Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: Is my dealer duping me
Yes 6 54.55%
No 5 45.45%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd July 2006, 01:56   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default AMD 2500, 64 BIT, Bhpians i need your help

My dealer told me that he is giving me 2.6GHz and when he installed it i checked in the windows properties its only showing 1.4GHz, he is saying that Microsoft has tied up with Intel so they have intel ratings?? Now the configuration of the proccessor is 1.4GHz where i was told 2.6Ghz and its a 64 bit. Its fast alright but am i being duped or is my dealer right? He is comming tomorrow morning so what shall i tell him?? Is it true that AMD shows different proccessor speed in Microsoft Windows? Please Bhpians, ITians throw some light as i am way amatuer comapred to you guys.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:01   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

what is ur complete processor model number it will help a lot...
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:04   #3
BANNED
 
sfilinto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mostlly bangalore
Posts: 102
Thanked: Once
Default

check out this tool.

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
sfilinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:08   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

ya it will tell u which processor u are using and mem type and lots of info. Try it and post the correct model number.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:10   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
what is ur complete processor model number it will help a lot...
AMD Sempron Processor 2500 (64 BIT), thats whats writen in the Model & Desc on the box?
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:11   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
khanak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai/Toronto
Posts: 2,735
Thanked: 127 Times
Default

i have never heard of this intel tie up thing. go to my computer. click on system information nd the information will be displayed. it sure might be fast but if u paid for 2.6 thts wht uyou should be getting. Is there any way to check if the processor is 64 bit? and whether its a dual core or not?
khanak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:17   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

was your dealer giving you a Intel or an AMD processor?

An AMD 2500 will have similar or higher performance than a Intel pentium 4
2.4 GHZ processor,nearly equal to an intel P4 2.6 GHz.

Beause intel and AMD processors have different architecture,AMD processors run at lower clock speeds than intel ones but offer similar performances.so in order to make comparison simple they name their processors as 2000+,2500+,3000+ etc which tells that they have equivalent performance to intel's 2 GHZ, 2.4 GHZ and 3 GHZ processors.

i bet you that most dealers dont know whay the amd's processors are named likewise and hence he told you that it is a 2.6Ghz processor.If he had told you about an AMD processor then 1.4GHZ is the right clock speed for AMD 2500+.An AMD processor with a clock speed of 2.6ghz with be something like AMD Athlon(or sempron) 3500+ or higher.

P:S : an AMD athlon 64 bit 2500+ will be cheaper than a intel P4 2.6GHZ 64 bit by around 500-700 bucks.

Last edited by merve_extreme : 23rd July 2006 at 02:22.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:18   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

I checked on the web people say that the AMD 2500+ ( The one i got) is 1.4GHz and the CPU-Z is showing similar thing with a core speed of 1399.8MHZ. Also since i was using a inferior one before i am bound to feel this is fast??
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:26   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khanak
i have never heard of this intel tie up thing. go to my computer. click on system information nd the information will be displayed. it sure might be fast but if u paid for 2.6 thts wht uyou should be getting. Is there any way to check if the processor is 64 bit? and whether its a dual core or not?
One can use the above utility to check which model of the processor one is using.

Busa ur model number is sempron 2500+ it is a 64 bit processor and its clock speed it is running would be at 1.4 ghz this is normal

Amd has a different way of naming there processor it is not like intel. so ur not dumped ur shop keeper is have a little excess of knowledge....lol


here look at the amd site for the info for rating the processors
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._11604,00.html



and here is a very good site for comparing processors with different applications...
http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.html

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 23rd July 2006 at 02:29.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:26   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Wink Thank you so much!

Quote:
was your dealer giving you a Intel or an AMD processor?
He has already given me a AMD processor.

I guess Merve_extreme has cleared out my misunderstanding. Thanx so much Merve, LBM, sfilinto & khanak for helping me out so late in the night now i can have a sound sleep

Any one has idea why AMDs get hotter then Intel?

Mods i guess you can close this thread now.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:29   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

there is no noticible difference between performance of a AMD Sempron 2500+ and say a Intel celeron 2.6 GHZ,but the Intel pentium 4 will be a little faster,to be comparabe to a Intel pentium 4 you need to have a AMD Athlon 64.

How much did you pay for the comp?
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:32   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

I personnaly have used intel and amd both. the amd runs much cooler as compared to intel. even on load amd does not get hot but intel does....

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 23rd July 2006 at 02:33.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:34   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
How much did you pay for the comp?
I didnot change the whole computer, The Processor costed me Rs. 3500 since i got that changed!
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:42   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

that looks reasonable for a AMD sempron 64 2500+ including the dealers material and installation margins.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2006, 02:45   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by merve_extreme
that looks reasonable for a AMD sempron 64 2500+ including the dealers material and installation margins.
Thanx so much for cleatring it all up guys. Very much appreciated
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1-bit vs 24-bit DAC in HU's??? kpzen In-Car Entertainment 29 30th March 2009 13:27
Buying Help Reqd.Current Monthly Cost Rs 2500/-.Choices Fusion (petrol/diesel),SX4etc subscrive Sedans 7 12th June 2007 22:14
AMD buys ATI !!! jkdas Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 28th July 2006 13:18
AMD which motherboard to buy? aseem Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 28th June 2006 13:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:24.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks