default

lol GTO i love you for ur always prompt replies!!
Dippy and Rehaan too

BTW also thanx for the centrino welcome lol thanx for the link will download it and tell u the results..
S350L-E240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2004, 22:04   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Hey 350L,

Try this first....
http://www.qimaging.com/newstuff/spe.../speedstep.htm

cheers
R
(another prompt reply becoz i told my professor i need to goto my room to get something and instead here i am checking TBHP ! well..i had to get somethin as well..but thats secondary!)
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2004, 22:35   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
S350L-E240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: India
Posts: 1,416
Thanked: 371 Times
Default

Rehaan,
lol i have a similar problem until the day i joined team-bhp, I hated sundays but now i miss sundays when i can be home and spend all my time posting lol..
S350L-E240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2004, 22:42   #6
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,537
Thanked: 80,271 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]
(another prompt reply becoz i told my professor i need to goto my room to get something and instead here i am checking TBHP
You dont say...I tell my gurl I have to be home early coz of 7 a.m. mornings. She checks team-BHP and saw my post once at 1:30 a.m. She was like "Hey werent you supposed to be sleeping?"

GTO
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2004, 22:49   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
S350L-E240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: India
Posts: 1,416
Thanked: 371 Times
Default

lol GTO thanx for that warning ill be careful too !

BTW guys none of the 2 things worked my processor is still @ 1.19
S350L-E240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2004, 04:38   #8
BANNED
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Manipal
Posts: 286
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

thanx for the warning man. damn should have never told my gal i joined this site !!
vishnugnair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2004, 05:26   #9
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (S350L-E240 @ May 04 2004,19:27)]something called as Speedstep. Which slows down the processor when it's not needed.

how can i disable this feature and ensure it runs at 1.6 always??
Hey S350L!

Well i just got a new laptop.....and then it hit me!
we are stupid stupid stupid!

All you need to do is go into the BIOS (when you boot up press F10 or F2 or F8...whatever is says)
and then just find the option to disable speedstep in there!

Your IBM should 90% have that option. If not, maybe updating/flashing the BIOS with a newer version may help.

let me know if it works.
cya
R

ps - also, im wondering what your source of info is for the speed at which ur processor is running ?



Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2004, 09:28   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 4
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Take a look here.
Naveen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pls help me Urgent: Help me to connect ipod classic to amplifier vasudeva Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 5th October 2009 17:14
Computer Experts. HELP!!!!!!! SRK Gadgets, Computers & Software 49 7th August 2009 16:55
Help on Computer Speaker Connection viper In-Car Entertainment 18 6th August 2009 16:25
pls pls wear helmets!!! ns_jughead Street Experiences 35 3rd August 2009 15:05
Computer experts plz help ( 160GB HDD shows as 149GB) passion4cars Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 11th January 2007 14:31


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:18.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks