Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th October 2004, 18:46   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

I found this brilliant software on th net. It's got a database of many production cars, from which you can choose any 1 or upto 6 at a time and test their 0-30,0-60, lateral G's and even race them around any track listed in the database.

And that's not all, if you can find the required variables of any car that you know of, you can add your car to the database and race them against the best in the business.

Wanna know how quickly a Vtec, Palio, Mondeo or a Skoda RS can lap a F1 circuit? This is the place to check it out.

So go ahead and download it, it's just 500KBs. It's a bit old fashioned and has that DOS based look to it, but once you get a hang of it, it's great fun.

Only a matter of time before i enter the Vtec, lets see what times, it can pull.

Car Test software

Shan2nu



Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 18:59   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

hey Dom, can you help with with these parameters? It's asking for some LOC and Type of engine? (City Vtec). What should i fill it with?

Shan2nu



Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 19:19   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Ok, i got it. LOC - location of the engine and Type - tourbo or normal.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 19:51   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Ok guys, the Honda City Vtec, has been added to the list. Here are some of the times it managed.

The car was launched by slipping the clutch at 3500 rpm. You can even choose dump or brake (A/T).

I'm going to compare these times to that got by overdrive.

0-60kmph
OD - 4.41
CTS - 3.6

0-100kmph
OD - 9.92 (8.96 Rush's car)
CTS - 8.7

1/4 mile
OD - 16.96
CTS - 16.6

1 KM
OD - 31.08
CTS - 30.5

IMO, that's pretty good for a software based on mathematical calculations.

Will test the car on all the race tracks now. LOL

BTW, just for fun i raced it against a 87' Accord and boy, the new Accord has come a long way in terms of performance.

Shan2nu



Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 20:09   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Stratos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai, IN
Posts: 2,591
Thanked: 1,208 Times
Default

I am having problems downloading that software...it aint getting downloaded properly...any idea??
Stratos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 20:35   #6
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

What is coefficient of drag???
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 20:39   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

It's a calculated figure which represents a cars ability to cut throught air, with minimal resistance. I put .26 for the Vtec.

Which car are you planning to add?

Shan2nu



Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 20:40   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

If you can't find the COD fig for yor car, find a similar looking car in the database and use that figure for yours.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 20:58   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Note : After you've added your car. make sure you give us the variables, so that we can do the same.

I'll start with my car.

City Vtec.
Disp - 1493cc
LOC - front
type - norm
horse power - 79kw (106bhp) @ 6800
torque - 132nm (97lb-ft) @ 4700
Comp ratio - 9:1
Redline - 7100
Start rpm - 3500 (choose desired rpm)
Clutch - dump or slip

transmission - 5 speed Manual
gear ratios - 1st - 3.23
2nd - 1.91
3rd - 1.25
4th - 0.94
5th - 0.77
Finale drive - 4.06
Driving wheels - front

car weight - 985 kgs
% weight on front wheels - 60%
wheel base - 249.9 cm
tyre section width - 175 mm
wheel diameter - 35.6 cm (14 in)
tyres profile - 65%
drag coefficient - 0.29

height - 139.4 cm
width - 168.9 cm
ground clearence - 17 cm (170mm)

Shan2nu



Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 21:12   #10
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

I am trying for sail 1.6. What is Start rpm? is it Idle rpm??

Also how to get the torque in lb-ft?? For sail its 126Nm@3200.



gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 21:34   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]I am trying for sail 1.6. What is Start rpm? is it Idle rpm??
No, it's the rpm you want to launch your car from, anything in the region of 3000-3700 is ok i guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]Also how to get the torque in lb-ft?? For sail its 126Nm@3200.
There is an option in the "Utility Functions" called "toggle english/metric units mode". Converting it to metric system will ask for the torque in "nm". But bhp will be in "kw", so you'll have to keep toggling them everytime you come across cm,mm, in etc. So i advice that you first fill what ever you can in the english mode, then move onto the metric mode and finish your data.

BTW, which version are you using, cartest 4.5 or the cart test 2000? I'm on CT 4.5. CT2000 requires some java files which aren't loading on my comp.

Shan2nu



Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 21:58   #12
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Its 4.5. U got to install the jre for that. Installation inst is given on the web page. But no use. Its a demo version. Was not able to enter even the displacement.

So now i am able to generate some info on this 4.5.
Time posted are
17.8 for 1/4 mile and 10.5 for 60Mph

Details are :

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *CAR SPECIFICATIONS

* * * * * * * * * * Engine Displacement: * * 1598 cc. *
* * * * * * * * * * Engine Location: * * * *FRONT * * *
* * * * * * * * * * Engine Type: * * * * * NORMAL * * *
* * * * * * * * * * Engine Max Horsepower: * * 92 bhp *
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * @: * 5600 rpm *
* * * * * * * * * * Engine Torque: * * * * * * 92 lb-ft
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * @: * * * * * 3200 rpm *
* * * * * * * * * * Compression Ratio: * * * *9.4 :1 * *
* * * * * * * * * * Maximum engine speed: * *6500 rpm *
* * * * * * * * * * Start Engine Speed: * * *3500 rpm *
* * * * * * * * * * with Clutch: * * * * * * SLIP * * *
* * * * * * * * * * Transmission Type: * * MANUAL * * *
* * * * * * * * * * Number of Gears: * * * * * *5 * * *
* * * * * * * * * * Gear Ratio 1st: * * * * *3.73 :1 * *
* * * * * * * * * * Gear Ratio 2nd: * * * * *1.96 :1 * *
* * * * * * * * * * Gear Ratio 3rd: * * * * *1.31 :1 * *
* * * * * * * * * * Gear Ratio 4th: * * * * *0.95 :1 * *
* * * * * * * * * * Gear Ratio 5th: * * * * *0.76 :1 * *
* * * * * * * * * * Gear Ratio 6th: * * * * * * * :1 * *
* * * * * * * * * * Final drive ratio: * * * 4.19 :1 * *
* * * * * * * * * * Driving wheels: * * * * FRONT * * *
* * * * * * * * * * Car test weight: * * * * 2222 lb. *
* * * * * * * * * * % weight on front wheels: *60 % * *
* * * * * * * * * * Wheelbase: * * * * * * *112.0 in. *
* * * * * * * * * * Tire section width: * * * 175 mm. *
* * * * * * * * * * Tire circumference: * * * * * ft. *
* * * * * * * * * * Wheel diameter: * * * * * *13 in. *
* * * * * * * * * * Tire profile: * * * * * * *70 % * *
* * * * * * * * * * Coefficient of drag: * * 0.32 * * *
* * * * * * * * * * Frontal area: * * * * * * * * sq.ft.
* * * * * * * * * * Overall height: * * * * *55.9 in. *
* * * * * * * * * * Overall width: * * * * * 63.3 in. *
* * * * * * * * * * Ground clearance: * * * * 5.2 in. *


* * * * * * * * * * *Starting vehicle speed: * *0 mph
* * * * * * * * * * *Starting engine speed: *3500 rpm
* * * * * * * * * * *Starting gear: * * * * * 1st * *

* * * * * * * * * * *Time to Speed: * * * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * * * * * 0- 30 mph............ * 3.7 sec.
* * * * * * * * * * * 0- 40 mph............ * 5.4 sec.
* * * * * * * * * * * 0- 50 mph............ * 7.2 sec.
* * * * * * * * * * * 0- 60 mph............ *10.5 sec.
* * * * * * * * * * * 0- 70 mph............ *13.6 sec.
* * * * * * * * * * * 0- 80 mph............ *18.9 sec.
* * * * * * * * * * * 0- 90 mph............ *25.1 sec.
* * * * * * * * * * * 0-100 mph............ *34.2 sec.

* * * * * * * * * * *Time to Distance: * * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * * * * * 0- 100 ft............ * 3.8 sec.
* * * * * * * * * * * 0- 500 ft............ * 9.7 sec.
* * * * * * * * * * * 0-1320 ft.(1/4 mile). *17.8 sec.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *@ * 78.7 mph

* * * * * * * * * * *Top Speed............. 111.7 mph
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 22:13   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Any reason why you used 60% frontal weight? I used the same on my car and the acceleration figures just got boosted. I've updated the figures.

The FWD Civic has a frontal weight of 62 %, so 60 is good i guess.



Shan2nu



Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 23:10   #14
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

No specifc reason. Just a wild guess. Tired with 70% with no change in the preformance values. Even the "Coefficient of drag" is a wild guess.
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2004, 23:22   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Got some lap times for Monte Carlo F1 circuit.

Wagon R -
2 min 39.3 secs
Ave Speed - 70.9kmph

Opel Sail -
2min 31.4 secs
Ave Speed - 74.6kmph

City 1.5 -
2min 29.2 secs
Ave Speed - 75.7kmph

City Vtec -
2min 26 secs
Ave Speed - 77.2 kmph

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which software to use for editing videos ? Deeps Gadgets, Computers & Software 52 24th July 2017 00:21
Hacking into a car's software to gain control of it k_ajay Technical Stuff 59 14th May 2017 18:38
Which Anti-virus software do you use ? adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 725 6th April 2015 09:04
Software Dev. Engineer v/s Software Test Engineer DCEite Shifting gears 50 14th April 2008 13:10


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:01.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks